We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour of Shanghai”

Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour
Ranked #3 of 106 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore Shanghai by vintage sidecar motorbike. Recently recommended by TIME magazine, National Geographic Traveller, Vogue or ELLE Magazine across 38 countries; Shanghai Insiders offers you the most original way to venture out and explore Shanghai off the beaten tracks while quenching your own centers of interests, might it be architecture, photography, food, art, etc. Enjoy an open-air adventure comfortably seated in the side-car of a classic motorbike. Every tour is tailor made by your insider who is an expat who has been living in Shanghai for a minimum of 3 years. Shanghai Insiders is the friend of a friend you wished you had in a city you do not know. Don't forget to ask for our champagne option!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hebron, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tour of Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I work for an airline and have been to Shanghai often. This tour is great for anyone. I wanted something off the beaten path and Sammy delivered. They gear your tour for what you want to see. We had a group of five and everyone thoroughly enjoyed our four hour tour. The best!!! Thanks to Sammy and the crew.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Lori,

Very happy we delivered to the level of your expectations, flying crews know the ins and outs of cities so I'm glad to know we showed you new stuff!

Let us know which airline you work for and I'll gladly get in touch with the person representing you guys on the grounds in SH in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    43
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Sidecar Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My colleague and I were in Shanghai a couple of weeks ago - we had a few hours to spare.
It was recommended we take the sidecar tour of the City.
The trip was awesome.. Sammy our guide was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable..
We're really glad we had the opportunity to explore the old city currently under demolition - gave us a flavour of what life was like back then.. It's a real contrast to all the skyscrapers and luxury apartments being built close by!
This experience will stay in my memory forever - highly recommend it if you get the chance to visit Shanghai..
I will definitely be back sometime next year and will book another tour!
Liz McCann

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz-Rino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Liz,

It was a pleasure to have you on one of our tours, Sammy is very flattered by your kind words!

Feel free to check out our tours in Xi'an or our longer adventures in China's most remote parts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaugneray, France
1 review
“Fun, culture, discovery all in one. Must do in shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent a few days in shanghai with 2 teenagers. Booking was very easy by email and staff very reactive. Tour was customized for what we wanted to see. We saw some very unique places in shanghai with a lot of info from our guide. Our 2 teenagers and our selves Will definitely remember this expérience for a long Time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Merci Laurent!

We love touring with teenagers as they're a challenge of their own.
making people happy is what makes us happy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Way to have an insight about Shanghaï!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Everything went so smoothly from booking, to meeting point and the actual tour !
Did a 4 hour tour with a friend, our guide was so cool. he understood what we were interested in and showed us some great places from very old Shanghai to more modern with some great stops on the way, including the best Dim Sum we had during our week there !
The bike is sooo cool like we felt transported in time !
Highly recommended !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Bali_Agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, Shane is now asking us to call him Mr Cool in the office :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our second time to enjoy the sidecar tour- it is a great way experience the city and the streets first hand. The guides were informative and gave good insight into the area through which we travelled. We were able to customise our tour according to the areas/types of places we wanted to see and to show our guests. Totally recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLS_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words: having returning guests is THE proof that we're doing it right!

See you again for a week end trip in Xian or a longer adventure in Yunnan maybe?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing