We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #31 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Laveno-Mombello, Italia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I chose this hotel mainly for its central location and it was a hit! Very conveniently located, just a few steps to People's Square Metro Station and a couple of minutes walk to Nanjin Road. The personnel was friendly and the room (I booked a superior) was immaculate and very confortable. I also liked the idea that the hotel is relatively small and not one of those high rises that are everywhere in the city, it made me feel more human, very cozy. Fast complimentary Wi-Fi, I booked a flash promotion so the price was extremely competitive. Should I return to Shanghai, I would have no hesitation to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelaniaMela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear MelaniaMela,

Thank you very much for this review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our great pleasure to serve you during your stay here and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    235
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
88
220
67
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in June for 2 nights them for 3 nights. The location is just right for transport, the peoples park metro is straight across the road, 1 block to nanjing road walking street, loads of restaurants of all persuasions within easy walking distance, and an Irish pub around the corner with a middle of the road band from 9pm.
The hotel front door staff were excellent and helpful in every way, a credit to the hotel.bar staff were also very good. The only downside was that some of the staff at reception were per functionary at best, whilst others were very good, it depended on what shift was on. The concierge , mr ZHang was at all times helpful, I booked train tickets through the hotel and when I arrived all was in order.
Rooms were large and well appointed, bed was very comfy.
I certainly recommend this hotel and will stay there on my next trip to shanghai.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank toptraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear toptraveller14,

Thank you very much for this review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our great pleasure to serve you during your stay here and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've been to Shanghai three times now and this has been the best hotel I've stayed in there. I loved the art deco décor and the central staircase and stained glass ceiling was quite a centrepiece - also a great way to end an evening with a drink sat in one of the alcoves around the top of the staircase. The room was very nicely furbished and the hotel is right next to People's Square station (exit 14) so very easy to get around from. The only downside for me was the quality of the restaurants there - I ate in both and had better meals out elsewhere, and it's noisy because of the location and the constant horn beeping, but it's a great place to base yourself and you have to expect the noise.

Room Tip: There were a few moths in my room and I seem to remember another reviewer mentioning this before, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatFitz_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear CatFitz_London,

Thank you very much for this review and 4 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our great pleasure to serve you during your stay here and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a 9 day stay in Shanghai and staying at the hotel.
Before I booked the hotel. I asked for photos of the disabled room as I have had previous experience in Asia when my ideas and the hotels of requirements for disabled are quite different. These were sent quickly and were very clear as to the facilities.
I have uploaded my own very poor photos.
The position of the hotel is perfect for a short walk to Nanjing Rd and People's Square. Also the Metro station which I couldn't use as it is not very wheelchair friendly but having said that, taxis are just so cheap (45 min trip from airport - A$25, first 3km anywhere - A$2.50) and very easy to get - I preferred the station wagon type as I found them easier to get in and my lightweight fold up wheelchair easily fitted in boot.
The staff at the front of the hotel were SO helpful, polite and couldn't do enough. They helped my daughter with my wheelchair up the 2 small steps at the front of the hotel every time. They spoke to taxi drivers in Chinese so no problems with destinations as few taxi drivers speak good English. They also spoke good English and were happy to give required information when we asked.The hotel should be proud of the way the Concierge staff represented them at all times. Congratulations should be passed to them.
Check in was quick and smooth and any queries throughout our stay were handled quickly and efficiently.
Our room (suite really) was designed with features for disabled and was HUGE with a separate small room for wardrobes etc and ironing board. It was spotlessly clean.
The bathroom was again very large with plenty of room to maneuver a wheelchair. The basin was a bit hard to reach from a wheelchair but I used the taps over the massive deep bath. I could not see in the mirror from wheelchair but a smaller mirror on a stand was provided and there was also a full length mirror n bathroom.
The toilet had rails either side and the roll in shower had a shower chair provided and non slip mat. The hand held shower was good pressure and no problem with hot water.
As I wasn't able to use the bath, I couldn't watch the wall mounted TV while in it!
The turn down service was welcome every night.
The only small negative is that the sheets were not changed daily even though I did not ask for them not to be. I would have preferred that.
We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.
After a good deal of research on hotels in Shanghai with disabled facilities, I can say that I was very pleased with my choice.

Room Tip: Ask for room with disabled facilities if you require it - I think you will be pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPARKLE953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear SPARKLE953,

Thank you so much for this amazing review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our great pleasure to hear that our facilities and service really impressed you during your stay here. We would love to share this view with all our team members, and just can't wait to have you back again during your next visit to Shanghai in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The situation of the hotel is very good, just near Nanjing lu and People square, it's convenient and easy to find a taxi there, which is usually hard.
the rooms are nice, and quite big.
the view from my room as not that good but maybe it's because it's a standard room.
the lobby of the hotel is very dark and not that big... there is a long corridor before arriving at the desk. The staff was not very friendly except the man at the door who helped me translate my addresses in Chinese.
Overall, it's a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC-trotteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear AC-trotteuse,

Thank you very much for this review and 4 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our great pleasure to serve you during your stay here and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you have no great desire to stay in a hotel on the Bund then this is the hotel for you! Given we had lived in Shanghai some years ago, I knew the location would be perfect for our needs. The hotel is a few steps from the metro (and which is so easy to use), short walk to People’s Square, around the corner from Nanjing Road and a 15 minute or so walk to the Bund.
Every effort has been made to restore the hotel to its original 30’s décor – and done extremely well! Rooms are a very good size and so too are the bathrooms.
We had breakfast included in our room rate. Breakfast was plentiful – enough western items for my husband and Asian for me!
Some minor issues which have been noted in other posts. Reception was very slow when we checked in (late, around 11pm) and we had to rephrase a question regarding our reservation a couple of times before we were satisfied with the response. Also agree with other posts about bar staff being slow and simply disappearing. Very strange also that the bar does not open until 5.30pmish in a 5 star hotel! A little extra training for some staff would, therefore, not go astray.
These staffing issues were contrasted, however, by knowledgeable concierge staff who couldn’t have been more helpful. They are a fantastic asset to the hotel.
We didn’t eat any other meals at the hotel but please see my review of 1221 Restaurant – fantastic, inexpensive place to eat good local food.
Definitely stay here and I doubt you will be disappointed. Try asking for an outside room on a high floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear oztraveller52,

Thank you so much for this review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. Meanwhile, we appreciated your comment on service procedure issues which kindly reminded us to pay more attention on the details that may easy to overlook. Again it was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We loved our 5 night stay at the Yangtze Boutique. We ended up upgrading to a suite and were so happy with our decision. The room was comfortable, well decorated, and we loved all the space in the bathroom. It wasn't necessary, but it was a nice change while on vacation to have that much space. The breakfast buffet had good options. It definitely didn't lack in variety and I loved the fruit bowls that were already prepared. The location was excellent. This is right at a metro location and the lines that passed through this station took us to pretty much every place we needed or wanted to go. It was even convenient to reach from the hotel. We took the Maglev and the metro and came right out at the hotel (I think it was exit 14 in the station that pops up by the hotel front door). We were a short walk from the Bund and had plenty of choices nearby for food. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Melinda B,

Thank you so much for this amazing review and 5 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our great pleasure to serve you during your stay here and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Property: The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing