We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I always a pleasure to come back to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I always a pleasure to come back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Puli Hotel is an excellent hotel with great modern design. It feels stylish and trendy without the usual problem of design hotels were the design is often more important than the guests. Here service is impeccable, warm and very friendly. They make you feel at home. The rooms are very spacious and grand. The gym, pool and spa are fantastic and the garden terrace in the summer months is a stylish retreat from the sometimes chaotic Shanghai outside. The location of the hotel is great within walking distance to the major boutique shopping streets of the French Concession and a luxury mall next door. Ask for a room facing Jingnan Park and you will have a fantastic view over the park and the golden roofs of the nearby temple. I have stayed at the Puli many times over the last few years and I am always anxious to come back.

Room Tip: Club rooms facing Jingnan Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mr TobiasHundertmark,

With you, about a third of our guests at any given time has stayed with us at least once before. A wonderful number Team Puli is very proud of. Thank you for always choosing The Puli Hotel and Spa as your home in Shanghai.

See you again soon!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    243
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
112
367
107
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The PuLi Hotel and Spa was an amazing experience. The design of the property is exquisite, such a respite from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. The staff are incredibly warm and friendly and they speak English well which cannot be said for many hotels in Shanghai. The room was very spacious, always clean and beautiful in design. I especially loved looking out over the park and seeing all the locals exercising in the morning. The long bar is a fantastic concept, the simplicity of the whole experience is majestic. There is an elegance to the property, a definite feel of luxury, but without it being over the top and all too fussy which is exactly the expericne I look for when traveling for business. Can't wait to come back and enjoy some more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Nadia B,

Thank you for your posting. It is great to learn that your experiences are exactly the way we hoped we would achieve for our guests. A perfect combination of work and play is what we strongly believe in. Urban and Resort in one. So good to know it is working for you.
Please indeed come back whenever you can.
Oh and then please let us know and we will arrange a Tai Chi class WITH the lovely old ladies in the park…

Very best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

SUMMARY: Tastefully stylish hotel with spacious rooms that blend well into the perfect Jingan neighborhood. Stayed three separate times over a couple months and had a consistently near flawless experience each time.

ROOMS: Large room overlooking Jingan park with plenty of space. One half of the guestroom was the bedroom, couch, and seating area. The other half was the armoire and bathroom. The bed was ridiculously comfy, and the large tub and couch seating by the large windows made it a very cozy experience. Hardwood floors and double sinks were a huge plus. Very tastefully decorated in a modern style but incorporating the right traditional Chinese accents.

SERVICE: Every staff was eager and enthusiastic to provide the best service and with speed. The overnight front desk staff was a bit unprofessional in the late hours . . . playing games on their phones and watching video clips on their computers. Not a huge deal, but not quite 5 star standards.

AMENITIES: The fitness center was clean and had all the basic equipment. The Nespresso machines and teas in the rooms were a very nice touch as well. I didn't try the spa or pool, but from the looks of it those would have been a great experience.

LOCATION: An amazing location on the Puxi side of Shanghai. It's adjacent to the Jingan metro station right along Nanjing Dong Road. Easy taxi access to Huaihai Road, The Bund, Xintiandi, and other major tourist areas.

CLEANLINESS: The public spaces and the guestrooms were virtually spotless despite the hotel being a few years old.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of Jingan Park. Try to get a room away from the elevated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wangderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear expatrex,

Thank you for your detailed description of the Puli Hotel and Spa!
We are so happy you have enjoyed your stays and especially to know that we have consistently looked after you.
This is a truly a proud accolade for any Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back. And of course that we continue to be your favourite hotel in our great city.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I visited the Garden Terrace restaurant at the Puli for a business lunch and found it to be a great escape from the bustle of Shanghai. The restaurant overlooks a very peaceful and green garden area and we were lucky enough to have a seat by the window.
The service is attentive and overseen by an Australian maitre d' so the local staff are kept on their toes. We selected from the set lunch menu and none of us were disappointed with the combination of flavours and great presentation of the food.
After lunch our meeting continued downstairs in the Long bar where we had cool drinks and then chose some afternoon tea. The ambience of this area is very relaxing and the decoration contemporary/orienta. As you'd expect the prices are not cheap, however the overall quality and service is worth the money you pay. I would like to return for a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goingnutsinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Gonutsinchina,

It is great to hear that your lunch experience has triggered an interest in our hotel for a stay. On the website we always have special arrangements for local and national friends for this very purpose.
Team Puli very much look forward to welcoming you back and then as a hotel guest!

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We recently spent 3 days at this outstanding property. From the moment you drive up the secluded drive nestled behind the large buildings you know you are in for a treat. No attention to detail is spared in this exquisitely designed property. This is not to the exclusion of comfort as every thing has been seen to from the very comfortable bed and bath that overlooks the bustling metropolis to the free minibar which is restocked every day. The concierge and staff are courteous and very helpful with excellent english.The 25 meter pool is an oasis at the end of a tiring day of sight seeing. There is a world famous spa which unfortunately we did not try . We felt the prices did not reflect Asia and were a little too high. The breakfasts and room service at The Puli were amongst the best meals we ate in Shanghai. It is a contemporary trendy Asian hotel catering to a very discerning clientele who will not be disappointed. It was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlaneurTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear glasgowflaneur,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am sure that my colleagues from Team Puli are over the moon to read that you both believe this is one of the best hotels you have stayed at. To have their hard work and dedication recognized this way is simply wonderful.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

First time in Shanghai and stayed for 2 nights at the Puli. Picked this over all other hotels in Shanghai and we were not dissapointed. Stayed in a grande room I think. Room exceeded expectations in terms of comfort and decor. Would like to know who the designers were so I could get them to redesign my own bedroom. Favourite feature in the room was the bath by the window overlooking the shanghai skyline. Staff were very courteous and efficient. Was a real delight to return to the hotel have spent the day visiting the sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mr Alan S,

Thank you for letting us all know of your experiences at The Puli Hotel and Spa. Johannes Hartfuss of Layan.net in Melbourne is our designer and he is also doing our second hotel in Wuhan, Hubei. Nathan Thompson of TFB.com.au is responsible for the lighting design. A truly winning combination. I am so happy to read that you have enjoyed the results of their cooperation!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed at the Puli just last week when the city temp went up to 36-37 Celsius in the daytime. The hotel room was a great refuge on a hot day given that half of the room space (I was on the Club floor) is dedicated for bath and wash. There are two sets of everything, wash basins, etc and the best part to me is the bathtub which is positioned in such a way that you could take in the city view while bathing. It's really luxurious! Minibar was also free at the time I stayed, there was also a stay 2 nights get 1 night free promotion. I agree with other reviewers that this could be a very expensive stay without promotion.

Housekeeping was not good on day 1 of my stay but it dramatically improved on days 2 and 3. As you enter the room, you will be greeted by an Asian-style wooden partition with lots of holes. I could see dust here and there on the partition when I entered but it was wiped off on the second day. For this, it could be just one off, one sloppy person, that's all. Staff service overall is excellent.

There are two reason why I wont' give this hotel a 5 out of 5:
- the only restaurant in the hotel offers really expensive cuisine with mediocre standards. I ordered cod fish which costs RMB260 but it came lukewarm with so so flavor. The restaurant is too dim for my liking and service is sparse. When they do attend to you, they are polite. In short, price to value ratio is not all that great. I went down to the restaurant viewing the menu on TV in my room, not only was the price different, so was the selection. I meant to have one of the desserts listed but the actual menu didn't have it.

- since this hotel boasts a spa theme, I tried the message and facial treatment. It was expensive but average. I am someone who have been to Bangkok like 40 times in the past 10 years so I know a good masseur when I see one. The facial treatment was worse than the massage though I did have a good rest lying down for more than 2 hours in a dark room.

I didn't try their breakfast so I can't comment. Internet is free with no password required.

Thanks for reading, good luck!

Room Tip: Location wise, it's okay. Go eat the basement of the shopping mall/department store right acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Ms VictoriaSommers,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am really sorry that we have not met your expectations in the restaurant and in our spa on this occasion. All your observations have been shared with the relevant colleagues and improvements have been made where needed.
Until we meet again!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#5 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing