We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character, comfort and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #47 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great character, comfort and service”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

After a long flight from Australia I stayed with my husband for just one night in Shanghai and at the Langham. The hotel honours its history and the 'glory days' of Shanghai through many and varied period pieces along the hallways and film footage running on the home channel in the room. This certainly helps guests to appreciate some of the atmosphere of old Shanghai. There are beautiful furnishings throughout and the biggest bath I've ever seen in hotel room. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly in all areas and the breakfast superb. My introduction to Shanghai could not have been better!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    242
    51
    14
    7
See reviews for
90
235
68
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We loved the Langham Yangtze. Stayed there for three nights. Service was superb. Staff went out of their way to satisfy my picky parents and anticipated our needs at every point. The location just off People's Square was very handy to museums, the metro and Nanjing Road shopping and about a 15-minute walk to the Bund. Thanks to a lucky upgrade, we had the best possible rooms. Definitely one for a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJPMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I have a preference for boutique hotels when I travel. If I can, I try to stay away from large scale conference business hotels. The Langham is a true treasure, everything about this hotel is luxurious, from the grand deco hall to the perfection of the rooms and the incredible service of the staff. From letting us check in early without notice (at 7am instead of 2pm), to incredible service for dry cleaning, fixing those hems without us need to ask, to a perfect dirty vodka martini. But after a long trip having a wonderful bath with all the necessary items including a loufa brush, quality scrub and bath salts was just all I wanted. The incredible kindness of the staff when we arrived late at breakfast and let us have coffee and then proceeded to spoil us with food and croissants fresher than those I had in Paris a few weeks ago! We had trouble leaving the hotel, since our room was romantic, with a warm feeling and felt just like home. The Langham is truly worth it and it made our stay in Shanghai perfect! The location is extraordinary as well.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We spent two nights here with my husband and friends. Honestly, we expected more from a 5 star hotel. Both rooms were extremely small and dark, we did not feel the comfort at all. In addition, on the first night I wanted to flush the toilet and the water came out and there was a disgusting flood in the whole restroom. Somebody came to fix it but can you imagine that in a 5 star hotel you are just sitting and waiting for the repair instead of getting a new room..?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisztaV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FO-Management2011, Front Office Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
Please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your comments have been shared with our associates and immediate measurements and steps have been taken to avoid the recurrence of such incidents. Hope you may grant us the opportunity to show you that this lapse in service is not the norm here.
Again, I hope these experiences do not deter you from visiting us again, we are looking forward to welcome you back. If there’s anything I could assist you with, please drop me an email, angela.li@langhamhotels.com
With best regards,
Angela Li
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at the Langham for 3 days, and it was wonderful! English speaking staff, kind, courteous, helpful. Very clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Great restaurants. Excellent location! Within walking distance to Nanjing Road, The Bund, Shopping, Restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2AdventureTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Unfortunately I couldn't experience the full amenities and facilities of the Langham Yangtze Shanghai, however what I have seen made a lasting impression. It is maybe not the most high tech luxury property but it's well thought-out design and quality of the furnishings and bathrooms definitely convinced me. The location is right next to famous, nanjing lu Shanghai's pedestrian shopping mile as well as the people's square which houses the shanghai museum and opera so both in easy reach by foot. The bund can be reached in a short 20min stroll down nanjing lu. Only inconvenience was the a/c noise but still got a good nights sleep eventhough too short as I had to be up early for a meeting the next morning. All in all a very decent place and recommendable for those who want to don't want to just see the ueber-modern shanghai but experience a little time travel back to it's routes in the last century.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anvers
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

we were for 5 nights in this hotel. Absolutely fantastic... great location on the corner of Nanjing road in the center of town, great service and wonderfull rooms.
We will for sure go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#39 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,615 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,105 in Shanghai
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,004 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#201 of 5,105 in Shanghai
448 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing