We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Puli was recommended to me by a friend who has been living in Shanghai for the past four years and who knows most of the top end hotels in the city very well. He said the Puli was a cut above all the others - the only place to stay. I am glad we followed his advice - it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in and our stay was truly memorable. From the moment we arrived - shabby and dishevelled from many hours' travelling! - we were made to feel special and at home.

The hotel is lovely to look at - the fantastic long bar, spa and beautifully designed rooms. Its facilities (from the beds to the restaurant (where we had a delicious dinner and where breakfast is divine) to the spa) are all wonderfully luxurious. And its young enthusiastic staff are super helpful and friendly.

So many luxury hotels can be unnecessarily stuffy or stiff - with the result that they are not as relaxing as they should be. The Puli is in no way stuffy: it is all about sophisticated but friendly comfort and relaxation - it truly is an urban retreat, an oasis of cool, comfortable relaxation. I am quite sure we wouldn't have had the time we had in Shanghai had we been staying somewhere else.

We returned for our second stay after a few days away in Beijing, arriving at the hotel early in the morning (to leave our bags before checking in later). We said we would come back to check in at lunchtime but the receptionist, seeing that we were tired and in need of some rest, immediately offered us an early check in and also a free upgrade, without us even having asked. That kind of genuine thoughtfulness makes such a difference.

So thank you to everyone at the Puli who gave us such a wonderful stay! We will certainly be back next time we are in Shanghai!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback from your first stay with us.
We are honored that you have become a fan of The PuLi.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations in respect to the sophisticated but friendly and gracious service, the overall comfort and relaxation and the high level of culinary delights.

We are indeed as you mentioned an oasis of cool and comfortable relaxation!

Our young and enthusiastic staff will be very happy to know that their helpful and friendly service approach has not gone unnoticed and I am equally pleased that we were able to offer an early check-in and a room upgrade upon your return.

My team and look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    263
    39
    16
    6
See reviews for
122
388
120
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is wonderful place for you to feel so warm and peaceful once you stay in.
You will feel back to home after a day of exhausting busy meeting, visiting places, or social life.
The hotel is located in the one of most convenience area with full of amenities you need.
We, all our colleagues, tried to find some other places to try out but have been feel so satisfy and not even think about it anymore. We had been traveled to Shanghai every month for past year and feel it is our home.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JY1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience at The PuLi.

I am so pleased that our convenient location and peaceful guest accommodations exceeded your expectations and that we were able to offer such a home away from home setting to you and friends.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and friendly service delivery and I am thrilled that we were successful in achieving this with you.

I concur that when you return to The PuLi after a day of hectic hustle and bustle, you are greeted by a calm, warm and peaceful setting - thus brushing aside any negative vibes.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If Heaven could be translated in comfort that is the Puli in Shanghai.
From the moment you get into reception to the moment you leave, everything is seemless.
Everything works and you feel like the world has not issues at all.

This is how I felt staying there for almost a week.

The food is unbelieveably good, the customer service zero to none and the bed... aahhh the bed was like sleeping on the clouds...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrerafaeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your great review following your week long "heavenly" stay at The PuLi.

I am very happy to read you were comfortable from the time you entered the lobby till you departed and that everything worked so well and was seemless.

My entire team will be delighted to hear that they indeed were successful in making a lasting impression, both from a culinary and service point of view.

I look forward to your return so that we can offer you many more nights of "sleeping in the clouds" and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Tucked away behind grand other buildings is a jewel of the east. The Puli, part of a large chain of luxury hotels globally, is to be found.

For not a lot a night £178 you get a suit , breakfast , amazing service and a free mini bar, sweeties and much much more.

China offers much to many , but to me everyone here works as a team with strict but polite smiles.

Congratulations Puli Spa Hotel you are and will be amazing and great value.

Thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your great review on TripAdvisor following your stay at The PuLi.

I very much appreciate you mentioning how your stay with us represented excellent value for money and more importantly how amazing our colleagues were in executing amazing service as a team in a polite and smiling manner. The culinary team will be equally pleased to know that their breakfast spread was a success.

Thank you again for your visit and I look very much forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon again!

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I recently spent 3 days in Shanghai - the hotel was beautiful, the staff was excellent, and the room was great. I had breakfast there two day and it was wonderful and fast. The room was comfortable with stunning views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such excellent comments following your recent stay at The PuLi.

I am pleased to know you had such a wonderful and comfortable experience and I will certainly share your kind words with all our team members so that they can see that their efforts are much appreciated..

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

A very stylist hotel right next to a shopping center and metro.

The room is slightly smaller than other hotels in Shanghai, so the room has adapted an open design. For those who wants to share the room with a stranger, there might be a privacy issue. And due to its design, everything is hiding inside cupboards, which makes it inconvenient to navigate or use the equipment like the kettle.

I also find that the lighting design in the room is bad, there is no master switch, before I go to bed, I have to switch off several lights individually.

The breakfast is semi-buffet style, given the limited range of food choice, I find that the breakfast is quite costly.

It is a generally good hotel given its location, friendly service and cleaniness. However this is not a hotel for those who expect the same level of quality from an international 5 stars chain.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Musesilvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments posted on TripAdvisor following your stay at The PuLi in December.

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and rest assured, your valuable comments have been taken in the spirit intended.

Our room size is very much in line with all of the luxury hotels in Shanghai and all of our rooms offer privacy sliding partitions between the bathroom and bedrooms.

My team and I hope to have the pleasure of your return in the near future.

Until then I remain,
With kindest regards

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel has a great vibe overall: modern international natural chic, with great interior architecture. It's spotlessly clean and the staff is attentive, if not overly friendly.
The rooms have an open layout with tubs in the room. The beds are very comfortable. There's room to do work in the rooms, as well as free mini bar and snacks and fruit and water.
The pool / sauna / steam room / hot tub and gym are included.
The spa is run by Anantara, which speaks for itself.
The breakfast is pricey but well worth it as it is a great mix of eastern and western foods.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randygoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments posted on TripAdvisor were very well received - thank you for taking the time to summarize your stay!

It is always a great pleasure to receive such great accolades from our guests such as your fine self.

The entire team works very hard to ensure a very high service standard is maintained - from the time you walk in to your check-out and farewell.

We are very fortunate to have such a great location with JingAn Park next door and when you are able to match this with great service, international chic, great interior architecture, comfort and all the other great points you mentioned, then you have the "total package" for success.

I hope you will give us the pleasure of returning to our hotel with an overall great vibe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,105 in Shanghai
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing