We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The rooms are beautiful, with really comfortable beds and a free mini bar. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Great food, bar (with a lovely terrace space to relax) and a very convenient location. Genuinely one of the best hotels I have ever been too - highly recommend it to anyone visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzy1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback from your recent experience at The PuLi. I am thrilled that you had such a great time.

I am delighted that our spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations and that our beds are so comfortable and that you made full usage of our free mini bar. Yes indeed, the outdoor terrace is a very relaxing area, inmidst of the hustle and bustle.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized service delivery and I am happy to read that the team was able to deliver.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon when your travel plans take you back to Shanghai. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    251
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
115
373
109
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Puli is incredibly well done. First, it's beautiful. Gorgeous design with subtle, artistic nods to Chinese art throughout, but with an overall modern, contemporary feel. The room was large and fully equipped with comfortable beds. The staff really makes this place. You truly cannot feel more well treated than at this hotel. Everyone from the desk to the restaurant to the door people are incredibly helpful. Martin, one of the front desk managers, was unbelievably nice, remembered our names and talked to us regularly about China and how our stay was going. If you can swing it, book the Club level rooms. Includes a butler service that responds instantly to any need. I got sick and had the butler and 3 people at the concierge desk looking up the medicine I needed in Chinese. they called the pharmacy to make sure they had the medicine, then wrote the words down in Chinese for me to give to the pharmacist. Super helpful. Club level also includes check in and out at any time, free mini bar stocked with alcohol, free daily breakfast (which is outstanding, truly!) , free daily laundry service (10 items washed every day is a real bonus if you're staying a few days), a $70 credit at the bar for drinks every day. Outside on the streets of Shanghai, it's mayhem, so when you come back to the Puli, it's like returning to an oasis. To get a good rate, book 50 days in advance and the rate is reduced by 40%, which makes it a true deal. You are located in the financial district and surrounded by a lot of Prada and Hugo Boss. Venture away from this to see the more interesting aspects of Shanghai. The metro is easy, cheap, clean and safe and will take you everywhere.

Room Tip: Book Club level rooms for a real treat on service and lots of extras that make the trip nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiana1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time spent in posting such a great review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at The PuLi.

I am delighted to read you were very satisfied with your stay and that the entire team made your visit such a pleasant experience. We all hope you are well recovered and are feeling much better!

I appreciate you writing about Martin our Lobby Manager - Martin is indeed an asset to our team as he knows most of our valued guests by name and he makes our patrons feel at home and at ease. Martin will be delighted to note that his enthusiasm and outgoing personality is appreciated and recognized.

I fully concur with you - Club benefits represent excellent value ads and offer meaningful services you would normally have to pay extra and the 50-day advance booking offer makes it even sweeter!

My entire team looks forward to welcome you back to our oasis, inmidst of the hustle and bustle, and if there is anything I may be of assistance in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This Hotel is Superb! I liked the image of hotel: lovely artwork and the style of design. Puli is totally different hotel than normally hotels are in Shanghai. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. Got few day flu but staff gave all their help to get me well.
Spa Anantarra is the best hotel spa where I have ever been: stylish, clean and ofcorse excellent treatments!
I really enjoyed my being in Shanghai cause stayed in Puli.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I very much appreciate you posting such a nice review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.
Indeed, The PuLi differentiates itself from many other luxury properties as we are different in overall design and service approach.
We are a urban resort in the middle of a hustling and bustling city and attract a clientele who looks for a tranquil and serene environment and personalized service without being "stuffy".

I do hope you were able to overcome your cold and am happy my colleagues were successful in finding remidies to make you feel better.

Thank you for recognizing our Anantara Spa - I will ensure the the ladies at the spa are informed about your lovely feedback.

Please do let me know when you are next planning another visit to The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The most stunning of hotels. I can't find the words to describe it
The entrance is just gorgeous. Bamboo lined path takes you into a long bar reception. Artwork and furniture is superb. Very zen like. The staff are beyond courteous and helpful. Really taking time to suggest places to visit and ways to get around.
The room is huge with a bath in one of the windows and separate basins. There are ornaments very carefully placed. The bed was fantastic.so comfortable
The swimming pool is really long with an infinity edge and the sauna etc is just exquisite
Location so good for restaurants we didn't try the hotel. Also very easy access to shops.the metro and historical sights

Room Tip: There won't be anything but fantastic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

What a nice review - thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I am very pleased to note you enjoyed the design, layout and artwork, especially when you enter the hotel and find peace and quiet.

Most of all I am delighted that our team members are beyond courteous and helpful - they will be pleased to read this so that they can see that their hard work and dedication is not gone unnoticed.

I concur with you - our guest rooms are sublime and not only do they look very nice, they are also very functional, spacious and comfortable.

Happy to read you took advantige of our indoor infinity pool and wet areas - they are very inviting indeed and there is nothing better than soaking your body and mind and getting any stress out of the system after a long day full of shopping and sightseeing in the nearby neighborhood!

We look forward to having you back soon and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I travel all the time but I have never written a review of a hotel. It would not be fair, however, to the people who are responsible for this hotel's exceptional performance if I did not. Let's be quite clear, this is an amazing place, but that is not an accident.

Its location and concept are unprecedented (totaly serene) but that would be nothing if it were not supported by the people who manage and provide the services here.

Let's start with Jan Tibaldi, the GM. You'll see him checking out the lobby if you stay here (other GM's of hotels-please note and copy). Jan understands customer service completely. He knows what you value and why and he wants to get it to you in bucket loads. What an enlightened and refreshing attitude. He is approachable and extremely responsive- he deserves every success for presenting guests here with an outstanding experience. He also understands that if he can improve something for a guest that will be paid back in customer loyalty. Pretty obvious maybe but Jan actually wants you to have a great time. Part of how he does that is that he clearly hires excellent people. For example, he has an extremely accomplished assistant rooms manager, Zana Bhonsle. If there is anything wrong (likley to be pretty trivial in the big picture) and you want someone who will get something sorted out for you in a quiet and professional manner, she is the go to person . She is a real asset and genuinely responsive.

The rooms are a pleasure to be in and the lobby is serene in a way that is hard to appreciate in the bustle of Shanghai. Sitting outside is better than doing Tai Chi- at night it looks like a landscape painting from another age.

OK. it's not the Park Hyatt, the Waldorf or the Shangrila but I personally like this better. It is intensely personal and tries harder. it is not pretentious but is fabulously trendy.

Congratulations to Jan and his staff-you cracked it. No 4 and heading upwards- inevitable if you keep this going.

Bravo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

My team and I are truly humbled by your high praises, acknowledgement and feedback following your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and genuine service delivery and I am proud to learn that our entire team, most notably Mrs. Jana Bhonsle, our wonderful and accomplished Rooms Division Manager, was successful in ensuring you felt comfortable and well looked after. Jana was thrilled by your most gracious praises.

We are so happy that our location, concept and serene atmosphere are unprecedented as you so kindly put it.

We have a very high repeat guest ratio as our patrons enjoy our urban resort feel,design, personalized service and eye for detail immensely; it is rare to find such a serene setting in the middle of a hustling and bustling environment such as Shanghai or any other major city.

Thank you again, you have made me indeed very proud and the entire Puli team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

You definitely can't fault an independent hotel like the Puli which took a stand to be independent in a place like Shanghai where every other hotel is big, branded and for the most part impersonal.

Not only is Puli beautifully designed, it's lobby bar is actually a place Id go to for a drink with friends even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. And though the hotel is next to the elevated highway, double glazed windows provide a sound barrier that makes the silence almost surreal.

Bonuses? It's around the corner from the subway station and a stone's throw from Jung An Temple and Nanking Road where you can shop, dine and more.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GoodBadnFunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so proud to learn that your experience was such a pleasent one.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that our great location and proximity to major shopping, dining and sight seeing made your visit such a success and convenient one.

We look forward to your return in the near future and remain,

Sincerely,
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for four wonderful nights at this incredible hotel. What makes it so great is the beauty of the PuLi itself combined with a staff that is world class and 100% focused on making your stay perfect.

The rooms are very spacious and the beds are extraordinarily comfortable. Snacks & complete mini bar access included for free. And l should mention too that their version of a minibar compares quite favorably to anything i have seen in the US. The lobby and bar area is completely unique with a vibe that makes you want to sit down and take it all in.

The PuLi is centrally located, and you can get to any part of shanghai in a very short time. We walked from the Bund to the hotel one afternoon , and its right next to the French Concession.

Its a great value too. The cost was far less than what i am used to paying in US luxury hotels.

I cannot give a hotel any higher recommendation! The PuLi stands at the top!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the marvelous review you posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am indeed delighted to read that my team was successful in making your stay such an incredible experience.

We like to offer our guests value additions such as the complimentary mini bar - I am happy you made use of it and that you enjoyed the selection.

The Long Bar is indeed unique with a vibe not to be missed, it is fascinating sitting in a corner to watch the "cat walk" and "who's who" in the business and fashion world while sipping a cocktail or enjoying afternoon tea.

Thank you again for your praise and my team and I look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Until then,
I remain with kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing