We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit amazing as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return visit amazing as the first”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Puli in late April with our two adult children. The staff and general manager made us feel very special - after long days of touring, shopping, eating - always nice to come back to the calm, tranquil Puli - soothing sounds, smells and the spa is such a treat. If we return to Shanghai we'll return to the Puli yet again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage and for taking the time to write your comments following your stay at The PuLi.

We do enjoy a very large repeat guest ratio, not only because of our hospitable and welcoming team members, but also, as you rightly put it - our location, layout and interior design; these various elements turn into a tranquil getaway when one sets foot into our lobby, entering the high wooden doors. You can feel the stress and noise from the hustle and bustle decompress immediately.

I look forward to welcome you back when your travels take you to Shanghai again and remain,

With kindest regards
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    261
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
120
384
114
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We managed to really get value for money on this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and their English was good (compared to other hotels in Shanghai).

The room truly had the SPA feel with aroma therapy oils in the air, bathtub by the window and some high quality hygiene products. Good size, clean, fresh and even some good English speaking tv channels (like HBO).

The location is great, it can be a bit hard to find though since the entrance is on the back of the building. It's really close to the subway, close to good restaurants and shops. A friend who lives here said this is the best location to stay at.

The lobby has "the longest bar in Shanghai" with some cool but pricy drinks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sj_someone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at The PuLi.

Many thanks for highlighting our team's friendliness and helpfulness and their positive English language experience - it is always nice to see that ongoing language training is paying off!

I am delighted to know that you found great value for money at our urban resort and that you appreciated the guest room feel in terms of layout, amenities and freshness.

I concur with you that our location is great, being next to the subway station, restaurants, shopping and seightseeing. That is why we have such a loyal following at The PuLi.

We look forward to your return in the near future and remain,

With kindest regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Puli and it was again a great experience. From check in to check out everything was perfect. It is not only the stylish design of the rooms, the well maintained other hotel facilities or the perfect location in Shanghai which keeps us coming back. It is the 100% attentive, kind, nice, warm, excellent service from every staff member which makes the stay so remarkable. Everbody you meet in the hotel greets you with a warm smile and does everything to make your feel at home. Besides, everybody speaks fluent English. Not a given fact, even in Shanghai. Spa and Gym are top, perfect for relaxing after a long day in the city or for a quick work out in the morning. Minibar is complementary and the selection and quality of drinks at the long bar in the lobby is great. Also the garden terrace with the big sofas is during this time of the year a nice place to chill. Breakfast tastes very good, small but fine selection of set dishes and an additional buffet to choose from. We are going to Shanghai on a regular basis and will always come back to the Puli for our stay

Room Tip: High floors have great view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluxusBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your ongoing patronage and for writing such a nice Trip Advisor review!

I am very pleased to note that your second stay at The PuLi was again a great experience.

The entire team will be delighted to read your great comments on the attentive and forthcoming smiling service delivery and attitude each and every one protraits - I am indeed a very lucky manager to have such great members who are doing their utmost to be efficient and happy in what they do and make all of our guests feel at home.

It is always nice to see that our guests take time out of their busy schedules to relax in our spa or spend some time in the gym to offset the hustle and bustle a city brings with itself.

I look forward to your return and hope to welcome you with some nice summerly weather so that you can continue to enjoy the Garden Terrace and comfy lounge sofas.

Until then, I remain,

Sincerely,
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Second stay at the Puli, and its an oasis from the busy traffic and confusing business environment of the greater Shanghai area. Always a pleasure to return to the hotel after a long days work. Spa and Gym is great, staff will do whatever they can to help with absolutely anything, and everything you need to feel at home is complimentary.
Unfortunately we had major issue with a slow connection this time, but the staff was very attentive and did what was in their might to handle the problem.
Other minus is the food. Works for a quick convenient meal but for a culinary experience; better of eating somewhere else.
One of my favorite hotels

Room Tip: all rooms are good;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravel199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for returning to The PuLi and for writing such a positive and constructive review.

Our entire team will be happy to read that they were successful in ensuring you were well looked after and that your every wish was fullfilled. They work very hard to achieve this, day in, day out.

Internet connectivety speed and access can be somewhat of a challenge when you travel to this part of the world. Certain sights are not accessible without a VPN line.

I am sorry to notice that you did not enjoy our award winning restaurant JingAn. Please know that your feedback has been taken in the spirit intended and we will take your comments into consideration.

My team and I look foward to welcome you back to one of your favorite hotels.

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've just returned from Shanghai and Puli Hotel and Spa after a 4nights stay.
Everything from check-in 'til the last minute of check-out was extremely satisfactory.
One of the largest deluxe room I've ever stayed in any hotel around the world.
Very well furnished and the best part of all is that the mini bar is all inclusive. No need to go out to the convenience store to buy drinks, water, beer, juice, coffee, snacks.
Even the room's slippers were the best i've ever seen. very comfortorable.
I also enjoyed to calm and peaceful pool and spa and also the large bath tub in our room with lots and lots of aroma salt to use for free.

I was well worth the money spent to book the hotel.

The location is awesome to and from the airport, and anywhere around the city.
The Jingansu station is right around the corner about 3minutes walking distance.
And the Reel Mall next door had some nice restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner.


Four thumbs up from me and my husband.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMDK1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review following your stay at The PuLi.

I am very pleased to note that your stay was extremely satisfactory and that you enjoyed your spacious deluxe room with its layout and amenities and complimentary mini bar. We were actually one of the first hotels to implement the latter!

It is also nice to know you were able to enjoy our peaceful pool and spa and relax from the hustle and bustle.

I totally agree with you that our location is awesome as you put it. You can literally get around by foot, taxi or public transportation to all the city's main attractions and highlights in very little time.

We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I am regular business visitor to Shanghai and now always stay at the Puli. The facilities and service are superb. It is beautifully chic without being plastic and is unpretentious. The one time I did have a complaint about problems in my room (was given a smoking room instead of non-smoking, some items like the coffee machine not working properly) it was fixed and the way this was dealt with by the guest relations team was above my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulika01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your marvelous Trip Advisor review!
We are honored that you have become a fan of The PuLi.

I am so happy that you have found the PuLi to be your hotel of choice in Shanghai and am delighted that our service and facilities are to your liking.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and friendly service delivery and I am thrilled that we were successful in achieving this with you.

I look forward to your return visit and remain, in the meantime,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was an amazingly good. I couldn't imagine any way that it could possible improve. They never ceased to surprise me (for the good) and I won't reveal how, but others who stayed here would agree. Easily the best hotel that I have ever experienced - and I have stayed in 10+ 5* hotels across the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmcke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review - thanks very much for your generous words of appreciation.

I am very glad that were were "amazingly good" as our team works very hard to ensure every guest is well looked after. They will be happy to read that their hard work is paying off.

My team and I look forward to welcome you back when you are in town again so that we can continue pampering you accordingly.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#183 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing