We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury haven in a perfect part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A luxury haven in a perfect part of town”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Rating:
The whole lovely package that is the PuLi gives it an easy 5. Service was fantastic and so was the very comfortable and stylish room. Everything is executed in a smooth and friendly fashion.
We also visited the Langham (rooms are much less good) and stayed at the Park Hyatt (see separate review).
I am also not taking my bad spa experience into account for the overall rating for the hotel. I think of spas as an option when staying in a hotel that's not a resort per se.

If we were to plan our Shanghai trip again we would do it the very same way. Spend a week at the PuLi to enjoy its charms, comfort and elegant luxury while exploring Shanghai by foot and then 2 nights at the Park Hyatt just because it's so hyped and crazy. But the area around the latter is just sterile. So book into the Park Hyatt spa!

Hotel:
A rather small (in a good way) hotel with 232 rooms. Just over 2 years old, so everything is still really fresh

Room:
We stayed in a Grand Club room (2111) which for sure has the better view as it overlooks a lovely little park as opposed to construction and traffic on the other side. The room is not overly huge, but has a very good layout. There are 2 panoramic windows which can be made totally dark (very important!) at night with 2 buttons next to your bed. Speaking of buttons, there are buttons everywhere in the room to operate lights and what not. But they all make sense and are easy to navigate. Wifi is easy to log in to, and stable. Huge bathtub next to one of the windows. It is rather large and almost better to take baths in if there's 2 of you. Also, the room is very quiet! We never heard any other guests or outside noise either for that matter.
The bed is on the firm side, but very comfortable. The pillows are amongst the best i have ever experienced! The bedlinen is also very pleasant.

Check in/Check out:
Despite the fact that I arrived slightly after 09:30 AM there was not a problem getting my room. In fact, the lovely guy checking me in even said: No problem, we have prepared a room for you. Bliss!
Check out was fast and nice as well. There were how ever some discrepancies in the bill for afternoon teas and landry services that should have been of no charge. Quickly remedied.

Staff/butler:
Couldn't be nicer! Fine, there's a bit of difficulty with the language sometimes...But they all really do bend over backwards for you and are really sweet and efficent. Neat to have a 24/7 butler at ones service

Club floor perks:
If you can, do book a club floor room!!! Great perks such as: Free laundry throughout the stay with no limits. Free afternoon tea. Free shoecare. Free bar allowance that is re-newed every day, 388 RMB per person, or 488 if there's 2 of you (also for alcoholic beverages!). Free minibar with decent selection. 20% discount at the spa and many more perks.

Food:
There is just 1 restaurant, but the quality is perfectly good, if a little bit overpriced (dinner). I really liked their breakfast, the fruitloaf is to die for, but I wish that they could have some sliced cheese already prepared in bigger (not thicker!) sizes.

Pool:
A gorgeous 25 metre infinitypool which thankfully is heated. Unfortunately no jacuzzi to enjoy with my husband as the jacuzzis are located in the changing room areas, so strictly one is for men, and one is for women. The changing rooms are fine, but the steam room and shower definitely need a bit of freshening up and it's a bit stained and smell a bit funky...

In room dining:
Arrived promptly without any mistakes. Quality was very good!

Spa:
Now this was my only beef with the hotel... The spa seems to have won every award possible. But i had such an underwhelming experience...
First of all, they were 20 min's late depsite the fact that i was the 1st client of the day. The consultation beforehand was really bad as she didn't speak English very well and clearly wasn't able to make good suggestions based on my needs. The therapist didn't speak any English at all, and was average at best. It was obvious that she just did a halfhearted auto-pilot treatment... We finished with a hot stone massage from which i still had red burn marks on my back 2 days later. She also kept on dropping stones through out the massage giving me a small heart attack each time. So not very relaxing or satisfying in any way for what is a very expensive spa!

I did fill out a form afterwards where i pointed out my dis-satisfaction (in front of the staff which is always awkward!), but not sure it made it to the manager as i didn't hear back until the ever lovely and efficient chief butler asked me about how it was and made sure to set things straight in a very satisfying manner!
That's how you keep guests happy and coming back!

A/C:
Very efficent and blissfully quiet. Easy to adjust

Internet:
Fast, stable and free wifi!!!

Laundry:
Very well executed every time, on time (if not before!) and, if you're on a club floor, it's also free throughout the stay!

Giftshop:
No, there isn't one, so bring your own reading!

Must visits:
The French concession area (Xintiandi) which has some lovely shops (Largest Shanghai Tang in Shanghai for instance) + some great restaurants such as Lost Heaven and Crystal Jade
Do take a trip to Yu Gardens. Don't be discouraged by the hordes of people on the outside! Once inside the actual gardens it's relatively peaceful, and absolutely gorgeous. Do discuss the prices if there's something you want to buy!!
Some restaurants really close to the hotel well worth a visit are Coconut Paradise which is an award winning Thai restaurant. Book beforehand and make sure to request a table outside!!
People 7 is also worth a visit (so hip it hurts). Food/service is not exceptional by any means, but the ambiance/trend factor is.
Bali Laguna which is located in the park next to the hotel is very charming. Food wise it's ok, but the setting is gorgeous and romantic!
But once again, the culinary highlight of the week was still Lost Heaven. There are few of them in the city, but it has to be the one in the French Consession as its much more beautiful!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the park. Quiter and more bautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Asta72,

Thank you for your amazingly comprehensive review on TA. We have rectified the omission in the Spa and I am happy your GuanJia could also pick up on it and make amends.

Team Puli wish you many more happy travels!

We hope we can welcome you back again to Shanghai soon.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    261
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
120
384
114
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

One of my favorites.
What I love.....

The Nespresso Machine
The amazing decor in the rooms.
The sense of quiet in the middle of this crazy city.
The BREAKFAST. One of the best.

The Puli is like a retreat. For any traveller that likes to be in the middle of the action but removerd and buffered from the crazyness at the same time, this is the hotel for you.

The rooms are above average size, the service quiet and attentive.
The decor is modern but soft and comfy at the same time.
The Breakfast is superb.
The service is amazing.

This is a place that feels special, but doesn't have the homogenous feel that the big chain Hotels have. If you are after a true Boutique Hotel experience with style and sophistication, . stay here!

Room Tip: Only stayed here once, but it was SO quiet! I would imagine this is pretty much what you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Libby S,

Thank you for your great tribute to The Puli Hotel and Spa.

It is wonderful to read that all of our original plans, designs and ideas combined with the never-ending energy of Team Puli have impressed you.

Hot news is the arrival of our new Executive Chef Michael Wilson of Cutler and Co, Melbourne fame! Boy can he cook…

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Puli is luxurious at his best . the small details from the minute you enter the loby, the restaurant and of course the room(the view from the 15th floor is amazing) the staff is helpful and will go out of their way to please you.located in a great area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danagino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear danagino,

Thank you for your posting: it is great to know that with 229 rooms and many visitors going through the house every day, you have enjoyed the small details throughout.

Great to see that you have joined us all the way from Israel.

Until we meet again.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Puli is located in a central area, has a wonderful spa, the rooms are big, a comfortable lobby and, to our surprise, all the things in the mini bar were free!! (a Nespresso machine, tea, beer, soft drinks, fruits, etc). The staff very helpful, free wi-fi; my wife loved the pool and I spent time in the machine and the steam room. We were there from the 19th to the 24th.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero-Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you, “Mr and Mrs Viajero-Alfa”,

We have indeed done away with the idiosyncrasies in our offerings, by including most things you need in the rates. It keeps things simple. Guests of The Club need to worry about very little else than showing up!
Team Puli and I are particularly happy with your remark on “going East to find luxury”, hopefully to some extent due to our modest contribution. Extra powerful coming from a New York based traveller!

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

i ve been there many times and it is a perfect place to have aperitifs or to invite clients for a formal talk. The service got a very high standard and most of them speak very good english.
The prices are very high compared the rest of Shanghai, but at the end of the day the long bar never disappoint!
I will recommend it for my friends and clients as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belpaeseShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Mille Grazie, belpaeseShanghai,

On your beloved Garden Terrace we do Summer Sizzling Saturday Barbecues all afternoon! Let me know when you would like to have a look and I will find you to talk you through it.

See you again soon.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We unfortunately stayed only one night in this hotel. We found everything very good to exceptional. The room was comfortable and we found the staff exceptional. Wish we had stayed longer

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear randltrip,

Thank you so very much for sharing your thoughts.

Please come back and enjoy The Puli a bit longer next time?

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Puli is well designed, very comfortable hotel. Rooms are on the small side for the price but very comfortable. There is a complimentary mini bar with soft drinks and beers which is a nice touch, a great Nespresso machine and fresh milk in the mini bar fridge - often overlooked in many hotels.

Did not use the gym but it looked good. Pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub are all great - very well designed and very luxurious except the steam room was broken when we were there which in four nights should have been fixed at this price level.

Bar area is also very inviting but overpriced, as is the rest of Shanghai when it comes to cocktails/wine. There is a nice outdoor area which is great for a coffee and chill out except for the noise of the nearby traffic/motorways.

Location is very close to the metro - so you can go everywhere very easily and close to some large malls which have good shopping, western coffee chains and good quality cheap eats if you need them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkers234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear tinkers234,

Thank you for your kind comments. My apologies for the steam room being out of service during your stay. I am not an engineer but I understand that the steam generator’s alternators were out of order, which took the outside vendor a few days to source spare parts for. I am happy to report that it has been fixed, although unfortunately not in time for your enjoyment!
On a different note, for the best possible “hot deals” please keep an eye out for the top section on our website. In our bustling city, early bookers are always rewarded! We thank them for being organized so that we balance those with less fixed itineraries and with more last minute travel needs.

In the meantime, happy travels.

Thank you again and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#184 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing