We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly bad customer service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regal Jinfeng Hotel
Ranked #575 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times for business trip as it's arranged through the company. The same experience prevailed: the customer service was shockingly bad! You name it: no eye contact - check. No smile - check. Passed you around instead of helping you to get proper help - check. Miscommunication over hotel charge & insisted that the guest was wrong - check. Serving while having bad cold & sneezing in front of guest without a mask - check. I even made a bet with a colleague that during our 2 weeks stay, I would never received a single courtesy smile or gesture and I won!
You can made a video of what-not-to-do in hospitality industry from the hotel staff here.
I gave 2 stars rating because the room was good and clean. Otherwise it's a 1 star rating definitely.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank hwong16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie92780, Public Relations Manager at Regal Jinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your assessment points. We’re awfully sorry to learn that our staff's attitude was not satisfied, we took up your observations and will reemphasize the critical importance of hotel courtesy and language, we will do our utmost effort to improve the service in the future especially regarding the customer experience and submit to the relative department to improve immediately.
Thank you for your staying with us again. We really hope to show you our usual standard when you return soon. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staff Not speaking English is one thing, but being rude is another. You go to the reception to ask a simple question and they won't even look at you while they answer the question. When you check in they won't welcome you with a smile, they will only say "passport" abruptly and then "credit card" and they look like they'd can't be bothered with you. I've never felt so unwelcome in a hotel in my life and I have stayed at many in many countries. Rooms are clean, hand that's the only good thing about this place. If you are staying for more than one night and you don't speak Chinese, this is a hotel to avoid. They really need to teach their staff how to treat customers, with some basic courtesy and manners, and also some English if they want to call themselves an international hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AskMeNow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie92780, Public Relations Manager at Regal Jinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your assessment points. We are truly sorry you weren't satisfy with our staff's courtesy, attitude and English speaking during your stay. Hotel management team has paid highly attention to your helpful comments. We will conduct more training regarding customer service in future and maintain a high standard of Regal. We hope you could see our improvement next time.

Again, please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights and hotel was fine. The rooms were very small but nicely decor. Its location is far from Exhibition Fair Ground and it has no place nearby to walk around or shop. There is no latch in bathrooms. They have kept frosted glass as the partition of the bed side but no curtains along with it. Its very very bad. If you are sharing a room with someone and the other person is bathroom than its complete shadow is visible from bed, its so bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauravmehta19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed in Regal Jinfeng for a full week in the month of February 2014. There is nothing much to say but let me just list down some key points:

a. Regal Jinfeng is a business hotel in Pudong and do not think people on a vacation will like this hotel for its location, far from where the real action is.

b. The hotel is otherwise neat and clean and the rooms are properly maintained. However, you can hear almost everything happening in the next room. That can really be very disturbing.

c. Like every other place in Shanghai, the staff of the hotel also are not that good in English. So communicating can be an issue sometimes in the hotel as well.

d. During my stay I did not see any foreigner as such. It was all local guys around. Probably foreigners also prefer the other hotels belonging to international hotel chains not very far from the hotel.

e. Breakfast spread also comprised more of local food than international fare. This can also be a bit disturbing if you are not willing to experiment.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the lifts on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SupreetLodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The wifi and direct cabling net surfing, both were too slow. The net speed that tested by application was 2.0M as down side. Such condition is never be suit for business use. Why do I need to take 5minute to send a small size
Email? Why does it take 5minute to show yahoo news? Why company server never answer? All are STRESSFUL if you use here for business or stay long time

Stayed: , travelled on business
Thank Rios1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie92780, Public Relations Manager at Regal Jinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at Regal Jinfeng Hotel. We are sorry for your experience in our hotel. Regarding the internet speed, we’re glad to announce that we have upgrade the net speed to totally 140M and each room has rise up to 4.0m to meet up business guest requirements, meanwhile, please do not hesitate contact our I.T person or A.M for any technical issues. We Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We got a free upgrade to executive suite. The room was large with two complete separate spaces - working and resting. Too few elevators make going down for breakfast or outside a long adventure. Breakfast quality is ok but service was very poor. In general good value for price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I feel this hotel should be higher in TripAdvisor's ratings. This hotel does alright for what is a fairly plain and boring neighborhood. This hotel ended up being close to company offices which made me pick it over the Marriott.

The hotel itself and rooms are very nice. Everything is clean and modern, no complaints there. The internet is decent, a bit slow on peak hours but it works (both wired and wireless available and working).

The breakfast is OK, lots of choice at least. I didn't bother with the in-hotel restaurants, they seemed pretty bad. The in-room dining was bad, I wouldn't recommend it.

For the out of country travelers, there are actually a few restaurants in the same block as the hotel, such as an Ajisen Ramen and a Starbucks. There are also always a taxi or two at the entrance.

Overall a good choice if you have to stay in Pudong.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfbibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shan...
#2,402 of 5,159 in Shanghai
103 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#104 of 5,159 in Shanghai
457 reviews
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#1,549 of 5,159 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Jinqiao
Ramada Plaza Pudong Shanghai
Ramada Plaza Pudong Shanghai
#186 of 5,159 in Shanghai
319 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Jinfeng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Jinfeng Hotel

Address: No.318 Jingang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 201206, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £47 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Jinfeng Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a prime commercial area of Pudong’s Jinqiao Export Processing Zone, the Regal Jinfeng Hotel is conveniently located at the crossroad of the Lujiazui Financial and Trade area to the West, the Waigaoqiao Free Trade Zone to the North and the Zhangjiang Scientific and Technology Park to the South, only 30 minutes from the hotel to Pudong International Airport and 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Expo Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regal Jinfeng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing