We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go with high expectations and you will not be disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vienna International Hotel Shanghai Railway Station Long Men Branch
Ranked #1,765 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“don't go with high expectations and you will not be disappointed.”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, I found the staff to be welcoming and friendly, english not fluent but I was able to get by, by using a translator app. They understand basic words like "passport, key and taxi". The entrance is spacious, clean and the decor beautiful. The room itself was ample size for myself with a separate sofa area. The bath was small and didn't run "hot" water. The shower was powerful though. The room was clean and had everything I needed, including complimentary bottled water and tea. I did however order room service by leaving a menu on my door handle and it was not collected and therefore I did not receive breakfast, so I was a little bit "peeved" to say the least! The bed was hard but that is normal for china. Wifi is available in the lobby and there are only Chinese channels on TV. The location was right by the train station and therefore Shanghai quite accessible. I have no major complaints about this hotel. It is not perfect and I have stayed in better but I would not say that this hotel is terrible. Just don't go with high expectations and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher up as the cars toot their horns at all hours of the day and night. I was on floor 17 and coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexH249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    59
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
20
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Traveled to China with Grand Circle and stayed at the Hollyear Longmen November 13 through 16, 2012. The lobby was lovely, but that is where the positive review stops. The design of the room was fine, but the carpet was filthy, half the lights were not working (I assume it was the bulbs), the air conditioning/heat was not regulate-able in the room, the bed was hard as a rock (though this is considered desirable in China) and the breakfast was sub-par. WiFi was expensive in the room, but free in the lobby - as long as you stayed within the 10 foot by 10 foot, smoky area where you could connect free. The location was pretty hectic. It was near a major train station, but it was very difficult to navigate the immediate surroundings on foot. I found the staff to be surprisingly unfamiliar with English, especially for a hotel that seems to cater to international tour groups!

It is difficult to comment on value, as i stayed here with a pre-book tour and do not know how much was paid for the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Did not find this hotel up to the standards of a star category hotel. The front office staff were too slow and had little knowledge about their own hotel.We waited for an hour to get our room ready without anyone offering even a chair. The rooms were just of a ordinary quality. No doubt the hotel was very near the train station, but lacked in basic services.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here as part of Grand Circle Tour group, and was disturbed to find that previous groups have complained about this hotel, yet there we were! My main advice--stay somewhere else. Holiday Inn Express and Intercontinental are nearby and cannot be worse than the Longmen Hollyear.

Lobby looks nice, front desk staff were polite, but once in hotel hallways, there's a big change.

Hallways are pitch dark, with motion sensor lights that were burned out in places. Huge stains on carpets (in several rooms that I saw), rugs were truly filthy, hard as rock beds, unhappy staff. First time that I've politely asked a maid for an extra blanket to soften the bed and she argued with me that the bed was fine. Next day I showed the room maid money and she found two extra duvets for me, which really didn't help.

Some power outlets in room didn't work, plugs wouldn't stay in outlets, including the one ironically marked "uninterrupted power", bulbs were 25 watts and two lamps were burned out. Honestly, I worried about the wiring in this place. Basic toiletries provided, although even half-used soap or shampoo was not replaced, any towels not touching floor were left in place. Free internet access only in lobby, which lacked enough seating space.

Restaurant staff seemed unhappy to be there, were slow to remove dirty dishes or serve coffee. Restaurant area in general did not look as well cared for as in Beijing hotel. I was selective about what I ate.

Only saving grace was the location, which is good, right near the train station and shopping area. Also had a lovely view over the canal. We were able to walk 2 minutes to the station and took the Maglev train to Shanghai airport. But look for a different hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontogal-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

It is a clean hotel as a plus. We disnt voluntarily book this but stayed here as a part of Gate 1 package. The rooms are plenty large but the beds sucked real bad. It was a sheet on a table...hard as rock. Take some advil as you sleep to ease the back pain when you wake up.

Breakfast is average, nothing to write home about. But it is GONE after 8:30 no matter what they say for hours. If you arent there early, you are out of luck.

Convenient store in walking distance. Metro station right near by if you want to escape your tour group and explore in your own.

If looking for a little more luxury or close to the tourist points then look elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank timheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Of the four hotels I stayed at during a group tour of China, this one ranked fourth. Breakfast was mediocre at best. It met our needs, but the subsequent three hotels by far exceeded it in terms of rooms, breakfasts and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week trip to China. The room was large and fairly clean, although the carpets had seen better days. The breakfast was OK.
The ATM in the lobby was convenient
The area around the hotel was not the best, being near the railway station, but it was convenient for the subway to People's Square and elsewhere in Shanghai. There were some small convenience stores and fast food restaurants near the hotel.
Staff's English was poor. We had to get our tour guide to negotiate the use of a room later in the day on our last day so we could freshen up before heading of to the airport. It worked out well though for 400 RMB for 4 hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheshiretraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Shanghai Railway Mansion Hotel
Shanghai Railway Mansion Hotel
#419 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#134 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Zhongxiang Hotel
Zhongxiang Hotel
#1,175 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Home Inn Shanghai Station North Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna International Hotel Shanghai Railway Station Long Men Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna International Hotel Shanghai Railway Station Long Men Branch

Property: Vienna International Hotel Shanghai Railway Station Long Men Branch
Address: No.777 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Hollyear Hotel Shanghai)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vienna International Hotel Shanghai Railway Station Long Men Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Vienna International Hotel Shanghai Railway Station Long Men Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longmen Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing