We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful urban resort in the middle of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Favorite hotel in China - classy design, free mini bars, beautiful facilities (must check out the hot tub and the pool, which is the coolest pool in any city hotels I've stayed in). Great location in the middle of the action near Nanjing Lu West and Jingan temple. Great breakfast as well with both a la carte and a buffet (included in room rate). Much better than the Park Hyatt, which wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

New Year greetings from Shanghai and The PuLi Hotel and Spa,
We were tickled to read the great comments you posted on TA from your stay earlier in the year and already look forward to having you back soon.
Thank you for sharing your insights, I was very happy to share them with our entire team to show them that their hard work has been appreciated and noticed.
Happy 2013 to you and loved ones and a bientot!
Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Among the friendliest hotels I have stayed in. Service is excellent, in particular the conceirge staff were extremely helpful. Located next door to metro station and a couple of blocks to the main shopping street getting around is easy. Rooms are chic and comfortable. I highly recommend the Puli.

1  Thank rjfnov
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear guest,

We hope your onwards travels went smooth and wanted to thank you for your lovely comments you posted on TA following your stay at The PuLi Hotel and Spa. We were really happy to read that you had such a great stay and appreciate your comments on the helpful Concierge and the comfortable accommodations and overall excellent service.
Wishing you a very exciting 2013 and looking forward to welcoming you back soon when you are next in Shanghai again!
Best regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I used to spend weekends here for a short getaway at Puli when I was living in Shanghai. Now I have left Shanghai and moved to Australia still whenever I go back to Shanghai I still choose to stay here and even arrange meetings here at the lobby bar. Love the location, the deco of the property, the minibar in the room, the service, the pool, the bar at the lobby, the room and everything. This time I once again enjoyed my stay as usual and the only disappointment was the girl at the pool&fitness center front desk.Maybe she had a bad day or something at the time. I think her service and attitude could be better and needs improvement. After so many years, Puli is still one of my favorite luxury boutique hotels in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Season's greetings from The PuLi Hotel and Spa.
We were so glad to welcome you back and to read your great comments - thank you for returning and for taking the time to post your feedback on TA, we really appreciate them.
I shared your comments with our colleagues and whilst they were overall positive I also noted that you did not encounter a positive service attituted at the healthclub by one of our colleagues - we apoligize for that and have spoken to said staff accordingly.
We wish you a fab 2013 and look forward to welcoming you back to one of your favourite Boutique Hotels in Shanghai in the not too distant future!
Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Clean, great location and nice gym for business travellers. No doubt it is a pricing hotel but it is worth it. The room design is modern and the view of the city (depending which side) is fantastic, night view is even better. It is not a high rise hotel compare to others and one may think it is noisy location but this place got good quality windows to block the noisy. Lots of restaurant near by, do try Raku Japanese restaurant and the Italian food 30 seconds walk.. great food there. Again it is a bit pricing but once you try it, you would love to go back again. Yes, they have everything you need in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qboss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Season's greetings from The PuLi Hotel and Spa!
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your fine review on TripAdvisor and wish you a very blessed Holiday season and success and happiness for the coming New Year. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and remain in the meantime,
With kindest regards

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed there for 4 days during 12/12. The Hotel is very well designed. It is full of chineses character, yet modern. The room is beautiful, and well set. The location is great, it is next to a Mall, and nice japanese market underground. The Jin An Temple is fixed since the old days, and it is just next to the hotel. The best part of the hotel is the pool, It is big and warm. It is also well designed. Wife tried spa after reading the reviews. She said it is not great. I figure it is true, since there are so many places you can try the spa in Shanghai. My guess is you need to able to go out , and not just stay in hotel.

The service is good, not quite 5 star yet. We had a drink in the bar next to the check desk one night, The red wine was taste like vinegar. The bar tender did not brother to say anything.

The worst part is that the house keep took some small things from room, It is hard to prove, but I know it. It left bad taste in my mouth. We travel a lot, and all over the world, this is the first time, I lost something in the room.

We also tried the breakfast, the is small, and comparing to the breakfast in the bigger hotel. The
food is a bit like dessert, and well made. Coffee is also good.

Overall, I think it is a great hotel in the middle of the busy city. Pool is fabulous. Service however needs improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShanghaiKevin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Holiday greetings from The PuLi Hotel and Spa,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us!

I was very happy to read about your great comments on our well designed and convenient location of our hotel, your beautiful room and our fabulous pool - I was however extremely sorry and taken aback by your comment that our housekeeping colleagues took something from your room and which you mentioned - it is hard to proof.
I would very much appreciate if you could contact me at information@thepuli.com or by phone at +86 21 3203 9999 so that we can find out more details as we do not show any records of such from your stay. We pride ourselves for having stellar safety and security standards and records and take your allegations serious.

In the meantime we wish you a very happy New Year and look forward to hearing from you soonest.
Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

There may be more luxurious hotels in Shanghai, but for the one with the best combination of Chinese style, luxury and coolness, the Puli is at the top - appropriate for business or pleasure. From the tucked away hotel driveway, to the very zen but warm entrance and lobby, the hotel is a magical spot in a city where there are numerous branded hotels which feel like most other branded hotels. The best features of the hotel is the amazing and unique layout of the room, which has two large sliding doors into the bathroom which when opened up make the room incredibly large. Also, the gym is a quiet spot of serenity and intensity, and the restaurant serves surprisingly tasty western dishes. Try it out - unlikely to be disappointed.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear Guest,
We hope your onwards travels were comfortable.
Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TA following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, especially for commenting for being one of the best combination of Chinese style, luxury and coolness and for our tasty dishes at our Epicurean Jing'An restaurant.
We can't wait to welcome you back to Shanghai in the near future and wish you a fab 2013 with lots of success and happiness.
Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

If you want to spend a few days (business or leisure) in a top-notch boutique hotel in Shanghai, The Puli should be your choice. I spent six nights at The Puli, and it was like an oasis of ease in an energetic city. It is perfectly located in Jing-An district, with the metro station just a few steps a way. My Deluxe room was huge with a great view, the Spa facility with its huge ozone pool catered for all relaxation needs. One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexHHHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Season's greetings from The PuLi Hotel and Spa!
We are very happy to read about your comments following your stay with us and already look forward to welcome you back in the near future. We wish you and your loved ones a very blessed Holiday season and good health and happiness for 2013.
From all of us at the PuLi

Sincerely,
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,224 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#32 of 5,161 in Shanghai
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road | Jing'An District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#182 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £206 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's first luxury urban resort, The PuLi Hotel and Spa is centrally located between Nanjing West Road and YanAn Road. With 193 rooms and 36 suites, The PuLi offers 24-hour butler service, in-room dining, concierge, laundry and valet services, and a one Michelin star restaurant, PHÉNIX eatery & bar. The Health Club has a superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara Spa in Shanghai. With different venues to choose from for your private event or meeting, guests can experience handcrafted service from tailor-made menus to programming assistance. The Level 1 Garden Terrace, Level 2 all-day dining restaurant and Private Dining Room, Level 3 Meeting Room, and Level 26 as a multi-functional space where one can host exclusive and intimate events and gatherings up to 150 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing