We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bund Riverside Hotel
Ranked #164 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Old style Chinese rooms, quite comfortable but in need of a bit of an update.
WiFi did not work in room, breakfast was good but best of all was the location all for a reasonable price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    311
    174
    67
    42
See reviews for
88
205
88
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 10-15min walk from east nanjing rd station. If exit from exit 1 & 3, Need to cross 2 traffic lights and walk along small lanes before we can reach. If exit from exit 5, need to cross one big road & walk a few small lanes before we can reach. The service is average only. You better dont drink the wrong complimentary water. Only drink from the 2 bottles they put in the toilet. Dont take their laundry bag & misplace their files, if not you will have to pay for it. They will not waive off no matter how you explain.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Bund Riverside Hotel is just a short walk from the main shopping street, where all the designer labels can be found. A short walk also is the fabulous Bund skyline with tall skyscrapers and the "Bottle Opener" building. This is particularly great at night and attracts many people. You can take a taxi(very cheap) to the Bottle Opener and go up to a viewing platform for about £15. An amazing sight.
The hotel is very comfortable with all the usual freebies, including slippers and a mini bar(rather expensive) full of drinks and chocolates. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with free WiFi and we had a great view from the 17th floor, from our huge window.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied, with Chinese and what they consider to be Western fare.
Friendly helpful staff and a classy hotel. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to the Acrobat show whilst in Shanghai. It's not just acrobats and all of the different acts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Bund Riverside's rooms on the Executive Floors 16th and 17th really can't be beat. Classy old Chinese style with silk wallpaper, dark wood and Chinese art make up the spacious room with beautiful views of Shanghai. The bathroom is enormous with separate bath and walk in shower and the black and white marble is glorious. The location is in the center of everything a few minutes walk from Peoples Square. The staff is helpful and fluent in English. I had booked a room on the 16th floor for my birthday stay. The specific room that I asked for was booked, so they put me in an even nicer room on the 17th floor. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanne188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our two night stay at this hotel was very comfortable and we had a room with a view overlooking the Suzhou Creek (aka Wusong River) that joins the main Huangpu River at the Waibadu/Garden Bridge. This location was excellent for walking to The Bund and to East Nanjing Road for excellent shopping and a myriad of restaurants. It is also quite close to the Shanghai Museum and the People's Park and within walking distance if you prefer not to be stuck in traffic for a lengthy period. We would stay here again because of its location and if we could again secure a room with a view.

Room Tip: As mentioned, ask for a room overlooking the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our first trip to Shanghai and it was more than expected.
The front desk staff were extremely helpful and the day tour of the city that they recommended is well worth while.
Overall this hotel was perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our first stay at the hotel having previously stayed at the art deco Metropolitan hotel which is now being refurbished. The hotel was atypical of China with lots of marble and shiny glass. Our main gripe was the hotel bar on the ground floor which was too expensive and charged ¥30 for those sitting down but not drinking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#179 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#122 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#620 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Property: The Bund Riverside Hotel
Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#141 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing