We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i would like to learn the way(s) they motivate their employees to be so committed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #16 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“i would like to learn the way(s) they motivate their employees to be so committed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We are impressed by the staff of this hotel...from the front desk to the restaurant to the concierge...they have really impressed us...

Teresa at the front desk was excellent. She was at work on New Year Eve (not a good shift) but that did not slow her down. She helped us to book a table despite the late notice on New Year Eve and was very friendly throughout our stay. In fact, the way the entire front desk rushes to open the lift door whenever we need to leave the hotel with our kids was impressive! Excellent!

Joseph at the restaurant was also excellent. He was at the lounge late on New Year Eve but that did not bother him...he was cheerful and friendly. He was on duty again first thing on New Year Day and he was at it again - cheerful, friendly and helpful. He even served us 年糕 that is not on the manual.

Eric at the concierge was also very helpful in explaining direction to us, ensuring we have proper address written in Chinese, etc

The view from the Bund facing room was also second to none. We had a very good view of the fireworks on New Year Eve, a beautiful unobstructed view of Pudong and Pearl Tower and we can watch all the people walking around the Bund on New Year Day...

We totally enjoyed ourselves and highly recommend that you try them out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nklo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    335
    68
    22
    16
See reviews for
205
593
128
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

My first trip to Shanghai. I know there are many lovely hotels there, but I really think this is the best city hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere. The room and bathroom are so well thought out. Fantastic shower and bath, heated toilet seat! The beds are superb. There are little touches like in-room nespresso machine, and weird and wonderful coffee table books. We looked straight over the Bund.
The staff were delightful (eg kept breakfast open late for us). The hotel is right in the centre on the Bund.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clazlapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Great service, amenities, ambience, location, and awesome room!
If Les Suites can maintain this high standard, I'll definitely be staying there again when I visit Shanghai next time around.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonian803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat in India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

After several Shanghai business trips we had reserved Puli for a family trip. Trip Advisor ratings encouraged us instead to gamble on Suites Orient, which FAR OUTCLASSES the well known five stars. Why? 1. LOCATION. Directly on the Bund, our fabulous 18th floor corner room had panoramic, mesmeric views up and down the Huangpu. There is no better sightseeing location and no more romantic view. 2. SERVICE. Globally best ever. Instant room service. Our own non-working DVDs replaced by those bought by staff. Staff member walked with us 10 mins to guide us to a local restaurant. Gifts and special breakfast for kids, every day. 3. FACILITIES - state of the art room; modernist architecture, outstanding breakfast. 4. PRICE If this is still the astonishingly low $300 per night for 4 nights we paid, you have got an incredible bargain!!
Always intriguing to read others' experiences; all desk staff we met were fluent in English and anticipated our questions. Breakfast was good international standard (we did not eat dinner). Room service quality was good, not outstanding. Only one improvement, the light switches take some mastering but housekeeping will be there in an instant to guide you.
None of our Shanghai friends had heard of Suites Orient, which means, book now because it is still, fortunately for you, undiscovered!! If you are new to Shanghai rest assured this hotel is located exactly where you want to be - one of the most romantic strolls in the world, along the Bund, is one minute away; the best restaurants and nightclubs five minutes walk; the old town ten minutes, the French Concession a ten-fifteen minute cab ride. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaquesatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Really, there is nothing else to say but perfect......but here goes.
It feels like the best of Milan mixed with the best of New York, apart from the added benefit of the stunning view. You probably don't get this view from all rooms, but it is sensational. The reception, corridors and lobbies are beautifully designed with traditional objects and art pieces well displayed in a modern setting.
The rooms (we had two) are incredible. There is nothing lacking, nothing to criticise, just the best of modern, comfortable design. Wonderful beds and bedding, great bathrooms. Lovely, genuinely friendly helpful and efficient staff with none of the false friendliness you so often get.
Breakfast in excellent and generous, with full selections of Chinese, European, English, whatever you want.
The attitude of the management is clearly generous - there were free drinks and canapes in the bar for New Year, coffee, tea and biscuits are constantly available at no charge, there are coffee makers in all rooms with free tea, coffee, snacks, sweets and fruit - in fact everything in the mini bars is free apart from the alcohol.
The location is perfect - on the Bund opposite the ferry terminal.
I have no negative points for this hotel, we all loved it and we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Right on the Bund, can't beat the location and the views. The hotel feels intimate and boutique but at the same time extremely welcoming. The staff made our children very at home despite the plush surroundings. The rooms are designed to exquisite detail. Everything had been thought of and beyond what is usually available in five star hotel rooms. We had a corner room with a spectacular view of the Bund in both directions.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanburtonBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights. We loved it! We got bumped up to a bund facing suite. art-deco + understated luxurious style not over the top fancy, impeccable service from the front office staff, especially Daniel from concierge, i have emailed him some travel inquiries before our arrival and he went way out to provide us with info to water village tour and offered very detailed and practical suggestions. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Shanghai!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creativethingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Property: Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing