We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 nights of a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #33 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
The Village, Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“10 nights of a great stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This small boutique hotel is perfectly situated in Shanghai. Convenient to many of the central sites. Staff very attentive to needs.

Breakfast is amazing. Rooms well maintained. And the bed - ahh. Perfection. Strongly recommend this hotel. Stayed 10 nights and could have stayed much longer.

Room Tip: Ask for 7th or 8th floor. We overlooked People's Park on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear stephrab,

Many thanks for the review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your 10 nights stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    235
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
89
224
67
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is third time at this hotel but ownership has changed since last year and there are some very small but annoying changes. Still wonderful art deco style and front desk desire to help but little things presage a decline. Nespresso machines are gone from upgraded rooms. Towels are still fluffy and thick but now a little wear seems acceptable. Japanese restaurant used to be outstanding but is now leased space and should be avoided unless you are Japanese as they have a separate menu only for Japanese. Unless you ask, you will only find ONE coffee per day in your room. Internet very disappointing as signal in my room was very weak for wireless and plugging in the cable did not seem to help. Used to be an A++ in my book, now an A-

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear PhiladelphiaPfw,

Thank you for this review and the 4 stars. We appreciated your comment on facilities issues which kindly reminded us to pay more attention on the details that may easy to overlook. We have already forward these problems to related department and will soon fix them. Again it was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Nice building & classic interior, located minutes from both people's sq & nanjing east rd metro stations!

Comfortable room, just a little warm, i guess due to the season, the hotel seems to only have the heater.

Sometimes there is no one at the counter but someone will come to attend to you pretty fast. The bell boys are also very friendly and helpful.

A pleasant surprise for leaving a birthday cake in my room on my birthday!

It is a nice cosy hotel, hopefully I get a better facing the next time I am here. Really convenient & value for money for a nice stay in Shanghai.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Adeline L,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of our hotel. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your birthday and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip. I am so glad I stayed here because the moment I walk into my room. It was eye-opening experience. Art Deco room on the 4th floor. It is large, especially the bathroom. The bed is very comfortable. Also the hotel service is very nice too. Every item inside the room is an art piece. The only issue is the TV which I think is not really in displaying full HD. But maybe it be the setting of the TV or the broadcast signal is not full HD.

Location is quite good. Just 100m walk to metro exit and 5 mins walk to Nanjing East Road.

Their breakfast buffet is in the Ciao dinning room. The food is average but the service is real good. I would love to go back to this hotel if I travel to Shanghai again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Abdul R,

Many thanks for the review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times. Although not officially a Langham now, you'd be forgiven for not noticing. Great location in Shanghai. Room was excellent with a spectacular bath. Only negative was the room being very dark. Breakfast was good. Had a drink at the bar but it closes at midnight with little ambience. Fantastic room rate so will stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BlakeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear BlakeyG,

Thank you very much for this amazing review of our hotel. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I have stated here for years, when until April it was a langham hotel
To be honest I have stayed twice since it lost the langham name (not sure if sold or just trading differently) and its been a great peaceful hotel both times but a little faded vs its langham days
The rooms are beautiful but little things like broken sockets or chipped furbiture are getting more noticeable and the cheap rebrand such as stickers over the L for a Y I assumed was temporary (when I stayed end April) but now seem permanent
Food was ok for breakfast and room service
Great great location
Rates much cheaper since not langham so prob being unfair!
Would and will be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oggybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear oggybags,

Thank you for this review and the 4 stars. We appreciated your comment on facilities issues which kindly reminded us to pay more attention on the details that may easy to overlook. We have already forward these problems to related department and will soon fix them. Again it was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvik, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is only 200 m from the Nanjing Road East (shopping) and 200 m to Peoples Square. But still the was no noise through the night (good windows). The room was very nice and with a lot of space in the bathroom. The bed is the best we have ever experienced in a hotel and the blanket was more than large enough for both. If we ever go to Shanghai again we would choose the same hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at 3rd floor and though that would be to low because of noise. But that was no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Arne H,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of our hotel. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#37 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing