We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #14 of 5,137 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Hotel is nearby the Huangpu River,good view.
Located in Lujiazui area,convenient transportation.
Good service,nice staff,home away from home.
If there is a chance also choose here.
The Hotel is nearby the Huangpu River,good view.
Located in Lujiazui area,convenient transportation.
Good service,nice staff,home away from home.
If there is a chance also choose here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear deni Z,

Thank you for your post in Trip Advisor.

We would like to appreciate you sharing those positive comments with us. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, which makes us feel very proud of our property service and staff who contribute to create a great experience for you.

Please do contact us whenever you plan to visit Shanghai again in order to take care of you and welcome you personally.

Kind regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is absolutely breath taking and absolute perfection! I can not say enough positive things about this hotel. Red level lounge and the staff at the lounge are wonderful. elva and Jenny went to the extra mile to help me.
Interior decorations are amazing, food in every testaurant at the hotel is off the charts, and the service is top of the line all the way. As many guests as they have, they know you by your name with in a day or two! I totally reccomending it.
One last thing, well two last things, acqua, itallian restaurant has the best French fries ( I know it is odd but they are so good) and room service, if you want a dish, that is not on the menu, just request anyway and they will make it for you! Now, I call THAT service!

Room Tip: I have stayed in several rooms. All them are great. My personal favorite is the corner suite. It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanuja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Tanuja S,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that the Red Level service, Italian restaurant and room service experience was exceeded your expectations. Your comments will be transmitted to our whole team for them to keep working with quality and perfect you deserve. As mentioned by you, we pride ourselves in giving each and every aspect of the hotel an individual attention. Our attention to detail enables us to provide Real, Exceptional, Different Service. We will keep working with quality and excellence doing our best to make other guests feel as comfortable as you deserve.

Thank you again for sparing your time to write. We look forward to welcome you back at Gran Melia Shanghai!

Best Regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Gran Melia is modern, clean and classy. Our room was large, comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. Outstanding features for us were the luxurious bathroom with separate bath and shower, and the super-comfortable mattress.
An easy few minutes to walk to the nearest mall or to get on the subway means the location is just right Head out the back way and you're right on the river.
We really can't recommend this hotel enough - we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear meowf,

Thank you for your inspiring feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and the bathroom, sleeping experience was to your satisfaction. At Gran Melia are passionate about delivering Real, Exceptional, Difference guest experiences and strive to do our best. It is through delighted customers that a hotel gains its true recognition.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for many more renewing moments.

Best Regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The room was spacious, modern and well kept. It is within walking distance to the subway station. Only subway stop to the main shopping area....Nanjin Road. Within walking distance to the Pearl of the Orient tower and the IFC shopping mall. The swimming pool and fitness facility on the top floor has a stunning view of the city and the river.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Charlie To,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on Trip advisor.

It is always pleasant to receive comments like this one, which makes us feel very proud of our property service and staff who contribute to the wonderful experience. We will keep working with quality and excellence doing our best to make other guests feel as comfortable as you deserve.

Please contact us whenever you plan to visit Shanghai again!

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

i have stayed here already a couple of times - stunning architecture, great rooms, inparticular the ones with river views, outstanding food buffet with chinese and western food ( breakfast, dinner). In comparison to other Shanghai hotels spa still has some room for improvement. they have very limited capacities and facilities are not very large. centrally located in Pudong and close to the Bund

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank y s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear y s,

Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you found the hotel, its architecture and its restaurants up to your expectations. Your sentiments have been shared by the entire team at The Gran Melia Shanghai. The Chef is thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you again for sparing your time to write. We look forward to welcome you back at The Gran Melia Shanghai in the near future.

Best Regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

A nice new hotel but missing some details for their services and design for the guest room. The lighting is poor. The standing shower was in an odd position, door seems not shutting well. Breakfast was so so.

Room Tip: Most rooms come with a nice view at the Bund. Try to get a room with view towards the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Johnson L,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time in letting us knows your opinion about your stay in Gran Melia Shanghai. I am sorry that the room amenities and breakfast were not up your expectation. I hope that you will give us a chance to renew your confidence in us.We appreciate if you contact us for your next visit to Gran Melia Shanghai, it will be a pleasure to receive you again.

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great location (5 minutes cab ride from JinMao Tower), great views of the Bund but is it a good value?

Room:
My room was on the 22nd floor and had views of the Bund - excellent. It was a quiet room but the biggest bummer was that the wi-fi does not work. Even the Ethernet chord did not provide signals...a big let-down. The room itself was large enough for a family.

Restaurants:
Breakfast: at the coffee shop was good but I stuck to cereal and milk...not sure how the eggs and waffles tasted. Juice seemed to be out of the can....I was expecting freshly squeezed.

Dinner: I ate out most of the nights however, got a chance to sample the hotel fare one evening. The hotel has a Chinese cuisine and a Spanish cuisine restaurant, a coffee shop and a Cuban themed bar and an excellent lounge bar on the 30th floor. If you want the views of the Bund, the lounge bar is the place to be. Ask for a non-smoking section if you want...on my first night I learned it the hard way. The wi-fi works well in the lounge but the bummer is that the menu choices in "wine by the glass" are limited.

The Spanish restaurant has a few good tapas options….I had the octopus (it was cold) but the garlic shrimp was excellent. I skipped the main course and then was sold on the dessert….a milk pudding. It was an average preparation – not very high in sugar (nice)….but the rice did not seem completely done. Again “wine by the glass” options were not encouraging.

Amenities
I am most concerned by the Gym....good treadmill options, elliptical but NO bike options. A huge surprise! And the worst part - no wi-fi access. This is almost a given these days.

Overall, I am not sure if I will come back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bund facing room...the lower floors bund facing room are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueSky411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear BlueSky411,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate some of the kind words you had to say about our property. I am sorry that the wifi and some amenities were not what you had expected. I hope that you will give us a chance to renew your confidence in us. I hope the next time your travels bring you to Shanghai; you will reach out to me directly so I may assist with your accommodations.

Kindly regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#31 of 5,137 in Shanghai
2,408 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Address: 1288 Lujiazui Ring Road | Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £123 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing