We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #27 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The location of this hotel is exceptional. Walking distance to nanjing road, the historical district and across the road for, the ferry. The subway is a little farther but still reasonable.

The stay started poorly with a mixup in the rooms, and we had to be downgraded for the first couple of nights. We had a studio, which was still super spacious and extremely well furnished. For the last two nights of our four night stay we were upgraded to a suite, (higher level than our original booking) and hence the original mistake was rectified smoothly. The transition to the new room exceeded expectation with baggage automatically there and an easy room key swap while we were away. I was very impressed. Exceptional service.

All staff spoke English very well.

Both rooms are spacious and boast a contemporary interior design. The views are another thing. Not sure if you can beat the view from this hotel on the bund. Going to sleep watching the lights of the pudong financial district was definetly an experience.

Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kieran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed three nights. We had a corner room with stunning river views. Service was impeccable. The restaurant was very nice and breakfast was excellent. It was wonderful to stay in this quiet and sophisticated hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband has booked this hotel randomly. It turned out to be one of the best of our stays! Located on the Bundt, the hotel is within a short walking distance from main historical buildings, and also - from Yu' Yuan gardens and same subway station on line 10. Le Suites has a very elegant, based on both Western and Asian minimalism interiors. A very charming place! Enjoying views of Huangpu river from that 1960s, like in "Mad Men" cozy recliner, with feet touching original, old fashioned hard wood floor had a fantastic feeling! On the other hand, rooms are very modern - master control panel, two ab. 32" flat screen TVs, IPhone charger by the bed, high - end "Illy" coffeemakers. Lots of bottled water provided, too, which we both much appreciated after walking outside in +36 C hit.Outstanding service by hotel staff and most of members are fluent in English. We avoided lots of hassle purchasing tickets for river cruises, performances, and even train tickets through our concierges. Overall, a wonderful stay! Sincere thank you to the staff members!

Room Tip: Rooms with river view are worth every penny spent on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After traveling pretty much everywhere in the world I have finally found my favourite hotel.
Located in the Bund (get the Bund View rooms), the location is fantastic, just a short walk from Old Town and a short cab ride to the French Concession area.

From the moment we walked into the hotel we felt at ease and were treated very well. There is something about the rooms that makes you feel entirely calm and relaxed, ZEN. The beds are super comfortable - you don't want to have to leave them!! The bathrooms are very clean and nicely designed... and the toilets had some interesting features! The rooms are kitted out with awesome tech, from the mood lighting to the entertainment system.

On the second day we saw a number of very well dressed people getting into a lift at the front of the building - we hadn't even realised that there was another, entirely separate, lift. So we ran upstairs to our room changed and found ourselves in this amazing bar - Horizon Bar- with (almost) 360 degree view of the city, it was by far the best night we had in China!

The breakfast and the Lounge snacks are pretty nice too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-extreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are on our 3 day vacation in Shanghai and found a gem of a hotel in the Bund area! We stayed at Les Suites Orient hotel and we couldn't be happier! The location is great. We had a room overlooking the river and you can see the Pearl Tower from here. Our room was very modern with amenities like water, slippers, free internet, free breakfast and free 24 hour lounge service. The staff were very helpful and courteous! Special mention is to be made to their concierge Ayumi! She was very helpful in printing out all the places that we can go to so that we can show it to the taxi drivers. She took the time to explain the different sights that we can see in Shanghai. I will definitely come back to stay here again!! I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Book W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a really lovely hotel - beautifully designed with very smart interior design. The views from floor to ceiling windows in the spacious rooms were stunning. Technology was impressive too - blinds and all lighting controlled from bedside. Even outdoor temperature displayed in bathroom. Within walking distance of restaurants and bars on the Bund. Only minor complaint would be no bar as such. You could get drinks served to you but service could be slow and patchy.
Overall would recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel far exceeded my expectations - service was impeccable (with the exception of some of the guys at the front door who ignore you when you ask politely for a cab in Mandarin then grudgingly get down to it when you ask them rudely in English).

Location is fantastic, right by the bund (get the bund view rooms if possible, but best to get some further down the right corridor since mine was partially blocked by the building in front) and if you have meetings in Jing'An, Chang'Ning, etc. it's really easy to get to via cab ride since the entrance to the YanAn highway is just around corner. It's really easy to flag down cabs here and all the cab drivers knew the location of the hotel.

Got my room upgraded so it was really quite large and spacious, extremely clean and everything was well thought of and provided well. I love how conveniently located the main controls, and ipod docks were placed by the bed. The coffee machine with Illy pods in the room is awesome too!

Snacks provided 24/7 in the lounge area is a really nice touch and the breakfast while not as comprehensive/good as what I got at other hotels but was still quite adequate.

This hotel is certainly my fave along with The Puli which is slightly more expensive and design wise still remains one notch above this hotel.

My only small complains: Just a note though, if you're sensitive you noise - I could hear the traffic even though I was on a high floor and I really wish the windows were cleaned more frequently as all my photos of the Bund didn't look good due to the stains all over the window.

Room Tip: If you get a bund view, make sure it's more towards the right of the corridor else you may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thislittlemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#50 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,867 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#104 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £97 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing