We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week in Shanghai”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanghai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CHAI Living Serviced Apartments
Ranked #2 of 778 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent 8 days in Shanghai with our two children (6 and 10 yo). Staying at the Chai apartments was a great pleasure. The view on Pudong is truly amazing particularly at night. The residences are furnished with taste. Above all we liked that the apartments are in a historical building, where local people live too. It is nothing like anonymous 4-star hotels that all look the same in Shanghai, Los Angeles, or London. Cherry on top, after 3 days Fernando upgraded our apartment to a much bigger one, which was a real treat.
The place is near a metro station and taxis are readily available to go anywhere.
You can walk to the Bund business area and to the shopping Nanjing road, just 10 minutes away.
We had a great time in Shanghai and we really loved staying with ChaiLiving.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FigariCHAILiving, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback - we really appreciate the time you took to post your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of CHAI Living and wonderful views over Shanghai's Pudong skyline from the Residence.

We are also very happy to learn how much you liked staying in one of Shanghai's historical landmarks, and experiencing a glimpse into the local culture here.

We try to make all our guests feel at home during their stays with us, so it was a pleasure for us to upgrade you during your stay.

Please come back again soon! You and your family are always welcome at CHAI Living.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for CHAI Living Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have travelled around quite a lot and have been to Shanghai many times for work. I am always on the hunt for places that are not your normal corporate hotel chain. This was perfect. The gallery/bar is a great little hideaway and I could spend hours exploring all of their antiques - very well curated! The building is the perfect mix of old and new - historic but mixed among the locals who live there ... and then you open the door into an amazing renovated apartment. They have taken a lot of care to give it a modern feel with all of the modern amenities while still maintaining a cultural feel to it. The breakfast basket in the morning was a great little touch as was the beverages available for purchase in the fridge (for a serviced apartment style residence a very good selection). Frederico was very helpful for any questions I had. I will be staying here every time I go to Shanghai from now on!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FigariCHAILiving, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that your hunt for something other than a corporate hotel chain led you to CHAI Living. The balance you mentioned that we have between the building's traditional culture and the utterly modern feel and comfortable amenities of the residence is something we pride ourselves on. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it, as well as the breakfast basket and mini-bar. It was our pleasure to host you - Fernando and the whole team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai, and helping you again with any questions you might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A most delightful place to stay in Shanghai. A perfect location close to The Bund, metro and an authentic part of the city. Local restaurant recommendation was fabulous. Watching the full moon rise through the spectacular night lights of the city from our apartment was a special experience indeed. We were very well looked after and enjoyed all that Chai Living had to offer.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa D, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you very much for your positive comments! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the neighborhood - it is definitely one of the most authentic and unique parts of Shanghai. We're very proud of the beautiful views over Shanghai's skyline from each residence, so we're very happy that you had such a special experience watching the moon rise. Again, thank you so much. We hope to welcome you back to CHAI Living again soon! For your next stay, remember that if you email us directly we will offer you the best available rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Awesome experience! I could not think of another place to stay in Shanghai. The apartment, embedded in a normal building creates a perfect environment for enjoying Shanghai. Needless to mention the perfect service and the exceptional performance of the management in all aspects of service. Whenever we will go back to Shanghai, we will stay again in CHAI Living.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treck1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa D, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and the unique atmosphere we work so hard to create. The building is one of Shanghai's most historic Art Deco buildings, and we're glad to see it had such a nice impact on your stay in this city! It was a real pleasure to host you, and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Chai living is a beautifully designed apartment, with a lovely art gallery associated with it. Whoever does the interior design has great taste. The building reception and hall way are very rough and just as previously described in reviews, but this just makes the contrast with the modern and slick apartment even more appealing. We stayed in the red seal apartment which was small but had everything you could need, the kitchen was well equipped, big wardrobes, full length mirror and they even provided umbrellas to use. The location is great a 10min walk from the bund. The staff were helpful especially when I lost my phone. Breakfast wasn't amazing but absolutely sufficient and all you needed in the morning. The only criticism I have is that perhaps some details need addressing in the apartment i.e. the socket was off the wall in the kitchen.
We would definitely stay here again, an it was a great choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jl860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa D, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation of the Red Seal Residence and CHAI Living Gallery. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the residence more than a hotel! We're also happy that you appreciated the balance between the local characteristics of the building and the modern, stylish design of the residences. The authentic experience of Shanghai combined with the luxury of the residences you described is exactly what we aim to offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I recently stayed at CHAI Living with my husband and daughter.
The stay is certainly a ‘boutique experience’ – personal service that could not be found in any of the large hotels.
The staff and management were exceptional in all aspects of service and ensured that our stay was comfortable.
I would highly recommend CHAI Living, which mixes all the elements of hotel living with the unique experience of residing in a residential apartment.
CHAI Living was our home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa D, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you! We read every review, and were so happy to see that you and your family had a great stay with us. With just fifteen residences, we always work hard to focus on each and every one of our guests, and we are so happy you felt personally taken care of, and at home during your time at CHAI Living. We're looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This place is located in the "Embankment" building, apparently a building that was used as a hospital during the Japanese invasion and has some significance earlier in modern Chinese history. It's massive, full of local families, and now this cool, super stylish B&B. Great views, great staff, a bit of a peculiar neighborhood but VERY close to the Bund area and a nice area to walk around in at night (along Suzhou River). Fantastic gallery in the building too... recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa D, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you so much for recommending us, as well as the adjoining CHAI Living Gallery. You're right - the Embankment Building, which was built in the early 1930s, is indeed very historic. In fact, it was built by the famous real estate tycoon Sir Sassoon, as the "sister" of the legendary Peace Hotel, and it has played an important part in Shanghai's history ever since.

We're glad you enjoyed your evening walks around the neighborhood! The lights along the Suzhou Creek and the fantastic views of Pudong Skyline at night really do make for a special stroll. Once again, thank you so much and please do come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,478 reviews
The Bund
Shanghai Fish Inn East Nanjing Road
Old Town
Chichen Hotel
Chichen Hotel
#3 of 778 in Shanghai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHAI Living Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHAI Living Serviced Apartments

Address: No.400, N Suzhou Rd, Zhabei Dist, Shanghai 200008, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Qipu Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 778 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range: £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHAI Living is a collection of serviced residences instead of a traditional hotel, with the combination of design gallery, art gallery and events staging. Uniquely situated within an Art Deco landmark now home to many local Shanghainese, CHAI Living offers a different perspective to Shanghai and a rare window into vast-vanishing traditional ways of life. The CHAI Living Residences are all conceptually designed apartments within the Embankment Building, offering the comforts of modern life to guests with a taste for style and sophistication. As an alternative to a five-star hotel, CHAI Living strives to offer a friendly, "family-style" approach to staying in Shanghai. We provide housekeeping and concierge services, with a member of staff on site at all times to provide 24-hour assistance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chai Shanghai Living Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing