We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posh with slick service in terrific location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Posh with slick service in terrific location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Located just off the People's Square and a block from the Pedestrian Mall, the Langham Yangtze is close to a lot of foreign company offices in the Puxi area - so excellent for business. Also an easy (straight line) stroll, about 15 min, to The Bund. There's plenty of restaurants of all levels (cheap and cheerful to flash and expensive) within easy distance. On the same street as the The Bund Microbrewery pub & bistro.

All that, however, is almost irrelevant. The stand out of the hotel--once you've got used to the exotically plush foyer, neck-deep bath and cricket-field-size bed--is the service. Not only the attentive, friendly service that Asia, in general, excels at; but by the second day, all the doormen and desk staff had memorised my name. I don't think I'd done anything bad enough to warrant being the subject of behind-the-scenes-discussion of the staff. I think they must make the effort to do it for all guests staying more than a couple of nights. I was SO impressed, especially given the size of the establishment.

Oh, and wonderfully, you can open the windows and get fresh air in the room (well, as fresh as air ever gets in Shanghai, and it comes with the horns and traffic racket; but better than living in air-conditioned dehydration).

I think the rack rate is very expensive; it's certainly quite luxurious. I got a what I reckon is an excellent rate--given how nice the hotel is--online.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words on our service will be shared with the team. I note your comments on the use of your name in our interactions with you. One advantage The Langham Yangtze has over its competitors is its size, at 96 rooms our size allows us to provide personalized service and not treat you as a room number; as such we try to know each guest by name.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    230
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
84
215
66
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Third stay in hotel. Moderately sized hotel, great location in Shanghai near Nanjing Road, People's Park, Shanghai Museum. Service is exceptional; rooms are modern and extremely comfortable; had king-size beds on all stays; upgraded to suite on last stay and it was wonderful. Breakfasts serve both western and Asian food, everything made in house (breads, pasteries), good strong coffee. Staff very courteous and helpful. LLC/Washington,DC

Room Tip: Ask for Terrace floors--floors 6 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Langham Yangtze.

We appreciate your kind comments on your stay, we are very pleased to have welcomed you back and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights, and booked a family package and was upgraded to a Art Deco Junior Suite.
It is really a boutique hotel (not a large hotel), but conveniently located next to Raffles City Shanghai and Nanjing Road.

Loved the room! It was huge, spacious and welcoming. Bathroom was large too. However, I think the room lacked maintenance. Felt the room was a little dark, and upon closer inspection, i realised that 3 of 6 light bulbs of the light in the middle of the room was not lit!

Variety of amenities and toiletries, however, only con was it was not refilled by housekeeping. Eg : Ran out of sugar, milk etc on the 2nd day, even though there were still tea/nespresso capsules. Had to ask for it when we saw the housekeeping lady at the doorway.

Our package included breakfast. If not, will not recommend paying for it. Little variety, and didn't find the food that tasty.

Kudos to 2 staff - Joey and Toby.
Joey was really friendly and professional when we checked-in. When I just mentioned my name, she knew exactly which type of room I was booked in. Toby (believe from concierge)provided excellent help when I was enquiring about a place I wanted to go too, checking on the internet etc for me.

However, one thing i was not very "comfortable" with - on our last day, we wanted to visit a temple that was supposedly quite famous. At the main door, i merely told the staff we needed a cab to get to XXX (i didn't ask for any advice or suggestions as i have been to Shanghai a few times, and was quite certain where i wanted to visit). However, he appeared a little "pushy" and tried to talk us out of going where we wanted, saying it was "not fun to visit".

Also, the 2 doormen kept asking me which room I was from, which I didn't understand the purpose of this. Admit I might be "thinking too much" and a tad skeptical and wary from horror stories I have heard, so couldn't help but wonder if they wanted to do anything "funny" in my room while I was out. So was not very comfortable answering this. I just smiled and didn't answer.

Even for "security reasons" while taking cabs, they should only require to know my destination, time i left the hotel etc, but room number?! Also, even when i got back to the hotel, and was alighting the cab, they were like "are you from Room ###??!" (which was wrong, but still puzzled me what's the purpose of knowing at all?!)

FYI - I speak fluent Mandarin, so it was definitely not a language or communication issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay, it is important to us.

We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our central location and we will certainly follow up to ensure that our maintenance is first rate as well as monitoring closely the consumption of the amenities to ensure we meet your requirements.

I am sorry you felt that the breakfast offering was not to your liking, our new chef is working hard to ensure we provide the freshest of food that matches the tastes of our guests, we will continue to do this and welcome any specific requests you may have.

I note your comments on Joey & Toby and I will share this with them, I also wish to outline the intent of the team in so far as requesting your room number. As you have noted, Joey & Toby used your name and it is our desire for all our team to use guest names where possible. The doorman requesting your room number was simply to ascertain the necessary details to enable the use of your name. If we have made you feel uncomfortable, I apologise, and will certainly look into how the team communicates with each guest.

Once gain, we appreciate your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Central location, huge clean luxiourous bathroom and comfortable bed. Has distinct (good) Langham property smell. Only issue was the front desk; when we asked for information re getting to Hongqiao airport, travel time, subway opening time, etc., the guy provided information that was completely wrong. He appeared to be guessing at the answers rather than checking or knowing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GChan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for staying at The Langham Yangtze.
Thank you for your feedback and I apologise that the correct information was not provided for your transfer to Hongqiao airport. I will certainly review this with the team to ensure that their knowledge level meets the requirements of our guests.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel is in a very nice location. The overall feeling of the stay was memorable. I like their room and they decorated with the traditional items from an old Shanghai. We also had a drink on the second floor, it give us a good space to chat and very relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words on your recent experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We are staying for a week in the Langham Yangtze, and it is everything you could want in a hotel and more. The rooms are wonderful - great big beds and wonderful bathroom, with a huge bath. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Absolutely everything is made easy, and the concierge service was really efficient.

We are on honeymoon, and we took the Rose Package, which includes spa treatment, free internet in the rooms, and free drinks in the hotel bar. The hotel is an art deco masterpiece, and is wonderfully appointed. Right next door to People's Square, close to the Bund and Nanjing Road , the location could not be better. I've stayed in other hotels in Shanghai before, but I think I will be returning to the Langham again and again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a balcony room - balconies are small and there is no view from them. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andykanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words on your recent experience.

We are so pleased that we were able to assist in such a wonderful time in your life, that of your honeymoon. Our Rose package is very popular for couples with its inclusions and I will certainly pass your comments onto the concierge team.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel was a lot smaller than I imagined so it really did have a more boutique feel about it.

However, the hotel is great! The rooms feel really luxurious and all the small extras make a big difference like an umbrella in the wardrobe for if it's raining. Amazing slippers and robes, masses of toiletries and so on.

Our bathroom was ginormous with the biggest bath, a separate shower area, separate toilet area all contained within the one bathroom. We also had a really large terrace that spanned the whole width of the room, although it would have been great to have a small table and chairs out there.

Finally, location was really good. Ten minutes from the Bund and One minute from Nanjing Road, Peoples Park and the subway stop (Exit 14 of Peoples Square station as it is the biggest subway station ever).

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Langham Yangtze.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#40 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#39 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#77 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing