We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much better Courtyard than its siblings in the US”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Ranked #66 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel is a one block of Xujiahui, one of the busy center in the chic Xujiahui district. I was impressed by the lobby which is at least a 5 star hotel lobby in the US. The room was a decent size. We were at 19th floor that had a beautiful view of the city. The hotel staff were friendly. The sleeping quality was very good (maybe because we were at high floor). The bathroom walls were glass toward the room and there weren't shades that allow some privacy. Overall, I was very pleased.

Room Tip: If you take the subway, take the exit 11 to go to the hotel. Also, it's only a category 2 hotel...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairy L, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time of stay in our hotel. Your valuable comments really encourage our related departments. We hope your future experiences with us will be continuously satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Surrounded by malls and near to the train stations makes this hotel an excellent place to stay. The French concession is just a couple of stops away while the Bund is a 20 mins train ride. The rooms are pretty good though small.
The breakfast at the restaurant has a good spread of both traditional Chinese and western food.

Room Tip: Do check out the malls near the hotel for a good shopping experience.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairy L, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Your great comments on our service and breakfast really encourage us to continue focusing on our guest satisfaction. Thank your again for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel. We do expect to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is a very nice Courtyard, much nicer than in North America. Staff is attentive and rival 5-star services. Business centre is helpful, pool is nice enough. The key to this hotel is LOCATION. You are a 5 minute walk to one of the main subway hubs in China (Xu Jia Hui), and you can easily get to Hongqiao airport/train station, Shanghai Railway, and fairly easily to Pudong Airport. You can also easily (10 mins/4RMB) get into the Hengshan road area where the bars/restaurants dot the French Concession.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhcShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairy L, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time of stay in our hotel. Your valuable comments really encourage our related departments. We hope your future experiences with us will be continuously satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was a nice hotel to stay in for the bit of time I was in Shanghai. Plenty of shopping in the area. Taxis are very cheap in Shanghai so getting around to other parts of the city from here is easy. Also the metro is very close to the hotel. Hotel staff is great and restaurant is very good for breakfast and dinner.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel was clean and new, the staff was professional, and the breakfast was very good. I seemed like there were very few restaurant choices in the immediate area. During my next visit to Shanghai, I'll probably stay closer to Nanjing Lu or Pudong district.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bostonian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Chose this hotel for a two-day events at the East Asia Exhibition hall. Hotel is not really that close to the venue (one metro stop or a short cab away) but considering most hotels around the East Asia Expo hall are outdated, plus the price of this hotel is very reasonable (around $150/night) so it was a no brainer for me.

Frankly speaking, this hotel is better than I expected (compared to most Courtyard hotels in the US). It gives you a modern, clean and comfortable feeling as soon as you walk in. I was put on one of the executive floors - while guestrooms are not super big, they are well-designed and very pleasant. You walk right into the foyer/bathroom area (there is no real bathroom so to speak) with space can be blocked off from the living/sleeping zone by two sliding doors. No bathtub in room, only a big shower/toilet enclosure but it is totally functional. Overall it is a pretty cool space.

Facility wise, club lounge use is included in the price package as a premier member. Lounge is very pleasant and provides free food and drinks. You can have your morning/dinner meals as well as your meetings here. Internet is free for all Marriott members so it is definitely a plus as well. Laundry is a bit high considering this is a Courtyard but it is Shanghai so I guess everything costs a bit more.

In all, this is a very decent business hotel absolutely suitable for a short couple days of stay. It is within walking distance to a major shopping compound (like diagonally across the hotel) and several shopping malls are nearby as well. You don't find a lot of food places (other than a hotel affiliated restaurant) around the hotel but you will find many of them and the supermarket once walking into the mall. I will definitely consider using this property again for future visits to this area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As stated before, the upgrade to higher floors is worth it since the upgrade is about the same cost as a breakfast. Excellent selection of western and asian breakfast items. Eggs cooked to order. Clean medium sized rooms. I was in 219 which has a modest view looking north. Not sure if there is a view looking east but that would be the one to try for.

Metro station (LIne 1 Xujiahui) will get you any where in the city quickly.

Hot water is very hot. Be careful when adjusting shower temp. Bed is comfortable and black out curtain is great. Even at 3am, there's enough light from the city to light up the room.

You need your room key to operate the elevator.

Staff is super (if not overly) attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Suggest getting an east facing room if possible for the view. My room 2129 was silent and clean but...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#130 of 5,112 in Shanghai
318 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#393 of 5,112 in Shanghai
67 reviews
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui

Address: No.100 Hongqiao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#136 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £82 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IT'S A NEW STAY" Come and enjoy the refreshing business routine at the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! Located in the heart of the Shanghai Xujiahui commercial and shopping centre, the new Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui is the 800th Courtyard hotel worldwide open in January 2009 with easy access to all the nearby shopping malls, restaurants and bars, the old French Concession and the largest Catholic Church in Shanghai. Numerous tourist attractions are only within minutes drive or several stops by underground train. Guests can dine in the hotel signature restaurants MoMo Café and MoMo2Go. MoMo Café runs with an open kitchen, and the special "Salad and Noodle bowl" set lunch brings you a new healthy dining concept whilst our Italian executive chef presents truly authentic thin crusted pizza. For those guests who looking forward to relax and unwind, the Roman-style indoor swimming pool and 200 square meter state-of-the-art fitness center will definitely meet their needs. Stay Energized, stay focused, and stay connected with the leading hotel loyalty program Marriott Rewards at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Xujiahui Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing