We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sincere, honest and friendly Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #16 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sincere, honest and friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have just completed a business trip where I stayed at both Les Suites Taipei Ching Cheng and Shanghai Orient. Having supported the Taiwan Les Suites for the past ten years and this being my first visit to the Shanghai Location and I was apprehensive but intrigued to compare after reading some of the negative comments in Trip Advisor.

Let me dispel all the myths from the negative Charlies, this hotel is superb. The staff was so helpful it was embarrassing; I cannot understand why people try and nit-pick tiny details to complain about. And as for the language issue, there isn’t one, for those who complain, get a life and live a bit …or stay at home!

I won’t repeat all the positive remarks made by other reviewers about this excellent hotel, except to say they are all true.

If you want a private, calm home away from home Hotel atmosphere you cannot find better than Le Suites Orient (actually it may be better than home!)

I don’t know if it’s really fair to compare the two hotels but for those interested, both are equal in service and breakfasts but Shanghai has bigger and better rooms, better public areas and of course a fantastic location right in the heart of the Bund and $10M views

Finally as with most consumer products today the big difference is service and the service at Le suites Shanghai is sincere, honest and friendly. Thank you to all the staff for a most enjoyable stay

Room Tip: High room has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    335
    68
    22
    16
See reviews for
205
593
128
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I opted for a Shanghai Suite for the view and I think it was worth it. The two rooms were large and comfortable - a separate living area with well thought out coffee - tea and minibar. Bedroom also had a step down sitting area looking over the Bund. Bed comfortable. The remote next the the bed let you pretty much control all the lights/curtains/music and temperature of the room which is nice as well. The bathroom was nice with a large soaking tub with TV and separate shower (rain shower, or hand held sprayer) with plenty of pressure. Just a couple things - even though I would hang my towel up on hook because it wasn't necessary to wash every day - they would switch it out with a fresh one. They have the "green option", if you leave it on hook, reuse, leave on floor or hamper and they will exchange, but they would always exchange. Also- internet, though free in rooms was not always fast, and in the public areas was very spotty if it worked at all. Business center was nice and lounge serving small bites throughout the day.

The location and views are great. The furniture is a little aged and some of the laminate is peeling, but it did not bother mee too much. Staff in lobby was attentive and the breakfast choices for the two days I had breakfast were nice. Service in the restaurant was pretty good, with minor exceptions. Concierge was good - but the maps provided to a restaurant sent me walking for over an hour though the restaurant was less than 10 minutes away. It was a great way to see the city and arrive, finally, at my destination hungry. The whole area feels safe to walk around.

I would definately stay here again - it's a great starting point to explore the Bund area and Shanghai.

If Tripadvisor let me give it a 4.5 I would definately rate it at that.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade - see the Bund and Pundong
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryHauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

stayed there for a night before heading back to london. i had to say, this was by far the best experience i had in shanghai. good service, quality accommodation, on the bund, classy business hotel that has got everything a business person asked for. will definitely give it another go when i return to shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is deceptive from the front. Unlike most of its larger, well-known competitors, the entrance is underwhelming, sparse and quiet.
Once inside, an elevator takes you up to a simple lobby. This is where everything changes.

The staff are warm, genuine and efficient. I arrived before noon, fully expecting that I wouldn't be able to get a room until the 3pm check in time but they accommodated me immediately.

The room is a decent size with everything you could possibly need and some things you wouldn't expect. Highlights:
-Heated toilet seat and built in bidet.
-rain shower
-huge bath sheets and thick facecloths
-decent toiletries
-magic TV in the bath
-Central control pad for EVERYTHING accessible from bed
-bowl of fruit upon welcome
-whole lemon for tea

The only negative was that my non smoking room had housed a recent smoker. I mentioned only briefly to the bell hop who brought up the luggage and to my surprise the manager on duty called to see if she could sort the smoke issue right away. She asked that they be given the opportunity to treat the room for several hours rather than moving me to a different room because she didn't want me to lose my great view of the river. I was so impressed that she was proactive instead of waiting for me to complain. In the end, they couldn't quite get the smell out and offered to switch my room but ultimately, the view was too good to give up.

Breakfast was decent with a wide variety of foods to suit any palate. Only complaint about the food is that good coffee can't be found and there doesn't appear to be room service.

The location is right across from the River with heaps of nearby restaurants and shopping. This is a great boutique hotel and excellent value for the money. This hotel will be my first choice in Shanghai from now on.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BethRJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Me and my husband were looking for a hotel with a best view of the Hwangfu River area. This was the first visit to Shanghai, and we had only 2-night vacation. We booked "Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai" for a few reasons.

First, the bloggers said its river view was one of the greatest in the Bund area. The result was much better than expected. As we entered the room, we could find three big windows facing the Pudong Area with highest buildings of Shanghai. We could spend all day just watching the river view.

Second, we could book the suite room at discounted price(which was non-refundable). We stayed at 1608, which was the best choice! As we entered the room, we could see the desk and the comfortable sofa by the window. And then we found the separate bed room, bathroom, bookshelves, closet and the sofa facing the window. We enjoyed the view by sitting on the sofa, and lying on the bed. 2 mineral water in the bathroom, 2 more on the drawer aside by bed, 2 more in the drawer with the illy coffee machine. I enjoyed the lungo every morning. The complimentary fruits were set everyday. Shower gowns and the slippers are serviced. too.

Third, we heard the snack lounge which we can use 24 hours a day. The lounge was wide, and tranquill, has many separate tables near the big windows facing "Pudong Area". We could enjoy teatime, reading, and resting at the same time.

You can just walk to the Bund area in a minute, and the ferry port is just in front of the hotel. We walked to the Italian restaurant of Jean Georges, too. (Only 5 minute walk) The concierge was brilliant in foreign languages, too. We also enjoyed the morning buffet.

Only one thing you should think about beforehand is that the hotel is not near the Metro. Yuyuan station (line 10) which is the nearest was about 15~20 min by walk and the pedestrian street to this station is Not really clean and even scary in the evening. I'd suggest take a taxi to East Nanjing Street station to take a metro.

Room Tip: Higher floors wth the river view would be the best choice! They told us they are renovating the insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a room on the 11th floor with a view of the Bund and the river. This was truly a luxury hotel with standards of décor and fittings to match. Everything worked as it should. The bed was a very comfortable super king sized double. The room was quiet and we heard no traffic noise. The hotel gave us a letter speaking of refurbishment noise from the upper floors, but we heard nothing. Wifi speed was poor for a hotel of this standard.

Service in the restaurant and at reception was impeccable, though perhaps a little austere; all the staff we met spoke reasonable English. We had good recommendations for dinner in local restaurants; reception booked Shanghai Grandmother for us, which proved to be an excellent, reasonably priced choice (booking essential). The hotel has a restaurant, but we didn’t use it other than for breakfast.

Whilst staying in this city, the Shanghai Acrobatics is a must-see. This is an amazing show, featuring many talents, including conjuring, comedy and juggling, that go well beyond acrobatics.

Breakfasts were first-rate, with a wide variety of both Western and Chinese cuisine. Pastries, cakes, fruit and coffee/tea is all available free of charge just off the lobby, at what appears to be all hours.

This is a modern, contemporary designed hotel that matches the Pudong skyline and has a feel that fits well with Shanghai. We wandered round the city at night and felt absolutely safe.

Prices advertised on the web sites seem very reasonable for this quality. We would be very happy to return here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here and really enjoyed it. The location is perfect as the bund is on your doorstep and buses trains and ferries only metres away. The only downfall for me was the air conditioning which seemed to not work. Luckily it was bearable and we still enjoyed the service, the fantastic meeting room with constant pastries and coffees anytime of the day. The breakfast buffet was also well done with a good selection of foods to cater for most tastes.

Room Tip: There is no pool, nor spa, though the gym has good quality equipment, we had a room facing the bund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Property: Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing