We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel so far in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #67 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Having tried and tested various hotels in Shanghai, this certainly ticks a lot of the important boxes very comfortably at a reasonable price for a 5* hotel. Great for both business and tourist customers, as the location is fab. Standard Art Deco room is spacious and clean, with a balcony. Walk-in shower with a wonderful deep bath tub (enjoyed the most-after long days!)

Staff were pleasant and friendly. They even helped book my train tickets to travel around China.
Room-servce was good and offered a turn down service.

Breakfast was ok @ 198RMB, to be very honest i have had better and a bit on the pricey side for the grade of food.

Metro-People's park is 50m away. (40mins on the green line to Shanghai Hongqiao train and Airport stations). Raffles shopping mall opposite from one side, with good dining options, if you like quirky contemporary shanghainese food. All opposite from the other side is people's park, great for a stroll on a sunday day. Great museums also situated within and around, MOCA Shanghai and Shanghai Museum.

If you want a stress-free visit, you can't go wrong with the Yangtze!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, it can get a bit noisy in the evenings if you receive a room facing the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLuu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear JLuu03,

Many thanks for the review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is the finest hotel property I have ever stayed in on my world-wide journeys. It has more personality, after all it was the setting for a Doris Day movie musical, and is such a classical boutique hotel you will love it.
The rooms are so cozy and the balconies are grand. Make sure a nd ask for a great room with a balcony.
i skipped all meals there. The restaurant was scandalously high. There are plenty in walking distance. Any type you could want. I liked the Irish Pub nearby.
Enjoy this wonderful place. I'm jealous!

Room Tip: I always ask the hotel registration this question - "Would you give me the room you would want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thebestlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Docdojo,

Many thanks for the review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Fantastically located hotel in the heart of Shanghai - just around the corner to the main shopping street Nanjing Lu. Opposite it is also the People's Park which is worth visiting on the weekends for the highly interesting 'marriage market'. Sadly that's only done on the weekends so I missed out on seeing it.

If you don't get breakfast included in the hotel (which I didn't have) - you can always pop opposite to the Raffles Mall and get breakfast from the foodcourt below (Toastbox and Breadtalk have some excellent Singapore style pastries/food)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Chang T,

Many thanks for the review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great value for money. The hotel staff was very helpful and provided great suggestions on activities. The hotel is conveniently located, and clean. The breakfast was not very good and the selection was poor. However the Chinese restaurant is very good and the bar has good cocktails.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemmenmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear lemmenmeyer,

Many thanks for the review and 4 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed with a work colleague for a change as we usually stay at the Longemont when in Shanghai.
Really enjoyed the 2 nights spent in this boutique hotel. The decor is fabulous, Art Deco, and well maintained. Rooms are large, comfortable and very well equipped. We didn't eat in the hotel but both the restaurant and in particular the patisserie looked good and were popular.
I had a massage which was good but not great. Don't think the spa is often used because when someone is having a massage there's no one on spa reception as staffing seem to be kept to a minimum.
The only issue is that getting a taxi can be a bit of a challenge as the hotel, whilst close to Nanjing Road is on a small side street without many passing cabs.
If you are looking for a smaller, quieter stay in Shanghai, in a hotel which is different from the many modern decor establishments and which is close to Nanjing Road and within walking distance of the bund then the Yangtze Boutique Hotel could fit the bill. In particular I would recommend it for couples as the rooms are nicely decorated and some even have balconies to enjoy a drink while watching life rush by in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Some have balconies which are a nice addition and unusual in Shanghai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevengallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear stevengallen,

Many thanks for the review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This small boutique hotel is perfectly situated in Shanghai. Convenient to many of the central sites. Staff very attentive to needs.

Breakfast is amazing. Rooms well maintained. And the bed - ahh. Perfection. Strongly recommend this hotel. Stayed 10 nights and could have stayed much longer.

Room Tip: Ask for 7th or 8th floor. We overlooked People's Park on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear stephrab,

Many thanks for the review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your 10 nights stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is third time at this hotel but ownership has changed since last year and there are some very small but annoying changes. Still wonderful art deco style and front desk desire to help but little things presage a decline. Nespresso machines are gone from upgraded rooms. Towels are still fluffy and thick but now a little wear seems acceptable. Japanese restaurant used to be outstanding but is now leased space and should be avoided unless you are Japanese as they have a separate menu only for Japanese. Unless you ask, you will only find ONE coffee per day in your room. Internet very disappointing as signal in my room was very weak for wireless and plugging in the cable did not seem to help. Used to be an A++ in my book, now an A-

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear PhiladelphiaPfw,

Thank you for this review and the 4 stars. We appreciated your comment on facilities issues which kindly reminded us to pay more attention on the details that may easy to overlook. We have already forward these problems to related department and will soon fix them. Again it was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,856 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,222 in Shanghai
624 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#58 of 5,222 in Shanghai
252 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#138 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £104 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing