We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Shanghai Tongji University
Ranked #2,110 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is close to Tongji University. If your business is at this university the hotel is ideal. The hotel is also close to a Subway station (line 10) and it is just 8-9 stops away from the busiest shopping street in Shanghai (Nanjing road).

The room is clean with all necessities, good value for the money. The breakfast is ordinary but provide a few of choices. The coffee is good.

The staff at frond desk is very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    60
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

One of the cheapest hotels i've found in shanghai, the room we had was fine in its interiors, but was facing some really loud external units. impossible to open the window.
The hotel isn't extremely clean, but acceptable. The breakfast is one of the worst i've ever seen in a hotel, you will skip it after the first try.
The good point is the price, which is really low for a hotel, and the position, exactly in front of the university and close to the subway.

Room Tip: high floors have better rooms, and you don't risk to face other building's heating systems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed at the Magnotel for the last month and it was very good if you want a basic room with basic necessities. Anything above the ordinary is out of the question, though. A big problem was when I was locked out of my room and went down to ask if assistance, the front desk told me to go upstairs and wait, which was another 15 minutes, and then i went down to the lobby again. Finally, someone came to open my door, but it was so annoying that it had to be 20 minutes after I asked. This also happened another time when I asked for someone to help me turn on the DVD player in my room, to which the reception responded, "if there's a DVD player in your room, then it's not the hotel's"....what does that mean? I just dismissed it, and went without a movie because asking for any assistance with anything simple is just too time consuming.

Also, this place seems to be great for tour groups because it's cheap. In the month I was there, I saw at least 5 tour groups, of at least 40 kids, come through. This wasn't so much of a problem unless you wanted to eat breakfast with your friends. Most days, I sat with random Chinese people for breakfast (mostly Chinese foods), and the waiters would stare at me when I would towel off the grease from the eggs.

Internet is okay in the lobby, spotty/non-existent in the rooms. Hotel is close to the subway, which is the most convenient thing about it. There's no gym: I bought month membership to use the gym at the Crowne Plaza ($150 USD), about a 20 minute walk away.

All in all, this place is sitting on a gold mine: it's priced cheap enough for huge tour groups to stay a long time, and, because the price is so cheap, they don't have to provide a high standard of service. Genius.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on floors 12 or above, they are nicer. The rooms below that are super cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Great location for the university. Walking distance to Metro line 10 and nice area with good restaurants and cafes.
Rooms are good sized, clean and updated. Some even a view of the downtown skyline.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkIquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The North Bund
Kingswell hotel Shanghai
Kingswell hotel Shanghai
#227 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
The North Bund
Tongji Reception House
Tongji Reception House
#2,419 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Ganghong Hotel
Ganghong Hotel
#1,331 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vienna International Hotel Shang...
#1,725 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shan...
#2,011 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Ramada Wujiaochang Shanghai
Ramada Wujiaochang Shanghai
#1,793 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Shanghai Tongji University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Shanghai Tongji University

Property: Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Shanghai Tongji University
Address: NO. 1251 Siping Road, Shanghai 200092, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,110 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Shanghai Tongji University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Superb location for Tongji University and the Metro line.2. Local cuisine three meals a day simple cafe on ground floor with full exceptional outsourced restuarant/catering on 1st floor.3. FREE EVENING SOCIAL 4.30 Pm - 6.30 Pm daily with adult beverages: beer, wine, coffee, tea,soft drinks & snacks.4.Now part of the new mid-scale hotel chain of Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotels.5. Watch the website for renovation details coming soon.6. Improved product and hospitality standards with a consistent approach. 7. East-meets-west MetroPolo Breakfast Buffet from congee to croissants.Attentive service; distinctive decor; delighting your senses; inspiring your imagination MetroPolo Hotels, now with 6 hotels in Shanghai and 20+ in eastern China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Shanghai Tongji University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing