We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent stay. Nothing to put a finger on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasent stay. Nothing to put a finger on”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

As part of a business trip I stayed at The Puli and I must say it was a very nice stay. I din't try the gym but the room i had was definetly top of the line. And the complimentary mini bar makes it just that extra. It is the small thing that defines the great hotel experience and differentiates it from the average.

By the way. There's a robot toilet in the lobby that is something of an experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danishdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Danishdesigner,

Thank you very much for letting us know you had a pleasant stay recently. If I had taken a dollar every time a guests asked for the details of the Toto Toilets I would not just watch fast cars at F1 on TV: I would be driving one…..

Very funny ‘by the way’ from your hand! You are right: an experience.

Happy travels and until we meet again.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    262
    39
    16
    6
See reviews for
122
387
120
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I live in Shanghai, and once in a while I like to take some time off the city's noise and would stay at Puli over a weekend; and honestly, there is nothing I can complain much about this hotel.
It is a relatively recent hotel (couple years) so you will find the facilities very new and clean. Location-wise, it's right down-town. There are shops and restaurant nearby, subway gives easy access... Oh, it's actually pretty close to the highway, but you don't hear a sound of it from your room and it's not blocking your view since it's a pretty high building.
The first impression I have from a hotel is the lobby. Puli's is very design, with a beautiful long desk that turns into a bar. Its style, as well as the rooms', are a mix of ancient Chinese furniture with modern and simple touch.
Rooms are spacious with a lot of natural light, and my favorite: everything in the mini-bar is FREE! There is wifi too - however I heard a client complaining about his wifi that couldn't be fixed, the person from the desk litterally replied him: "I have already checked and it is broken, there is nothing I can do", which I thought was the wrong attitude. That's surely the only negative comment I could write.
They have different packages, in my case I usually book the 1 night + brunch for 2. Great value for money, and the brunch is a delight (with open champagne).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Stephane S,
Thank you for your comments on TA. Please continue to monitor our website for Shanghai Resident Specials! We also have Summer Specials throughout July and August.

Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holten
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Was really suprised when checked in. Know this area very well and not expected a hotel like this. Was A great experience, ok , it's not cheap but all together it's worth it if you have time to enjoy it. Room, check in, breakfast, all was excellent. All is decorated so incredible nice, am in the furniture business and great to see that this has been done with so much eye for detail and great feeling for style ! I'll be back.....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan-wout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Rating:
The whole lovely package that is the PuLi gives it an easy 5. Service was fantastic and so was the very comfortable and stylish room. Everything is executed in a smooth and friendly fashion.
We also visited the Langham (rooms are much less good) and stayed at the Park Hyatt (see separate review).
I am also not taking my bad spa experience into account for the overall rating for the hotel. I think of spas as an option when staying in a hotel that's not a resort per se.

If we were to plan our Shanghai trip again we would do it the very same way. Spend a week at the PuLi to enjoy its charms, comfort and elegant luxury while exploring Shanghai by foot and then 2 nights at the Park Hyatt just because it's so hyped and crazy. But the area around the latter is just sterile. So book into the Park Hyatt spa!

Hotel:
A rather small (in a good way) hotel with 232 rooms. Just over 2 years old, so everything is still really fresh

Room:
We stayed in a Grand Club room (2111) which for sure has the better view as it overlooks a lovely little park as opposed to construction and traffic on the other side. The room is not overly huge, but has a very good layout. There are 2 panoramic windows which can be made totally dark (very important!) at night with 2 buttons next to your bed. Speaking of buttons, there are buttons everywhere in the room to operate lights and what not. But they all make sense and are easy to navigate. Wifi is easy to log in to, and stable. Huge bathtub next to one of the windows. It is rather large and almost better to take baths in if there's 2 of you. Also, the room is very quiet! We never heard any other guests or outside noise either for that matter.
The bed is on the firm side, but very comfortable. The pillows are amongst the best i have ever experienced! The bedlinen is also very pleasant.

Check in/Check out:
Despite the fact that I arrived slightly after 09:30 AM there was not a problem getting my room. In fact, the lovely guy checking me in even said: No problem, we have prepared a room for you. Bliss!
Check out was fast and nice as well. There were how ever some discrepancies in the bill for afternoon teas and landry services that should have been of no charge. Quickly remedied.

Staff/butler:
Couldn't be nicer! Fine, there's a bit of difficulty with the language sometimes...But they all really do bend over backwards for you and are really sweet and efficent. Neat to have a 24/7 butler at ones service

Club floor perks:
If you can, do book a club floor room!!! Great perks such as: Free laundry throughout the stay with no limits. Free afternoon tea. Free shoecare. Free bar allowance that is re-newed every day, 388 RMB per person, or 488 if there's 2 of you (also for alcoholic beverages!). Free minibar with decent selection. 20% discount at the spa and many more perks.

Food:
There is just 1 restaurant, but the quality is perfectly good, if a little bit overpriced (dinner). I really liked their breakfast, the fruitloaf is to die for, but I wish that they could have some sliced cheese already prepared in bigger (not thicker!) sizes.

Pool:
A gorgeous 25 metre infinitypool which thankfully is heated. Unfortunately no jacuzzi to enjoy with my husband as the jacuzzis are located in the changing room areas, so strictly one is for men, and one is for women. The changing rooms are fine, but the steam room and shower definitely need a bit of freshening up and it's a bit stained and smell a bit funky...

In room dining:
Arrived promptly without any mistakes. Quality was very good!

Spa:
Now this was my only beef with the hotel... The spa seems to have won every award possible. But i had such an underwhelming experience...
First of all, they were 20 min's late depsite the fact that i was the 1st client of the day. The consultation beforehand was really bad as she didn't speak English very well and clearly wasn't able to make good suggestions based on my needs. The therapist didn't speak any English at all, and was average at best. It was obvious that she just did a halfhearted auto-pilot treatment... We finished with a hot stone massage from which i still had red burn marks on my back 2 days later. She also kept on dropping stones through out the massage giving me a small heart attack each time. So not very relaxing or satisfying in any way for what is a very expensive spa!

I did fill out a form afterwards where i pointed out my dis-satisfaction (in front of the staff which is always awkward!), but not sure it made it to the manager as i didn't hear back until the ever lovely and efficient chief butler asked me about how it was and made sure to set things straight in a very satisfying manner!
That's how you keep guests happy and coming back!

A/C:
Very efficent and blissfully quiet. Easy to adjust

Internet:
Fast, stable and free wifi!!!

Laundry:
Very well executed every time, on time (if not before!) and, if you're on a club floor, it's also free throughout the stay!

Giftshop:
No, there isn't one, so bring your own reading!

Must visits:
The French concession area (Xintiandi) which has some lovely shops (Largest Shanghai Tang in Shanghai for instance) + some great restaurants such as Lost Heaven and Crystal Jade
Do take a trip to Yu Gardens. Don't be discouraged by the hordes of people on the outside! Once inside the actual gardens it's relatively peaceful, and absolutely gorgeous. Do discuss the prices if there's something you want to buy!!
Some restaurants really close to the hotel well worth a visit are Coconut Paradise which is an award winning Thai restaurant. Book beforehand and make sure to request a table outside!!
People 7 is also worth a visit (so hip it hurts). Food/service is not exceptional by any means, but the ambiance/trend factor is.
Bali Laguna which is located in the park next to the hotel is very charming. Food wise it's ok, but the setting is gorgeous and romantic!
But once again, the culinary highlight of the week was still Lost Heaven. There are few of them in the city, but it has to be the one in the French Consession as its much more beautiful!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the park. Quiter and more bautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Asta72,

Thank you for your amazingly comprehensive review on TA. We have rectified the omission in the Spa and I am happy your GuanJia could also pick up on it and make amends.

Team Puli wish you many more happy travels!

We hope we can welcome you back again to Shanghai soon.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

One of my favorites.
What I love.....

The Nespresso Machine
The amazing decor in the rooms.
The sense of quiet in the middle of this crazy city.
The BREAKFAST. One of the best.

The Puli is like a retreat. For any traveller that likes to be in the middle of the action but removerd and buffered from the crazyness at the same time, this is the hotel for you.

The rooms are above average size, the service quiet and attentive.
The decor is modern but soft and comfy at the same time.
The Breakfast is superb.
The service is amazing.

This is a place that feels special, but doesn't have the homogenous feel that the big chain Hotels have. If you are after a true Boutique Hotel experience with style and sophistication, . stay here!

Room Tip: Only stayed here once, but it was SO quiet! I would imagine this is pretty much what you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Libby S,

Thank you for your great tribute to The Puli Hotel and Spa.

It is wonderful to read that all of our original plans, designs and ideas combined with the never-ending energy of Team Puli have impressed you.

Hot news is the arrival of our new Executive Chef Michael Wilson of Cutler and Co, Melbourne fame! Boy can he cook…

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Puli is luxurious at his best . the small details from the minute you enter the loby, the restaurant and of course the room(the view from the 15th floor is amazing) the staff is helpful and will go out of their way to please you.located in a great area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danagino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear danagino,

Thank you for your posting: it is great to know that with 229 rooms and many visitors going through the house every day, you have enjoyed the small details throughout.

Great to see that you have joined us all the way from Israel.

Until we meet again.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Puli is located in a central area, has a wonderful spa, the rooms are big, a comfortable lobby and, to our surprise, all the things in the mini bar were free!! (a Nespresso machine, tea, beer, soft drinks, fruits, etc). The staff very helpful, free wi-fi; my wife loved the pool and I spent time in the machine and the steam room. We were there from the 19th to the 24th.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero-Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you, “Mr and Mrs Viajero-Alfa”,

We have indeed done away with the idiosyncrasies in our offerings, by including most things you need in the rates. It keeps things simple. Guests of The Club need to worry about very little else than showing up!
Team Puli and I are particularly happy with your remark on “going East to find luxury”, hopefully to some extent due to our modest contribution. Extra powerful coming from a New York based traveller!

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,105 in Shanghai
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing