We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you want to stay in a truly design driven hotel ...stay here. This place is amazing....it is my 4th stay here.

Definitely my favorite hotel in Shanghai by far...this is a 5 star experience. I never seen so many guests take pictures of just the lobby. The rooms are impeccably designed, with so much intricate detail ..it really adds to the China experience.....you feel like you are really in the Orient at the Puli. I had a room overseeing the park and downtown.

It is close to the shopping and walking distance to the local restaurant districts....

First class experience from check in to check out ...the staff is available for your every need....I would almost say overstaffed in the lobby cafe...maybe a few too many eyes on you ready to cater to your every need....but that is not a bad thing I suppose. Food is pricey....but the second floor restaurant was excellent. My only complaint was no irons in the room ...which always surprises me you have to request one from housekeeping ...seems so silly in a high end hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank M1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that The PuLi Hotel and Spa is by far your favorite hotel in Shanghai! Thank you for your generous comments.

I am especially glad that your enjoyed your room with its design and intricate details and more importantly - that you received first class experiences from our staff and that your enjoyed our restaurant.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kindest regards,


Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

After 3 nights in Shanghai in a 3 star hotel, then going to Suzhou for 2 days, my mother and I stayed at the Puli for our last night back in Shanghai - a stunning way to say bye to China. Our room and the whole hotel were beautifully designed. We stayed in a really great 5 star hotel in Xian but it was conventional hotel luxury compared to the understated sleekness of the Puli. I'm an architect and designer and the the attention to detail in the hotel styling was the best I've ever seen. The Puli shows how a hotel should be illuminated - dim. Hotels should not feel like supermarkets. All staff were so courteous and helpful. When I went for a swim I had the enormous pool to myself - the most stunning space in the hotel. We had breakfast at the ground floor bar - simple food, but again the attention to quality and detail was evident everywhere. Good location and easy access to the metro. Will definitely come back to one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this TripAdvisor report following your and your families stay at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

We appreciate your comments on the understated sleekness of the Puli and the the attention to detail in the styling throughout.

Attention to detail is the "name of the game" as we say in our business and we are happy that you experienced your stay in this manner.

We are thrilled that you are planning on coming back to stay with us when you are next in Shanghai. Until then I remain,

With kindest regards,


Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Wow, wow, wow. What an absolutely amazing experience. We booked to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 5. Situated in the middle of busy Shanghai, you feel like you are in a spa, as far away from anyone and anything.

Location is on top of the underground train. You are able to go anywhere, anytime very easily. The staff know everything about anything and pointed us in the right direction every time we asked to do something or eat somewhere. They seem to know all of the right places to dine and always manage to get a table even if they are 'booked out'.

Make sure you have enough time to go for a massage and then a swim/sauna. It is pure bliss.

I cannot wait for my next trip to Shanghai so I can stay at the Puli hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 'Club Rooms'. They are up high with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Guest,

And a big "WOW" back at you! Thank you so very much for taking the efforts and time to give us your feedback.

We are so happy to read that our staff were able to get you into the busiest restaurants in town and that they were able to point you into the right direction.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the near future and remain,

With kindest regards

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and blown away be service and hotel amenities - the gym was well equipped and the spa and pool top class and normally empty. The location on the green metro line 2 very convenient for airport and other attractions - one of the hotels I've ever stayed in

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loadlift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your overwhelming feedback following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

We were delighted to read that you were blown away by our services and amenities and that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel.

We can't wait to welcome you back to Shanghai and remain in the meantime,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Great hotel! I stayed for 3 nights the hotel food is delicious slightly over priced but I think that's to be expected at such a fancy place. I had a flight at 8pm and check out was at 11 am the staff was nice enough to hold my bags without any extra cost. For someone who has little grasp on the local language it was easy to maneuver and the staff was great for getting taxi cabs to take me to the place I wanted to go.

One question what brand is the bed? It was unbelievably comfortable. I guess I should probably invest in the grand bedding too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent visit.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations, especially with our delicious food and forthcoming staff.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our unbelievably comfortable bed - the brand is King Koil and our linen is Quivera.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I would rate this a 4.5 star property....definitely one of the best in Shanghai, especially for those who like design-driven properties. Great location, service and amenities.

I stayed @ the end of February, right @ the tail end of Chinese New Year, and since it was the slow season, I took advantage of the hotel's "Stay 2 nights, get 1 night free" rate. But the prices are still on the high-end of the scale...about $350-$400/night for an Executive King; you get what you pay for, though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

It is our personalized level of service that we pride ourselves on, the propertie's design and layout, our great location and amenities - all these attributes combined lead to a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

A coworker recommended this hotel for my first visit to Shanghai. It's incredibly convenient - right above the subway, just across the highway from the French Concession, near Jing'an Temple and lots of great department store shopping. The entry and lobby really set the tone with a chic, Asian yet sexy feel. The room - it's like you took a great Vegas-sized room and Zen'd it. Absolutely loved it - spacious, great bed and bath facilities, and an amazing view of this part of Shanghai, especially with the lights at night. Even complimentary (non-liquor) minibar with beer, sodas, a few snacks and best of all - an in-room Nespresso machine.

So why a 4 instead of a 5? A few really important caveats:
- There is a pervasive cooking smell - fish? - around the elevators that bleeds into the lobby bar area and the room corridors. (Though, not into the rooms). Five of us stayed here as a group - at least two are not returning because of this.
- The rain shower (never my favorite, but good pressure) had only an occasional working relationship with hot water - and then, maintaining consistent temperature was random at best. One expects better at a five-star hotel.
- The Wi-Fi tells my phone and PC it's full-strength - but it's painfully slow and erratic. Some of this is likely due to Chinese censorship (like the fact that Facebook had about a 60% access rate) but generally, it's not really up to five-star hotel standards.
- Drink prices were randomly high even for a hotel bar - even though food prices weren't particularly absurd. (I hear this may just be a Shanghai thing, but getting a 210RMB ($32) bill for one drink of a not-particularly-fancy whiskey was a bit of a shock.)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davemdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us earlier this month - thank you very much for taking the time to give us your positive and constructive feedback.

The smell you are referring to comes from the underground parking lot which is being repainted - unfortunately the smell coming from the epoxy paint does have somewhat of a "fishy" odor; this smell is temporary and will vanish by end of the week.

We have a broad variety of beverage choices priced from moderate to more expensive, depending on guest preferences and we are very much in line with our pricing policies in comparison with other five star establishments in Shanghai.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,224 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road | Jing'An District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#180 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £209 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's first luxury urban resort, The PuLi Hotel and Spa is centrally located between Nanjing West Road and YanAn Road. With 193 rooms and 36 suites, The PuLi offers 24-hour butler service, in-room dining, concierge, laundry and valet services, and a one Michelin star restaurant, PHÉNIX eatery & bar. The Health Club has a superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara Spa in Shanghai. With different venues to choose from for your private event or meeting, guests can experience handcrafted service from tailor-made menus to programming assistance. The Level 1 Garden Terrace, Level 2 all-day dining restaurant and Private Dining Room, Level 3 Meeting Room, and Level 26 as a multi-functional space where one can host exclusive and intimate events and gatherings up to 150 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing