We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #20 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
penang
1 review
“Excellent staffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent staffs they have especially the concierge by the name Osiris Huang and front office staff Kanan. Osiris got my ticket to the badminton open ready even before I am in shanghai! As I don't speak and read Chinese they has helped me with all my bookings, train, taxis, flights and ways around shanghai with the metro. Room has one of the best view shanghai has got. They could improve on the breakfast though. Limited choice. Excellent internet facilities they have in the lounge too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laipheng168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to see your compliments and will share with our team. And we also ensure more attention will be paid to make breakfast better.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    344
    69
    23
    17
See reviews for
211
610
132
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is well located on the Bund ..
The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable.
Unfortunately the rooms are not very soundproof. You must not be sensitive to noise. Every morning at 6am, you can hear the horns of ships and the traffic of cars ..
Otherwise the staff is pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast is very good, but you must be on time .. as soon as there is a lot of people, there is nothing on the counters and the team is struggling to manage the replenishment of food ..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you like the location and the service of our hotel; and we want to apologize for all inconveniences that you have experienced. To improve guest experience at breakfast, we’ll try adding more staff to better meet all guests’ demand.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope you could give our hotel a second chance should you return to Shanghai in the future.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roblin, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd hotel that we stayed in on this trip. The first was the Wyndham and was chosen by others for it proximity to the FHC. The second, the JCMandarin was chosen by a family member for its proximity to their residence. They both had a great facade & Lobby but that's where it ended. We chose Les Suites Orient on the Bund for their Trip Advisor rating. We have not been disappointed. We were upgraded on our arrival since our room was not ready. The staff has been efficient, friendly and cordial. The amenities, rooms and services have been "top drawer". When we come back to Shanghai this will definitely be at the top of our list as a place to stay. There is no facade necessary to pull people in off the street. The quality of the hotel exists on its own merit. In fact, that is one of the nice things about this hotel, the reception is not at street level, but is located on the 3rd floor. Thanks to the managers and staff for providing an enjoyable stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review.

We appreciate that you chose Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai for your recent trip to Shanghai. And we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to provide you with another “top drawer” experience.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is the second stay here and got a room on the 22/F with excellent view of the Wang Pu River.
Location was probably what we looked for when booking the hotel. But once here, you'll enjoy much more the style and the service. Pieces of artwork with traces of historical Shanghai. Spacious lounge on the 1st for free coffee and snack, for all guests, not just the executive rooms! Staff are professional and helpful, must have been well trained by international management.
Price is not cheap but worth every penny when compared to the chain hotels on Wei Hai Road.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your repatronage and your great review.

We are more than happy to see your appreciation of our style and service, and it is always great to hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Of course we loved the view of the river and it was fun to sit in the bath and look across to Pudong, enjoy the lights at night and watch the movement of boats. Its location on the Bund is wonderful but, as another reviewer has pointed out, one drawback is that it is quite a walk to the nearest metro station. Our room was very well serviced with a fruit bowl replenished daily. We thought breakfast was good but there is limited seating and you might have to share a long table with others. The staff were all very good and helpful, we much enjoyed our stay and, if we ever return to Shanghai, we would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ideal to have a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Les Suites Orient is a waterfront hotel thus pitifully we don’t have metro stops one step away, yet we have a ferry station just across the street for your convenience. We do however appreciate your feedback and look forward to being of service again in the future.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Some luxury hotels seem to charge luxury prices then charge again and again before you get the full experience. Les Suites Orient provides the whole package and is worth the price. The reception staff are polite and efficient and the concierge is speedy at whistling up a taxi when needed. The room was very nicely arranged, large and comfortable. I had a Bund Deluxe room, the view along the Bund in the evenings alone was worth the small extra cost. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was a walk through en suite with nice touches such as the whole of the large mirror being heated (not just the central portion) and having a weather station telling you the temperature outside. The coffee making facilities in the room are superb (a capsule espresso machine) with complimentary fruit and plentiful bottled water provided. I couldn't connect to the free wifi in my room, I am sure if I had asked that would have been rectified but it didn't matter, and I didn't pursue it, as there is a comfortable guest lounge with coffee and nibbles available throughout the day and free wifi and computer access.
The breakfast buffet was good, not extensive but quite adequate, though they would benefit from a few more coffee machines in the dining room since it got a little inefficient at that point.
I had asked for a non-smoking room and it actually was, unlike elsewhere in China.
Les Suites is very well located at one end of the Bund, offering a charming walk into the shopping area, and convenient for the ferry terminal over the river to the financial district.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_Suites_Orient, Manager at Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your great review on such many aspects of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and the sufficient facilities of our hotel; and please be assured whenever possible our team are always willing to assist and promise you a perfect stay. We look forward to seeing you again should your travel bring you back to Shanghai.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Love this Hotel! Feels like home...
Beautiful river view! Bed is super comfy. Toilet seat is warm with cleaning feature, Mini bar is a BIG WOW! Generous fruit basket, Illy coffee machine and fresh lemon for water!!! Phone charger, pipe music... Everything within arm's length.

Over looking the Bund, the cosy executive lounge is a peaceful place to relax. Plus point, complimentary coffee, tea and pastry for all hotel guests.

Helpful?
Thank SunshineIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Property: Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing