We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #41 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were in Shanghai. You really can't beat this location- right in the heart of the action and only a few feet away from the subway. Hotel was beautiful and service was great. Toby, the concierge, was very helpful. Also, breakfast buffet was delicious with lots of options! Overall, would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The staff convinced us into upgrading to a suite when we arrived. They had a promotion that included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Rabz_CA,

Many thanks for this review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    241
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
90
229
68
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Absolute luxury. Since we first stepped foot in the door we felt totally spoilt and surrounded by exquisite service and details.
The bar has an astonishing glass ceiling, given the whole atrium a sense of grandeur.

Rooms are comfortable with the most enormous baths in the ensuites

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Travellingbear44,

Many thanks for this review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

A smart boutique hotel with corridors decorated with the most fancy ladies goods of a bygone era
The ambiance could not be more stylish, the room big,well decorated and confortable, the bathroom in blackgranite was hollywoodiesque, and everyday a small pink beautifully decorated chocolate box found its place over the bednight table Excellent quality toilet items and best breakfast ever.
And of course the location could not be any better.Just so very close to the People Square and magnificent museums, very easy stroll to the Bund and subway line number1 across the street.
A very fine japonese restaurant if you fell exhausted to dine out and lovely art decor setting
A great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinarego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear marinarego,

Many thanks for this review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our Art Deco room was clean, beautifully decorated, quiet and of an adequate size, but very dark and with a view into other inward facing rooms. Location of the hotel was great (although forget about trying to get a taxi on a Saturday night; hop on the metro instead), but breakfast was substandard (coffee was horrific) and wait staff followed us around the buffet suspiciously. We would return, but would book a different category of room and wouldn't bother with breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank saywhatsreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear saywhatsreal,

Many thanks for this review and 4 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Yangtze Boutique for a week for his birthday. The location is excellent; easy access to the metro and many sights. The staff is excellent; they were very accommodating and helpful for many requests. We are light sleepers and the hotel was very quiet. I loved that. I actually slept well in a hotel.

My reason for a 4 rating instead of a 5 is that the hotel is expensive in my estimation and is not a 5 star hotel. I equate 5-star with opulence and this hotel is not opulent. It is very nice and comfortable and well maintained and well run, but you will not feel like a king or queen in this hotel. You will be happy though.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, which I definitely got. As a result, we did not have a view. I assume th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Kellie M,

Many thanks for this review and 4 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you and your family during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms were super clean and tidy, plenty of space. The en-suite had a Jacuzzi bath with a built in sound system and relaxing mood lighting. It also feature generous toiletries and a steam shower. The staff were suburb. The location is excellent, all main attractions are a short stroll away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear 2013nz,

Many thanks for this amazing review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have never stayed in a hotel like this one. When you just enter you can feel an amazing scent of dry ginger - the particular Longham aroma. I fell in love with it!
The rooms are outstanding! Everyday we had a small gift from the hotel - great 'kisses' candies and fresh roses.
The rooms are made in 30s style, an old chines song was playing when we have entered the room. And it was not annoying at all. It was great.
The hotel has fantastic SPA and Japanese restaurant.
The breakfast.....the best hotel breakfast EVER!!!!!!!
The hotel location is very good too! It is just in downtown where the most of attractions are, it is closed to the opera building.
When I am in Shanghai I stay at that hotel.
Highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhyssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Rhyssen,

Many thanks for this amazing review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,576 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#45 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,002 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 5,069 in Shanghai
812 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#62 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,247 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing