We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building, service great, food excellent”

ShangHai LaoZhan (CaoXi North Road)
Ranked #310 of 16,964 Restaurants in Shanghai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building, service great, food excellent”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Located 5 minutes from Xujiahui Metro station and the vast amount of shopping centres - Grand Gateway, Pacific, Metro, 66 etc., just down the Caoxi Road, you find a little of old Shanghai on the old railway station.

The building is beautiful and has lots of character - the service is really very good and food is to a very good standard. As my hosts paid, I can’t comment on the value, but I would go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mogster5287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Shanghai Vibe for Visitors”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

A great shanghai vibe when visiting Shanghai.
Wonderful old world Shanghai decor in an old museum and with an old carriage that you can book and enjoy your meal in. Very interesting experience.
The food is delicious and the service is very good.
Mid priced food (although I suppose everything is relative) but not too bad and the atmosphere makes it worth visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelG959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My friend Peter invite me to this restaurant.
We had dinner in the wagon.
Beautiful place, with strong history.
the wagons were used by the Royal family before.
The service is very delicate and the food was just amazing!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Shanghai food with Shanghai modern history.”
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

If you love the place which has nostalgia and history, I recommend this restaurant.
Shanghai Old Station Restaurant is former abbey in 19th century, beautiful French style architecture. On the yard, there are two trains( that's why this restaurant is named " Station") which were used by loyal family of Qing dynasty and by Dr.Sun's wife. If you get a table near the yard luckly, you can enjoy food and strange view of trains and tall building behind.
They provide traditional Shanhai food. Not impressive so much but okay.
Easy access from Xujiahui subway station.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomo0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“expensive and not the best quality”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

its great for a private meal but expensive. the service is good for Shanghai, but I would prefer better food than this

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ShangHai LaoZhan (CaoXi North Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ShangHai LaoZhan (CaoXi North Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing