We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for conventions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Jinfeng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regal Jinfeng Hotel
Ranked #2,362 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Makati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for conventions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed four nights while attending an educator's conference. I had requested pick-up at the airport and it was very comfortable and efficient. The hotel liaison who arranges this was very good at following up. My flight came in very late, but I kept them updated by phone and they were accommodating.

The lobby of Regal Jinfeng is very simple, almost spartan. My clean, carpeted bedroom had a small kitchenette with a stocked fridge of drinks and snacks, a bar and stool, a large television, and a bathroom with shower and separate tub. The shower had two heads: one for overhead and one for handling. It was a relaxing room to come back to (room temperature was rather cold) after a whole day of convention. Staff is friendly.

One thing, though, that disappointed me was that while the hotel had advertised wi-fi, there was none available. So no emailing and no surfing on laptop or phone. Apparently there is a business room on the 4th floor, but I was too tired to check this out. Since I was exhausted, the only thing to do at night, since there is no nearby night life in the area, was to watch TV.

The hotel fulfils its function of providing suitable lodging for people who are attending conventions in the area. It offers a decently varied breakfast. The area itself, however, is not optimal for tourists. It is pretty out of the way from the hub of Shanghai.

Oh, and bring your own toothpaste.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flamenquera4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    46
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
4
3
5
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

As the other reviewers mention: for tourists this is not an ideal location. For my business trip however the location was fine.
We arrived at 23:00. The hotel which is big was practically deserted. The bar, the young girl at reception said, was already closed. She was the only staff I could see.
In our room we immediately noticed that you could hear every word being said by your neigbours. You can hear them snore and sneeze. I think the rooms share the wooden wardrobe wall; that there is no real wall in place there I mean.
The lift/elevator is funny: It says it can contain 10 people and lift 1000 kg, but stops and starts beeping when there are more than five persons in there. No.... no jokes about my weight please! :-) Getting to the lobby can take quite some time.
Breakfast offered a pretty good selection, but every item was just a bit off target. Yes, there were fried eggs, but they were cold, yes there was bacon... I think it was bacon, but.. well you know.
Let me stress that the bed was good and that the staff that was actually there was very, very kind. Shower fine as well. Internet somewhat slow indeed, wifi in the room did not work, the cable did.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiebe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed for a night on this hotel again during my business trip. The room 2101 given to me has a nice small kitchenette area with a bar type table and stool. The bed lines are immaculately clean and the bed is comfortably firm.

My only complaints are the room air-conditioning thermostat control seems not functioning proerly. i set the temperature below 20 deg. C but the air-conditioning keeps shutting down at 23 deg.C and higher. The shower room drainage may also be partially clogged as water drains very slow.

Breakfast is just average and more on Chinese cuisines, very limited Continental foods.

The porter service is nowhere to be found when I arrived from the airport.

I used the maglev with discounted rate of RMB40 and then caught a taxi going to this hotel which is very fast and convenient way to travel.
Overall, this hotel is still able to maintain the quality of the rooms and facilities after several years of operation.

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms and non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed at Regal Jinfeng Hotel for two nights in July 2012. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast had a good variety of both Asian and Western food. The only thing which was not too great was the location. You will need to get a taxi to go to shops. There is a convenient store across the road and some restaurant about 10-15 minutes walk away. For the price, I will probably stay here again. Otherwise, I will choose to stay somewhere closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I've stayed in Regal Jinfeng over 10 times throughout my business trips in Shanghai so I might give an overall impression of the hotel.

Location: Its not close to the downtown area, and not near the hotel. You would probably need a taxi to go somewhere else. 5-10 minute walk to nearby restaurant like Starbucks/KFC/Pizza which was good.

Rooms: The rooms are clean, equipment are maintained well. Only bad thing about the room is the internet connection is pretty slow, that would affect for business people to stay connected and get their work done.

Breakfast: Lots of variety of both Chinese and Western. Food quality was good.

In-room service: Food arrival was pretty quick, food was served in hot temperature but the choices were quite limited.

Service: The staff there were quite friendly

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
296 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I found the hotel to be very clean and tidy. Stayed here for 2 weeks on a business trip and had no problems, rooms are well appointed. The breakfast was great, plenty of variety (Asian and Western) and quality. Only used the aircon once as the room stayed at a reasonable temp even when 30 degC outside.

The hotel is a Yuan18 taxi from the nearest subway so isn't on the tourist route but once on the subway Shanghai beckons (it was a 15min stroll to my work which is why I was there).

All in all I would come back for work and maybe play but would have to check out others to compare.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is my second review of the hotel. Since this a company sponsored trip, I have a very good deal on my room rate. The hotel is still properly maintained. , room airconditioning met my satisfaction. Buffet breakfast is so-so compared to other 4 stars hotels I have stayed.I have dibnner on my first night in the hotel but the menu list is very limited. The Hainanese chicken rice I ordered is very small in servings. The hotel staffs are very helpful. Checkin and checkout is a breeze. Exchange rate in the hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are better than the lower floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Jinqiao
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
#686 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#95 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Bodi Boutique Hotel
Bodi Boutique Hotel
#1,902 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
#546 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Shanghai South Railway Station
Grand Skylight Garden Hotel
Grand Skylight Garden Hotel
#377 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Jinfeng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Jinfeng Hotel

Property: Regal Jinfeng Hotel
Address: No.318 Jingang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 201206, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,362 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Jinfeng Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a prime commercial area of Pudong’s Jinqiao Export Processing Zone, the Regal Jinfeng Hotel is conveniently located at the crossroad of the Lujiazui Financial and Trade area to the West, the Waigaoqiao Free Trade Zone to the North and the Zhangjiang Scientific and Technology Park to the South, only 30 minutes from the hotel to Pudong International Airport and 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Expo Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Regal Jinfeng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing