We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth It”
Review of BaoLuo Restaurant

BaoLuo Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 16,954 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Former French Concession
Cannes, France
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Baolou is a lot bigger than it looks from the outside so if they don't take your reservation (they wouldn't take ours) do not fear, the place is huge. When you get inside you pass tanks of fresh seafood. It's a fine restaurant with all Chinese clientele, partially due to the good pricing for the quality of the food. As with many Chinese restaurants, there are pictures to help guide you. We went back because there were so many dishes we didn't try the first time and all were good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank getgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    35
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More suitable to the locals”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Most of the local Shanghainese will tell you Baoluo Jiulou serves authentic Shanghai cuisine. By looking at their menu, I am sure they have modernized a bit on the dishes they serve. The price of dish is inexpensive and quality of the food is okay. However, the whole place smells like a cigarette!! If you are not a smoker and do not want to endanger yourself with second-hand smoke, suggest to avoid this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KoonT2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and local”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This restaurant was recommended by Lonely Planet. There is no English sign so take note of the address. The menu has pictures but terrible English translations. The place was busy with both westerners and locals bit we walked in and were seated without a booking.

We had the snow pea sprouts and bamboo appetiser, eggplants pancake, kung pao chicken and steamed flounder. This place is certainly good value but found every single dish sweet and/or oily.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schtef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New York
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Shanghai Food, Good Service”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This restaurant is always packed with locals. Great place for local specialties. Not expensive.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I have been to Shanghai many times as it is one of my beloved cities. It's the first time I went to Bao Luo in March,2011 though. I have read many articles from gourmet magazines and websites about it. Reservation is MANDATORY as it is a local favourite and the restaurant is located in a small and old building with 2 storeys. Foie gras is really delicious, it is served cold as appetizer with a tinge of chinese wine. The dishes are authentic Shanghai cuisine. I would definitely go there again!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BaoLuo Restaurant also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to BaoLuo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing