We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome rooms - not so awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bodi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2,474 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Locationwise it is located kind of in the middle of nowhere, by the side of a major road, finding taxi is not so easy even with assistance from the hotel staff, which is kind of required since cab drivers will speak zero english.
The rooms are absolutely amazing, one of the best I have ever stayed at. Bathroom is so big I didn't even find the bathtub until day 2 of my stay.
There is a seven-eleven type store behind the hotel, ask the staff how to get there (at night they walked with me there as you have to pass quite a shady alley), otherwise there is absolutely nothing nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBjorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

The room is extraordinary excellent. Good design, big space, romantic atmosphere. Say the truth, it really fits for the lovers!

The service is just so so, front desk need more passion. If you are expecting night life, pls take a taxi because there's no bar, restaurant etc nearby(It is said there is a Sauna in this hotel especially for man~~but Im not sure ). And as said, the south side of the building face a big road and may a lit bit nosiy(I don't care).

Summary I will consider it again if price is reasonable for valentine or wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INTERZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Reception, though small with no lobby, is handled by very courteous and helpful staff. Rooms are excellent very well furnished, clean and equipped with large televisions.

Location is right on a main road, far away from MRT station. Walk to the nearest MRT station is min. 30 minutes. Taxi is the only mode to get out of the hotel and being away, you will always need to wait for 15-30 minutes.

Room Tip: choose a back side room to avoid noise from main road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josi_Cherian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here recently as it was nearer my business contacts. This place is hard to review.
On one hard it is an excellent hotel in nearly every way, however it is right on a freeway and close to virtually nothing. You need a taxi to do virtually anything, and whilst taxis are cheap and relatively plentiful, it just puts a downer on recommending this hotel. There is a Gentemans' "Spa" on the second floor if thats your thing and I can recommend the restaurant as very nice.
Summary: Huge room(massive bathroom), very well appointed, very clean and comfortable which is just as well because you are probably going to spend some time there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This was a great find for a stay while attending the Shanghai Exhibition Center - but the location is terrible for anything else unless you are well prepared. It is located in a residential high rise area, with very little but apartments around it - and a highway in front. The subway is actually only 1 km away (red line) - and thanks to the great directions from the concierge, it was a very safe walk - even late at night.

It is a Chinese hotel - so the lobby is small, and staffed only by the front desk people. English is spoken, but not fluently, so it may take a few tries. I tried to get directions to an ATM - and the front desk worker walked me 500 meters & pointed me another 1.25 km to get there! There is a bar/restaurant - but I was the only patron in the bar when I went down for a beer at 10PM - bartender spoke little english- and they had a 76ers/Celtics game on the big screen from the 1980's... so not very social. They were willing to stay as long as I liked though - and like the front desk - very accomodating.

The rooms though were fantastic. I had a huge room, with king 4 post bed, large desk (wired/wireless internet), sitting chair, safe, 52" flatscreen with HBO, several english channels, all the 5star amenities, and a huge bathroom (two sinks, rainforest shower, soaking tub, etc..). I had a room at the back of the hotel - very quiet - not sure what rooms facing the highway would be like...

They had an excerisize room that was well appointed for the size of the hotel and an adjacent spa - and the breakfast buffet was small - but continually stocked... I think the hotel is small - so the food was put out in small portions to avoid waste. There was always enough for any patron to eat though - so it was well kept. I got a good rate on Agoda.com (540 RMB/night) - so for the quality of the room - it was very reasonable...
Overall - I enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankll1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This hotel is good if your a local Chinese and know the area and can tell the taxi how to find it and get there!
It was just a hassle to get any taxi drivers to know the hotel and to make it worst their room card holder do not have the address and map printed on it like other hotel..Some one please suggest this to the hotel that its very helpful!
There is no metro anywhere near this hotel unless you want to walk for 30-40 mins which is on the main highway which is scary.
Had to make sure i get back to the hotel by 9-10pm as any later i was scared i couldn't get a taxi from the nearest metro station so felt like i was staying in a prison. I can not think of any reason why anyone would need to stay in this hotel its not close to anything.
Breakfast was good and the room are a big and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank international_guy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The hotel is on edge of highway and the entry is on a very inaccessible street. Metro station is a far walk requiring passing thru scary underpasses, won't recommend to walk to station at night. It is difficult to get a taxi as most taxi drivers do not know of this hotel's existence. Many times when we ride taxi back to hotel the taxi driver will get lost and end up going around different highways and running up the cab fares. The inconvenience of transportation had totally dampened what otherwise was a pleasant trip.

The hotel interior itself was very good-clean, good service, lots of supplies, friendly staff and management. The hotel breakfast buffet is not good value - you will eat much better in nearby food stands or head into food court of malls. The hotel room service food is good, but expensive.

We took a suite so the room size was very very spacious with 4 posters bed, side chair, ottoman, and an extra bed. There is a work table with free internet access. There is also a decent bar area. Bathroom feature nice designer bathtub looking into the bedroom, 2 separate sinks. Closet tends to be humid so would not recommend putting clothes in stinky closets.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank AmySungCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#37 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,479 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.1245 Longyang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,474 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bodi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing