We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was slightly ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund
Ranked #1,982 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It was slightly ok”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

For hotel pricing in Shanghai this hotel is considered cheap, located 15 minutes walks from Dalian rd Metro Station (false 2 minutes walk stated in the website). The staff at the reception were not smiling at all but they've done the job quite well. The property condition was tragic the carpet was disgustingly stained and the smell of smoke were every where. The room however were quite spacious and clean. Since it is quite cheap hotel, i assume they are taking a lot of tour group and student group, during my 5 days stays everyday were noisy day so many groups arrived at night and leave in early morning disturbing my sleep. The room's door however are not thick enough to hold the voices so you can clearly listen the noise. It has quite good location with supermarket nearby but the property was really poor. For affordable hotel thought i still recommend this hotel

Room Tip: some rooms were already renovated, make sure you asked for the newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
615 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is a basic budget hotel that will meet your needs if you are just looking for a cheap spot to sleep.

Our room was fair enough although the air-conditioning and Wi-Fi were not the best as they both seem to work sporadically. Try to request a room away from the main street which can become noisy.

On the more positive side, we found the front desk staff to be very helpful even with a language barrier.

If you stay here do not expect too much except a great and budget location for viewing this futuristic city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. Room is quite spacious and there were wifi and ac. The main lobby smelled cigarette smoke, but no big deal. Shower was not very good, wasn't working appropriately, but for $14 us dollars a night, who cares? At least room was clean and didn't smell bad. Funny was there was no 4th. Floor button in the elevator.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloriawpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ok, so let's start with the positives: relatively close to the metro station (Dalian). About a 15 minute walk. On the last day I made it to the metro station in only 10 minutes by foot but that was only because I was rushing to make it on time to catch a train.

Less than 10 minutes walk to the Tesco supermarket inside the shopping mall close by.

Reasonably priced and only a few subway stations from The Bund/Nanjing Rd area. Basic but clean room. Also free Wi-Fi. Worth mentioning there is also an actual computer in the lobby which one can use and it also has free internet access.

Another big positive is the air con worked very well once turned on.

And now the negatives: I have no problems with staying in cheaper hotels. But, what I don't like is misrepresentations. From the hotel's website you get the impression it is much better than it actually is. You will be asked to leave 100RMB as a deposit which will be returned to you when you check out.

The hotel is located in a bit of a dingy area. Luckily for me the hotel had the lighted sign on so I was able to find it based on directions I have received from friendly Chinese passers by. On the second night I made it to the hotel the sign was switched off even though it was dark. But because I was there the night before I knew how to find it.

The hotel is down a type of short dark alley way and if you need a taxi you may need to walk about 4-5 minutes to get one. The rooms are very basic and the staff is not that helpful but still ok. The towels also looked a bit worn out but let's finish on a positive note: the room was clean and made when I returned back to the hotel the following day.

TIP: When in Shanghai do not go with anyone inviting you to a tea ceremony. You will be paying through the nose so just do a google search for Shanghai tea scam. I was scammed but other than that Shanghai is very safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms are in need of a paint job but are clean with comfy beds. Nice bathroom/shower and tv. Rooms cleaned and sheets and towels replaced every day. Staff for the most part do not speak english so could be a problem if you intend to book a tour/show etc. through the hotel. However we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Although not so close to the metro, let's say, a 10 minute walk from the hotel, I'd say it's not that bad since the room was just 14 us dollars a day for a coupke, including wifi. There's no breakfast in the hotel, nor even paying appart, however, it's quite easy to eat anywhere around. Some markets and very simple restaurants, a mall, and some street vendors at the entrance of the subway. Room was quite spacious, and a bathroom where shower was ok, but the door didn't close well. The hotel was being remodeled when we arrived, maybe that was the reason. An air conditioner is also available in the room, disposable sandals, an iron, and an electric kettle.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloriawpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

It ended reconstruction of the hotel when we arrived. Price here was the best factor. The surrounding area is not lot of interest, but not far from Metro station -DALIAN ROAD. line No 4.
It si two station from PUDONG AVENUE. With taxi is not far from Nanjing Road , but do not forget to take the Hotel address, because some taxi drivers hard to find.
Bedrooms, bathroom are good and clean.I recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOMOSUMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund

Property: FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund
Address: No.888 Tongbei Road, Yangpu District, Shanghai 200085, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,982 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your FX Hotel Shanghai North Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing