We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with excellent view and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #25 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I recently came back from Shanghai for a holiday trip. This is not the first time I went to Shanghai. I know the night skyline is breathtaking, especially hotel around the bund. We search hotel with that kind of criteria, Hyatt at North Bund is nice but it is too expansive, Pudong side, I stayed at Shangri-la before, it is also not cheap. Westin is a choice, but you cannot see the bund or river from the hotel. We found this hotel called Les Suites Orient. I think it is about 3 years old, wifi is free but not in Hyatt, Westin or Shangri-la. Furthermore, there is complimentary 24 hours snack and coffee at the 3 floor. When we went up to our room, it is very big. There is a modern rocking chair facing the bund and the Pearl Tower at Pudong side. On the PuXi Side, you can see the bund and the old building that make Shanghai so nostalgic. This is a very cool hotel, their deco is modern and simplistic but with wood as the main furniture setting. I would definitely recommend my friends to check it out. I would definitely stay there again the next time I go to Shanghai.

Room Tip: For people who want to see both side of the river, I think only 2 room have the view. One side with...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakutae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your great review on almost all aspects of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai.

It is always great to hear our guests enjoy their stay with us, and we are glad your in-depth hotel research beforehand was rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and providing you with another memorable stay.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
There are newer reviews for Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We chose this hotel because of the views of The Bund - the river - and across to Pudong. This was a great choice – the hotel is perfectly located with the most amazing views – and you can spend hours watching the endless stream of river vessels - mainly low, black, powered barges; and many ocean-going vessels as well. These never-ending streams of boats give Shanghai a real vibe – reflective of the commercial energy of modern China.
We organised an airport pickup and were met by a white-gloved driver who efficiently escorted us to the BMW and drove us direct to the hotel. The hotel reception is on level three; the ground level entry usually has two staff members in attendance waiting to assist guests with taxis and baggage. Reception staff are professional and super-efficient and speak good English – as does the very helpful concierge. Our room on the 11th floor had amazing views of Pudong, The Bund and the river. Initially I thought a higher up room would have been preferable, but then appreciated that at level 11, it still afforded great views, but also was low enough down to clearly see the people walking on the Bund. I can’t adequately describe just how amazing the views are from this hotel. The tariff of the hotel is more than justified just for the views. Also advantageous is the proximity to the ferry that shuttles across to Pudong – immediately across the road from the hotel. Guests are also in easy walking distance to YuYuan gardens and the various sites in The Bund area. Taxis are also easily available in front of the hotel.
The room we had was a Bund deluxe – which is capacious with two large windows facing The Bund and across to Pudong. The super king-size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious with good quality products supplied; and included a sophisticated toilet and a television. The room had a comfortable two-seater couch, a recliner and desk swivel chair. The room also had a good quality coffee maker with the coffee inserts topped up each morning by the maid. Breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in the restaurant on level two. Everything is buffet style but also with an egg chef. We are vegetarians – so our options were somewhat limited to one hot item – varied each day, baked beans or some sautéed vegetables - could definitely do better for vegetarians. Various breads and baked goods, toast, fresh fruits, juices, hot beverages were available.
During the day and in the evenings, guests can help themselves to hot drinks and cookies in the comfortable lounge area on the same floor as reception. The hotel has numerous interesting eclectic artefacts and objet d’art sprinkled throughout the hotel that adds to the ambiance.
If you are coming to Shanghai and want to be in the thick of the city adjacent to The Bund with million dollar views of Pudong – this is the only hotel to stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 1105
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhayHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Situated on the bund, across from the ferry terminal, there isn't a better view.
Around the next corner is restaurants such as Goodfellas, lost heaven on the bund, further up the bund, is Unico, Colgreco, and Jean Goerges.
Reception is on the third floor, and was prompt, the room was lovely with a great view, tv radio, great, a nice touch is the gin bar.
Breakfast was ample, but maybe needs more variety.
Some junior staff at the breakfast need to be more proactive, and also not touch guests.
Lounge is a nice touch, and probably needed some English papers, and magazines.
Gym was quite adequate.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank DOCWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedbacks and suggestions.

We are appreciative that you chose Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai for your recent stay; and we are also delighted to know that you love the location and hotel atmosphere, as well as Le Lounge. We however regret for failure to let you know that English newspapers are available in many places; next time our staff will be more than willing to assist you on that or whatever needed.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future and bringing you our best service.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Panoramic windows, view to the main bund of Shanghai, comfortable and home-feeling rooms, bath room with window as well.
Rooms equipped well, including iron place.
During the day is possible to take a cap of coffee with delicious sweets - is free.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaYanchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really want to give Les Suites Orient a perfect score, they were exceptional on many fronts, if I stayed here for one night I would have but noticed a number of annoying things during the course of our stay. We booked a Shanghai Deluxe for 6 nights and a Shanghai Studio for 4 nights (to allow for visiting guests staying with us). Instead of bogging down with the details, I'll just list the things I thought were high and low lights to our trip:

- The Shanghai Deluxe is tiny but has the best view, it's a corner room with views to both the bund architecture and bund river. The Shanghai Studio is larger but doesn't have much of a view. Most larger and more expensive rooms have views to the river only.

- This stay was for our honeymoon, the hotel concierge kindly gave us a happy honeymoon cake during the first night of our stay.

- Rooms are ultra clean and stylish, some of the best toilet utilities and vanity kits I've ever seen in a hotel. Heated toilet seats is the best! I can sit on it and fall asleep. Vanity kits are high quality, especially the shaving razor.

- Front desk, concierge and housekeeping services are exceptional, however kitchen staff lack the same courtesy.

- Breakfast buffet has some variety but is quite small and very average. Breakfast room is also too small to cater for weekend head counts. On Sunday we were in the lifts leaving the breakfast room, we heard another guest comment (exact words): "Breakfast was like a dungeon, so many people and nobody ever leaves."

- I always enjoy a good workout wherever I go, the hotel's treadmills and bikes were fine but their resistance machines requires more maintenance. Half of their resistance machines were broken and the other half were not well oiled, this was a huge disappointment for me.

- Complimentary fruit bowl replenshied daily, five fruits per day, great way to stay healthy is a meat dominated city.

- If living on the river side, ship horns are pretty loud and can wake light sleepers (like my wife), recommend hotel to put in double glazed windows.

- The climate control doesn't work very well, heating have trouble going above 21 degrees celcius and even at that temperature it still feels really cold (definitely not 21). Luckily the hotel was able to provide additional (single sized) blankets.

- Staff are quite fluent in speaking English.

Room Tip: Go with Shanghai Deluxe for best view (even better than the larger rooms).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you like the location and the sufficient facilities of our hotel; and for the problems you have encountered, please accept our sincere apology for not exceeding all your expectations. We will look into the matter you have mentioned and make all the necessary improvements that are needed.

Your feedback is very precious for our endless pursuit of perfection. Thank you again and We truly hope to have the opportunity to meet you again in the future.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thank you to all the staff who made the first ten days of our first trip to China so pleasant. Our son lives in Shanghai and know the hotel has a good reputation for its personal touch. We were upgraded because we were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We were also presented with a celebration cake on our first evening. A call to housekeeping after a spilt G&T soaked the duvet and the housekeeper was up in five minutes with a fresh duvet. Nothing was too much effort. Loved our room and it's view of the Bund. Loved the heated loo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naerume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing such a fantastic review.

We are appreciative that you chose Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai for your 40th Wedding Anniversary. We are also delighted to know that you love the hotel atmosphere as well as the service provided. Your compliments will be shared with the team and we look forward to seeing you again and providing you with another memorable stay.

P.S. Happy Anniversary, may all happiness attend you.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and chose this hotel because of the location and the good reviews on here.

Must have some of the best views in Shanghai. You can sit in the bath and gaze over the river at the Pudong financial district. The rooms are very well equipped and comfortable.

Breakfast buffet is excellent with lots of choice. A nice touch is the lounge with drinks and snacks available all day.

Staff are polite but sometimes not overly helpful. Perhaps this is just typical of China.

I would not recommend the on site restaurant. The food is average and the service very slow. We waited about 30 mins for a club sandwich.



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for providing us your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you like the location and facilities of our hotel, and for the dining experience you mentioned, please accept our sincere apologies for not exceeding all your expectations. We will look into the issues and make all the necessary improvements that are needed.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and bring you a better experience.

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,009 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#117 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £117 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing