We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be something wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #27 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent location...yes. Excellent pricing...yes. Convenient location...yes. Rooms with stunning views...yes. Helpful staff...yes. Cookies and shortbread at 4am...yes. Free breakfast that is varied and tasty...yes. Clean, stylish, comfortable rooms...yes. Hand soap in room at arrival...NO! That's all I could complain about and didn't get the chance as housekeeping was there in four minutes with a bar of soap. Hate to show my base enthusiasms but the hotel has Japanese toilets with washing action and gentle air drying...sorry, to mention this, but it was a treat!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ggobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your great review on almost all aspects of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai; it is always great to hear our guests enjoy their stay with us.

We are appreciative of your comments. To make guests feel at home, we provide bar of soap in guestrooms, while in public area hand soap is available wherever needed.

We do however appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again should your travel bring you back to Shanghai.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Location on the Bund with a nice view to Pudong skyline is just perfect. We booked a river view suite and it was really worth it. The rooms are large enough, nicely furnished and comfortable. The Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a nice atmosphere in the Hotel. We have also thought about other similar Hotels in Shanghai but location wise and for the price, we think this Hotel is definitively one of the best choices.

It is rather expensive. There are a few things we have been a little bit disappointed. First and foremost it was not clean as one would expect from such a Hotel and the price. Furthermore the rooms are already a bit old and would need some renovation.

Room Tip: River View Suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CI31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for providing us your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you like the location and service of our hotel, and for the problems you mentioned, please accept our sincere apologies for not exceeding all your expectations. We will look into the issues and make all the necessary improvements that are needed.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and bring you a better experience.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

But .... no bar, no place to smoke, no pool, good for business less for family stays. Get Bund view, other views are not so nice. Beware of energetic pimps outside, .... while you are smoking ;-). Plenty of taxis available, Bund walk across the street.

Room Tip: Get Bund view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelCornelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing such a nice review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the luxury and convenience of our hotel. However, it is unfortunate to hear that your stay with us was not fully up to your expectations, due to our limitations as a boutique hotel. Though our gym on 9F and smoking rooms are available, we'll try making improvements on the issues you mentioned in the future.

Your feedback is precious for our consistent pursuit of perfection. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you in the future should your travel bring you back to Shanghai.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Situated ideally opposite the shanghai ferry this is a top class understated hotel. service is what you pay for and the minimilst decor add to the classy feel. all rooms have a view of the river although ones at the end look more up river than opposite the pudong skyline. breakfast buffet was included and was comprehensive. tea, coffee and cakes free in the lounge from afternoon onwards. well appointed rooms with nice gadjets such as electric blinds and japenese toilet.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Ideal location overlooking the Bund and less than a walk to the water. A very quite, clean, European style hotel. The East-West breakfast is more than .adequate. There are several charming, small seating areas around the dining room and on the reception floor offering snacks ,(sweets and fruits) and coffee and tea. These are available 24/7.
This truly is an undiscovered gem and well deserving of Trip Advisor's 5 star rating.
Elaine Pierson

Room Tip: Stay upper floor for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emg123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Due to a mistake in reservation and after some tiring negotiations at around midnight, we were upgraded to the semi-presidential suite at the 21st floor, overlooking the Bund and facing the beautiful skyline of Pudong, on the other side of the river. Simply no words for the view. Be sure to book higher floors. Good breakfast, nice staff. Would go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziopao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We are appreciative that you chose Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai for your stay in Shanghai and are also delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay with us.

Still, we do apologize for the unpleasant experiences you have encountered at the point of check-in, your feedback is very important to us and it has been shared with corresponding departments to make sure improvements will be made.

We hope to have the opportunity to meet you again in the future.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. Great location on the Bunde. Staff was very pleasant. Rooms are very comfortable as is the beds. Great view from the room if you have a river view. Worth the money. Breakfast was excellent. Nice selection of East-West food.

Room Tip: Definitely get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcopolofl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,849 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £73 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing