We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,418)
Filter reviews
1,418 results
Traveller rating
967
309
95
35
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
309
95
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish restaurantthe pearltop floorgreat hoteltv towerthe financial districtsuper brand mallthe executive loungehuangpu rivercity viewspent nightsifc mallspecial thanksroom was largegreat roombusiness tripacross the river
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,418 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location with walking distance to Financial & commercial buildings, pearl tower, major shopping malls and key attractions. Also, close proximity to subway station.

It is a big hotel with modern and large lobby, and new lounge serving coffee, high tea and drinks accompanied with live music.

Room is very spacious and you can find everything you need. Very clean and well maintained with attention to details which can be easily noticed how turn down service is provided, personal notes from housekeeping etc.

Fitness center is quite small but it does have one of the best view overlooking Pearl tower and unblocked city view. And, it is open for 24 hours. It has small spa, sauna on 30th floor.

Absolutely in love with club lounge here. Good food and drink selection. Professional and caring staffs like Cobine, Vicky.. it was nice comforting area and enjoyed it very much.

Really convienient and nice place to stay when visiting Shanghai. Highly recommenf this hotel. Good value for money and it is truly hidden gem.


Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank NamidA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent review on your recent stay at Grand Kempinski and I am very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. That's what we wanted!
Thank you also for commenting on our excellent team members in the Executive Lounge Coborn and Vicky, and they were very happy to receive the positive acclaim.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon to our property and being of service to you again.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
rudiger.hollweg@kempinski.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great - I'm a very busy traveller (24 flights in the last 4 weeks) and I don't write reports at for example tripadvisor (although I highly appreciate your service - but Bella from the receiption was very professional / helped me in an outstanding friendly way. Thank you - Lady in red!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwjhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your personal commendation on Bella, our Lady in Red, and I am extremely pleased that she assisted you in a great way, and contributed to make your stay a very pleasant one. Bella will appreciate your note and I will of course praise her excellent service attitude in front o f the team.
I look forward to welcoming you again during your future visits to Shanghai and let us know please when we can be of assistance.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
rudiger.hollweg@kempinski.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nicely located and good service. We have arrived late but people were helpful. We wanted to see around and found ourselves right at middle of the city center.I will share more pictures of the hotel and the city.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank cogutmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your positive comment on TripAdvisor and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
rudiger.hollweg@kempinski.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

What a wonderful experience. Just visiting Shanghai for 2 days & staying here was amazing. We just loved our executive suite. Even though it was very smoggy while we were here, the hotel was faultless. Will go back again for the wonderful service and extremely professional staff.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SChangizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Guests,
So nice to receive your excellent feedback on your recent stay with us and I am very happy that you enjoyed your short stay so much. The Shanghai air has so much improved over the last years, but it was quite unfortunate that you encountered the smog here.
We all look forward to welcoming you again during your future visit to Shanghai and please let us know when you plan a trip.
All the best from sunny again Shanghai,
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
rudiger.hollweg@kempinski.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

I always love to stay at Grand Kempinski Shanghai.
The staff of the hotel is great, the rooms are fantastic, the location perfect.
Everything is according the expectations of 5-star Hotel,
Looking forward coming back in August.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Oliver160672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RudigerHollweg, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Mr. Oliver,
Thank you very much for your excellent review on your last stay/-s with us and it is especially much appreciated to receive this feedback from you, as you are a very loyal guest of ours!! We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Kempinski Shanghai in August then.
With kind regards,
Rüdiger C. Hollweg
General Manager
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
rudiger.hollweg@kempinski.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews