We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of L'otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'otel
Ranked #184 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The L'otel was amazing, the staff was helpful with everything we asked, management was very friendly and did everything they could to make our stay the best it could possibly be. Room service did an excellent job with our rooms and we never complained about anything, I will definitely return to this hotel for my next china trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJohnson1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Another name for "heaven on earth" is L'otel. This hotel has an awesome staff that is always helpful. It is a foreigner friendly hotel. The beds are comfortable, the food is amazing, and it always smells good there because it is non-smoking. L'otel is also taking care of the environment with their energy efficient light switches and showers. The management is phenomenal. If you are looking for an amazing place to stay where you can relax, eat, and experience joy, comfort, and love like you have never experienced before. Go to the L'otel!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends of awesome toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The L'otel is an amazing atmosphere and you always feel like you are well taken care of. The breakfast offered in the morning tastes delicious and the rooms smell very good after the awesome cleaning staff does their rounds.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilesA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels that really accommodated to your needs. Clean, quiet, always a pleasure to come back to towards the end of the day. The restaurant is convenient and very good. The staff is caring and even the maids are kind and respectable. This hotel is worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Staying at the L'otel was overall an amazing experience. This was my first time in China and I was extremely impressed by the quality of the L'otel. The staff was always extremely helpful and kind. They always accommodated all of our needs. The food was delicious and the rooms were extremely clean. The location is great! The rooms are quiet and there is no sounds of the traffic from the street! When I return to Shanghai I will most definitely be staying at L'otel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

L'otel is a truly amazing hotel. I recently stayed here for 3 weeks while visiting Shanghai with my friends. We all couldn't wait to get "home" every night- back to L'otel. It truly became our home away from home. L'otel is very accommodating to Westerners, which made it very nice for our long stay. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, and kept very clean! The laundry room they have available to guests makes it easy for long stays. The breakfast is good everyday, as well as any lunch or dinner meals as well. The staff is always so friendly, and very helpful. The location is a quick walk to the metro, which makes it easy to get anywhere in the city. I would highly recommend L'otel for any short or long-term trip to Shanghai! I definitely know when I come back L'otel is where I will be staying!

Room Tip: The deluxe suite is absolutely gorgeous- it is great for a family, or even a group of friends! We ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went for a conference in L'otel and stayed overnight. The room is very clean and comfortable and the food is tasty.Staff are kind and the garden in the hotel is beautiful. Best memory of retreat in L'otel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nniey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Starr Hotel
#133 of 5,159 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#1,521 of 5,159 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'otel

Address: No.385 Laohumin Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200237, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £43 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'otel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'otel opened its doors in late 2008 as Shanghai's first totally non-smoking hotel, and one of the first to seriously pursue green living. It was the first in Shanghai to incorporate live plant walls, that not only improve air quality but are extremely easy on the eyes. It boasts a garden that is organically fertilized, MSG free food, energy saving LED light bulbs, hand ground soy-bean milk for breakfast, Simmons dual coil beds and even Tempurpedic pillows, proving you don't need to spend much or look far to find this hidden gem tucked away in the hustle and bustle of central Shanghai. Family run and owned, the pervading warmth and soulfulness brings guests a sense of community rarely found elsewhere. Come, see, and experience the L'otel for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing