We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Ranked #66 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here in January for three nights due to the location from our office - 5 minute walk to Grand Gateway (large mega mall with lots of upmarket shops and restaurants)

The hotel is really modern with an almost boutique feel overall, although the lounge area next to the ground floor bar was a little too dark for me (a minor point tbh). The bar is really well stocked and is very relaxing with attentive staff.

The bedroom was very a good size, with a double bed, desk, sofa etc. and came with all the required facilities - iron, ironing board, filter coffer maker (great!) TV etc. The shower, basin, toilet etc. all extremely clean and very modern and the bed was very comfortable - little noise at night, so sleeping was good and uninterrupted. The room was always really well cleaned, so congratulations to housekeeping.

Due to the hotel being so close to Grand Gateway and the wide choice on offer, I did not get the chance to eat here, although I have a longer trip planned in the year, so I will make full use of all of the facilities and check out the local area a bit more, so I can give a more detailed review.

Overall, a quite pleasant hotel, fantastic staff and booked to return for a longer stay - the proof of a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogster5287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Good business style hotel but the location is just average. Your in Xujiahui so there are some good shopping choices and restaurant options at Grand Gateway Mall, but with traffic being so bad in Shanghai, I'd rather stay closer to where I frequented, like Marriot in HongQiao Shanghai. The rooms here are nice but the bathroom only have a tub, not a shower. Rest of the room is nice. Breakfast was good but not great. The only major issue was I arrived back from going out and there were three hotel staff behind the front desk and nobody really understood English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The whole team on the executive floor is excellent but I would like especially to mention Jason Wang whose service to customers old and new is exemplary - what a fine young man and how proud of him Marriott should be

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizzybugspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed in Marriott Xujiahui for a week during Feburary. I gotta say this is a rather decent hotel for business people, extremely Convenient location, lots of great restaurants around and easy transportation. Friendly staff, clean room and comfy bed, not to mention excellent breakfast choices.

Room has transparent glassdoor for bedroom/shower, so maybe awkward for families.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowellPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed at this location for 3 weeks on business.

The facilities are very classy and crisp - especially enjoyed the bathroom. The housekeeping is well done.

Location is not far from shopping district and metro (10 - 15 min walk).

Breakfast is consistent with good range of options. Also very much appreciated the take away boxes and the coffee to go. Was great when running out the door for early morning meetings.

Only down side was no storage space to keep your clothes, either had to pile them up on the window seat, or keep them in your suitcase.

Although not necessary, the staff would call on a weekly basis to check in on how my stay was going. This was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here maybe 10 times over last 3 yrs. Only one time had any issues. I remember as above average overall. 4 in the past.
But this weekend everything is perfect. Upgraded to 2 room ( 1 bdroom) suite that is very roomy and luxurious ( more like a renaissance). They have brought up a fresh fruit plate twice.

Had the seafood buffet for dinner friday night. Quality, taste and choices have all improved (price has increased to 208 rmb)

Lounge is larger than most, with good breakfast choices. And very helpful staff.

Location is one block away from intersection that has 3+ large malls ; dozens of good food choices in each one. Train line there too, or take a taxi ( they are inexpensive in Shanghai even with recent price increase)

Downside: far from airports, but most everything is here
Remains my go to hotel in shanghai

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidB_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I spent a few days in Shanghai for business and stayed at this hotel after reading reviews. The location for me was great and I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the efficient staff. The room was spotless, very functional and quiet. I had breakfast and one lunch at the hotel and the quality of the food was great (and I am picky with food). The fitness room is functional and clean. Overall a perfect stay and I will come back next time in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieSam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#130 of 5,112 in Shanghai
318 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#393 of 5,112 in Shanghai
67 reviews
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui

Address: No.100 Hongqiao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#136 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £82 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IT'S A NEW STAY" Come and enjoy the refreshing business routine at the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! Located in the heart of the Shanghai Xujiahui commercial and shopping centre, the new Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui is the 800th Courtyard hotel worldwide open in January 2009 with easy access to all the nearby shopping malls, restaurants and bars, the old French Concession and the largest Catholic Church in Shanghai. Numerous tourist attractions are only within minutes drive or several stops by underground train. Guests can dine in the hotel signature restaurants MoMo Café and MoMo2Go. MoMo Café runs with an open kitchen, and the special "Salad and Noodle bowl" set lunch brings you a new healthy dining concept whilst our Italian executive chef presents truly authentic thin crusted pizza. For those guests who looking forward to relax and unwind, the Roman-style indoor swimming pool and 200 square meter state-of-the-art fitness center will definitely meet their needs. Stay Energized, stay focused, and stay connected with the leading hotel loyalty program Marriott Rewards at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing