We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like spicy food”

ShangHai YuXinChuanCai (HuaSheng)
Ranked #265 of 16,925 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: US$0 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: People’s Square
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great if you like spicy food”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

And thankfully most of our party did! This was the second or third time I've been here. Just take the escalator to the top floor. We had a round table in a large room, not quite as private as the spaces for smaller groups. The menu is extensive .. The catfish in hot oil was superb, and the dried string beans are among th best I've ever had. Tea duck was well above average as were the hairy crabs ( on the expensive side) ... The pace is relaxed, and we were among the first to arrive and the last to leave. The bill came to 608 RMB for 7 women (we tend to order less) which I thought was fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Sichuan food”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I have eaten here twice now - originally at the recommendation of a local. It dishes up great Sichuan food at very reasonable prices by Shanghai standards - way better food than other more highly regarded (by expats and foreigners at least) Sichuan restaurants in the area.

But you come here for the food alone, and if you're a non smoker, have to make sure you get a table away from smokers. The restaurant itself, on the 3rd floor of an office building, about 10 minutes from People's Square, doesn't really have much character or atmosphere and is a labyrinth of corridors and rooms with tables in booths across from each other - the waiters and waitresses tend to stand by and watch your every move.

So come here for great food and terrific value, but not for atmosphere or fun. By 8.30pm on a Saturday night the place had almost emptied out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Sichuan Food in Shanghai”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

You can find this restaurant by taking the line 2 metro to East Nanjing Road and take the Exit 4. On your left side will be the restaurant entrance clearly visible. This is truly authentic Sichuan food with great atmosphere and very reasonable price. You will see many locals eating there and the place is packed after 6 p.m. We tried the duck, fish and chicken along with a noodle and they were all exceptional. The food is very spicy and the sichuan peppercorn will make your lips go numb for a while. But for anyone who can handle spicy food, this is a must go to restaurant. Service was fast and efficient too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ImranSaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had duck with some sort of dumplings on the side, and it's one of the best meals we've had in Shanghai. We were the only foreigners eating at this place, and the restaurant was filled with locals, wich is usually a good sign. It's also reasonably priced food - great value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Enits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“This Is Why You Go to China”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This place is located on the third floor rear of an office building. It is a little hard to find, as the house numbers on the street are unevenly spaced and the signs are small. Just inside the entrance there is a huge display of shark's fins in a glass case.

Our lunch here turned out to be our best meal in Shanghai and one of our most memorable meals ever. The food was interesting, wholly flavorful, and artfully presented without being pretentious. Dried Bean Curd ( 16 yuan) was stacked like logs and tea-stained like marble with little mild peppercorns laced throughout. Dry, a little chewy, a nice snack to start. Black Fungus (15 yuan), served cold, was fabulous. It was habit forming. It sat in a flavored broth with little shreds of green and red pepper. Delicate, slimy, tasty, and mildly chewy. Shaoxing Leg Muscles (beef tendons, 68 yuan) were soft and very intensely flavored. There was ground beef on top and bean sprouts underneath, surrounded by a wreath of baby bok choy, in a reddish broth with oil that had a little kick. A really satisfying and interesting dish. Yuxin Braised Tofu with Vegetables (38 yuan) was poured as a hot liquid from a metal coffeepot, then covered to sit at the table and set. It was then served with chives, soybeans, pickled minced vegetables, hot sauce, and sticky soy sauce to garnish to taste. It had the consistency of soft custard, real comfort food! We decided to order a curious-seeming dish, Clam Stewed in Coconut Milk (38 yuan), how weird is that? Mystery solved when it came as our dessert. The “clams” were actually a soft tapioca-like pasta in thin sweet coconut broth, and very satisfying indeed.

The surreal element of the day was the nonstop repetition of “California Dreamin’” over the sound system, a disco arrangement sung in English, during our entire stay (nearly an hour). Service was prompt, correct, cold, and high-tech. We admired the efficiency of the server ordering our dishes by number on a wireless transmitter. Especially when the first two dishes arrived at the table while she was still taking our order.

The bill for two with beer was 247 yuan or $38.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DancerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ShangHai YuXinChuanCai (HuaSheng) also viewed

 

Been to ShangHai YuXinChuanCai (HuaSheng)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing