We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting but not five star service unfortunately!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting but not five star service unfortunately!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very beautiful hotel very similar to the Sukothai in Bangkok with water features and lovely Asian touches within a modern aesthetic. Some staff do struggle with written English, so my request for a brunch reservation for 3 adults and 1 baby seat resulted in an offer of a baby crib and a sofa bed with a recommended room upgrade for an increased price. My Chinese friend called and clarified and also confirmed that I had previously requested a blanket and did not want a duvet, and would be arriving late at 11 pm. On arrival I was told that all the blankets were being used so slept with 2 folded over duvet covers at the sensible suggestion of house keeping. Next morning was told by the duty manager that I would only receive a blanket subject to a guest who had one checking out! Informed the manager that I could go across the street to buy one for a fraction of the room tariff which got me nowhere till I stated that I would take the matter directly with the GM on the Monday. I did write to him and received a prompt and courteous response. The service was otherwise friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant and the setting overlooking the park is unique. However as this is China unless you are staying in the Peninsula,Four Seasons or Amanresorts where they have a proportion of trained staff from their hotels outside of China, any requests out of the ordinary can be a struggle. Do eat in the hotel restaurant especially the very reasonable brunch which had a limited choice of high quality produce together with individually prepared courses. They are also very helpful and tolerant of 2 year old children!

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor facing the park are spectacular similar to the views of the imperial temple fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your last stay with us. I am delighted to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are absolutely correct in pointing out that without proper English communication things can and will go awry in any organization.
We therefore place English language skills as a very high priority training module within the hotel and hold regular beginner's-and intermediate classes for our front and back of house team members. This module is ongoing and I can assure you that heavy importance is placed on this.

I am happy that you found our service friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant and that you enjoyed our food and very reasonably priced Sunday brunch.

My team and I look very much forward to welcome you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance whatsoever.

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    261
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
119
383
113
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Checked into Puli for 3d2n stay. 1st impression after getting out of a cab is that the hotel doesn't have a grand lobby. Looks more like an entrance to a spa.

Check in was a breeze. They have very nice rooms here. Good view out to the city. Bathtub by the window. Exactly what you see in their pictures.

Location is right next to the subway. Convenient to get around.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank j1ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us from check-in to room layout, grand views from the guest room window front, service and our proximate location to subway and public transportation.

I can fully emphasize on your feeling of sense of arrival/entrance when driving to our porte cochere to encounter that we do not have a grand driveway per say - we consider ourselves to be very different from the "mainstream genre" which makes us so unique and special.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when you are next in Shanghai again.

Until then, I remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I do not have anything but great things to say about this graceful, classy, peaceful oasis in the center of Shanghai. It really feels like an escape from the chaos of China. Impeccable service, beautiful rooms, great gym. Fantastic - look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor post your stay with us.

We are humbled by your words of appreciation for our peaceful oasis in the centre of Shanghai. It is indeed an escape from the Chaos as you so rightly put it.

We are glad to know that you were pleased with our rooms, the gym facility and thought that our service was fantastic.

My team and I look forward to your next visit with us.

With Kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here almost a year ago, but after visiting so many other "5 star" properties around Asia, this is by far one of my favorites! We stayed at the Puli for 10 days before permanently moving to Shanghai, and although this review is very overdue, every time I pass this hotel I want to go back! The location is next to a metro line, across the street from a large shopping district, as well as walking distance to the former French Concession area where you can find many restaurants, cafes and boutiques. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated, have excellent bathroom products, and most importantly - a comfortable bed (if you travel around Asia, you'll understand). I also should mention that the bathtubs have a great city view that makes for a very relaxing evening. Housekeeping always cleaned and replenished the room nicely, and other than one incident with a host during breakfast one morning, the rest of the staff was cordial and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here! We no longer stay in hotels in Shanghai since we live here, but we've been back to their Garden Terrace bar for drinks, and would also highly recommend making a stop there as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your lovely review on trip advisor.

My team and I are thrilled to know we were your home last year before you found yourself a residence in Shanghai.

I was very happy to note that you found our urban resort to be conveniently located in the heart of action and easily accessible via the metro.

It is always encouraging to hear compliments on our accommodations especially our bathtubs with a view ,comfortable beds and even more about our housekeeping team's friendly and efficient level of service.

Having an outdoor Garden Terrace is also a rare commodity and with the weather being so kind I could not agree more, it is the place to be. Thank you for recommending our urban resort and my team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back whenever you make a pit stop here.

With Kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baranzate, Italy
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

i visite shanghai every month for one week and i always stay at this hotel: every single detail is taken with a lot of attention, the sensation is to be hosted in a non-urban/business hotel although many italian business people stay here. I changed only twice in the last 2 years visiting once the Waterhouse on the Bund ans the Shangri la' but i was disappointed. Choose the "club room" which includes 24hrs butler, free laundring service, complimentary menu at the bar on the bottom floor and 20% discount on the SPA (must visit)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide such a wonderful review of your stay with us.

I am so happy that you have found the PuLi to be your hotel of choice in Shanghai and am delighted that our service and facilities are to your liking. Especially our Club benefits they truly represent such great value and choice. Thank you for appreciating the level of commitment to the minutest detail. The reason why we have such a loyal repeat guest ratio is the fact that we focus our energies in being guest centric.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and friendly service delivery and I am thrilled that we were successful in achieving this with you.

Our Butlers team and I look forward to your return visit next month and remain,

With Kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Ok; this is going to be my place to be in Shanghai. Perfect service excellent location and rooms. Good breakfast but expensive. Search until you find a good rate. And believe me choose and option with breakfast included. If you stay good part of the day or was here at the middle of your trip; they have a good packages for a reasonable rate for they include extra / but at the beginning of your trip or you be out of the hotel all day doesn't make sense. All you can find on your rooms bar is free or included on your rate. Definitely a luxury hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TA following your stay with us at The PuLi.

We are happy to note that The Puli will be your place to be whenever you are in Shanghai. We have some great promotions and packages ongoing as you rights pointed out and booking in advance will give you the best advantage.

I am very happy that your keen eye enjoyed both hardware and software and that the entire team at The PuLi was able to deliver.

We look very much forward to having you return in the near future and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Branded as an “urban oasis” in the heart of Shanghai, The PuLi manages to successfully achieve a feeling of serenity that is difficult to find amidst the bustle of China’s largest city. Similarly, the interior design is a departure from the collective style usually associated with conventional luxury hotels—while the hotel is undoubtedly Chinese, it could almost pass as a resort in South East Asia. This, along with a fully equipped gym, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, infinity pool, and spa helps to create a new, unique guest experience that makes The PuLi a blissful escape from an otherwise hectic city.

While the physical attributes of the hotel are impressive, it is the service provided by the well trained staff that truly sets this property apart. I found the front desk and concierge teams to be incredibly efficient and great at following up on reservations and tours. The team at the hotel restaurant, Jing'an, were equally attentive and accommodating, especially at breakfast. After spending a few weeks traveling around other parts of China with only basic Mandarin speaking skills, it was a tremendous relief to stay at a hotel with a strong English speaking staff.

Although you certainly have your choice of lovely hotels in Shanghai, I would encourage trying something different than your basic, luxury hotel chain. As a boutique hotel with a strong emphasis on service, The PuLi truly offers a rare and wonderful experience for anyone visiting China.

Room Tip: Reserve a room that overlooks Jing’An park/ Jing’an Temple (these are odd numbered rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piperstremmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I very much appreciate your comments posted on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The PuLi.

I am delighted you chose to stay at our urban oasis and I am very pleased that all our colleagues were able to deliver the high standards of quality service during your stay with us making it an unforgettable experience .

It is always gratifying to read that pretty much everything within your stay was such a success - from the hotel's ideal location, great interiors, lovely spa and superb service by the team. We lay tremendous emphasis spoken English training, so glad to see it has been fruitful.

The Front Desk, Concierge and the Jing’An restaurant team will be truly flattered with your kind words of encouragement.

All team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to our calm environment in midst the hustle and bustle of Shanghai in the near future and hope to offer another rare and wonderful experience.

Kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#179 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing