We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #33 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Awesome experience.Breakfast is very tasty.Location of the hotel is very convenient...all the shops and restaurant near by 15 min walk to the bund,Good services provided by local & foreign staf.The room is so warm and clean.This hotle is a romantic place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lone l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your kind words on your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    235
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
89
223
67
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Have spent weeks in varrious Shanghai location and really like this one since it is close to bund, Xintanti, People Square (so if your a runner one of the only places you can even come close to running in the city) and many other locations. After four different stays have yet to find a bad room and staff has always been helpful. So if your not going on the cheap and want a nice location this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room if you want to see the street but just remember its Shanghai so stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We are so pleased that you enjoy our location and service and thank you for staying with us.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

awesome hotel in downtown shanghai. super convenient location.. all the shops and restaurant near by. 15 min walk to the bund, outstanding view.
love the hotel! highly recommended.
breakfast is very good. but unfortunately no swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supersinopec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Yangtze.

I appreciate your kind words on your experience whilst staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Warm welcome at reception in a grand lobby. Good services provided by local & foreign staff - a young lady - Tetske van Loon who was very helpful to sort out the transport & touring we should do in our limited short-time stay in business. Location of the hotel is gorgerous where we can visit the top highlighted scenery in Shanghai......

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Yangtze.
Thank you for your comments on your service experience and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Tetske, she will be thrilled! I am glad you were able to enjoy your time in Shanghai and visit its many attractions.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our stay at the Langham in Shanghai. We were warmly received by fellow Dutch lady Tetske van Loon, which helped us get around quite easily. Super rooms, wifi, great bathroom. Great Location in center city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leemreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Yangtze.
Thank you for your kind words on your service experience and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Tetske, she is an asset!

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is the fourth time this year we have travelled to Shanghai and fourth time at the Langham Yangtze - there is nothing to compere in this huge city. We were welcomed like family returning home after a long stay away! This hotel is luxurious, immacutely clean, and the position is next to perfect with the subway 20m from front door, taxis always available, and walking distance to Nanjing West Rd, People's Square, the Pedestrian Mall and the Bund.
The Concierge staff are exceptional and no query is too difficult! The ambience is old world charm with service to match - just surf the website and it really is like the photos.....only with the subtle scent of pink roses everywhere! The Australian General Manager, Mr Russell Cool, is hands on and very approachable and he leads his team by example. As a result all staff have a friendly approach and you are greeted by your name at all times!
I cannot recommend this hotel and Mr Cool's team highly enough.
We will return in 2013 and it will be a pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmortimer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Mrs. Mortimer,

Thank you for your kind words, they are appreciated.

It was lovely to see you again and thank you for such a glowing reference on our concierge team, they will be absolutely thrilled to receive such feedback.

I look forward to seeing you next year!

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

In any country I visit, as long as Langham is there, I'd try my best to stay with them. Shanghai was no exception and I finally made it here. I actually rejected staying at my conference hotel but decided to stay loyal to Langham and boy was I rewarded.

Everything from the moment I alighted from the cab after a red eye till my departure was beyond excellent. I noted the signature fragrance that reminds me that I'm in good hands. But this time, it was exceptionally good.

The property is extremely charming and while I spotted the big, swanky Langham XTD, I felt the heritage, charm and art deco gave the hotel a tad more soul, with a 5 star feel.

Small nitty gritties, there were. But I shan't mention as it's really non issues. I do feel they could do more with the balcony, like flower bushes but maybe its difficult to keep the pests away with the gardening.

Conveniently, the train station just outside is arterial and links 3 lines (I didn't realize till the last day!). Sights of the bund, trendy Xintiandi are all a short cab ride away.

Based on the value for locality, service, feel, this is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed. Thanks be to this hotel - I have a permanent address in Shanghai.

Room Tip: This hotel is at a corner so generally not much of a view. A terrace would be the next best thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTLSHA, General Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear JW,

Thank you for your comments on your stay.

We are so pleased that The Langham brand is for you and I am glad we were able to deliver a memorable experience. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the team as they try very hard to provide a level of service that exceeds guest expectations.

Thank you for staying at The Langham Yangtze and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Cool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#34 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#36 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing