We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Shanghai
Ranked #7 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfection in all respects”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

From the time we arrived to the point we left we could not fault this hotel

The staff and service are truly exceptional

Sir Elly's restaurant overlooking the river is a memorable experience for the view, the food and the service

The afternoon tea served in the foyer each day is better than most available in London

We can't wait to return - this hotel is perfection

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildred2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    182
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
177
355
48
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

OK...I know the rate is not low, but for that special occasion when you do a personal trip and you want it to be special, this it the place if you are visiting Shanghai. You must book the rooms on the Bund. The view at night just adds SO MUCH to your pleasure that it really is worth the extra bucks (or euros) for your time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Hotel is convenient for passengers arriving from Hongqiao or Pudong Airport, located at the starting of Zhongshan Road facing Pudong business district.
Hotel building compliment the charming colonial buildings around the area, top end European and Asian designer labels are located on the lobby/annex building, making the venue the place to see or to be seen.
Room is well appointed and generous in size, furnishings are well appointed and Housekeeping did a wonderful job in maintaining overall cleanliness of rooms and hotel. Peninsula is one of the world leaders in infusing modern gadgets/equipment for the convenience of hotel guests. Topping the list would be the nail polish dryer at the dressing table and spa-ish music during a hot bath.
Great variety of food outlets located at the hotel , and modern spa and health facilities.

Room Tip: Refer to hotel website and expect to splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank live&dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is a traditional first class hotel. Rooms were well furnished and even the rollaway bed (our daughter was with us) was comfortable with quality linens. This is the first hotel which besides air conditioning control, included a humidity control for the room. The room could have been larger, with a large amount of space taken up by the walk-in closet. Lights were remote control with settings for bright and soft (and night for the closet). The bathroom was cozy with a small shower with two shower heads. The tub was a sitting tub (no jets) with a small tv at the base. They provide internet radio (lots of channels and genres) and complementary international VOIP was an easy press of a button on the phone. There was a fax in the room although we did not use it. Nits included a coffee machine which did not work (I think it ran out of water) and a lack of enough bottled water (I believe that if we requested, these would have been rectified, but we did not call.

The dining room offered excellent service for breakfast although the menu was sparse. The live music (different combinations at different times was not quite professional (think college level musicians) but was better than the Peninsula Kowloon. We ate other meals elsewhere.

Fearing typhoon Muifa (which didn't come, we cut our stay a day short and took the high speed train to Beijing. The hotel provided a van with uniformed driver to take us to the train station which was quite a way from the hotel. We were very surprised when we drove up, as the hotel had uniformed porters waiting for us to assist us with our luggage into the terminal. This was all in a few hours notice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMontaVistaHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Starting with our airport greeting, The Peninsula lived up to its reputation for excellent service. Their fleet of customized BMW sedans- even with WiFi!- make the trip into the city effortless.
Checkin was smooth, efficient in our room. We enjoyed a Deluxe RIver View Suite with outstading views of Pudong. It is one of the few hotel rooms I have experienced that were just as pictured on hotel website!
The accomodations were outstanding with every amenity you could imagine- integrated ipod into stereo, internet radio, nespresso in room, free VOIP international calling. The bathroom a vast expanse of creamy limestone with soaking tub, integrated TV, separate shower and even 'spa" setting dimming lights and piping in spa music!
I like the separate luggage/ closet room with valet box to leave laundry/ shoes for polishing.
Conceirge staff was exceptional- especially Sally who coordinated our train tickets for ur onward trip.
The lobby restaurant was exceptional. Their restaurant staff attentive and friendly. The rooftop terrace was a specactular place to unwind with cocktails and their BBQ offerings while overlooking Pudong and the Bund.

Room Tip: see the website and compare the rooms/ views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Beautiful classic interiors. The best, most gracious service in Shanghai -- and I've been to alot of hotels in this city. Gorgeous rooms, well outfitted for business travellers. Even if you don't stay here, at least go for a drink.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowmeow_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at River view deluxe room, the view is great and the service are good, but the lobby and check in setting was not really convenient. We had few meals there, just above Par. but we will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,936 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,069 in Shanghai
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Shanghai

Property: The Peninsula Shanghai
Address: No. 32 Zhong Shan Dong Yi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#195 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Bund with spectacular views of the Bund, Huangpu River, Pudong and former British Consulate gardens, The Peninsula Shanghai perfectly blends with the historic architecture of its landmark neighbours. The Peninsula Shanghai, which opened in October 2009, is the first new building to be constructed on the historic Bund in over 60 years. Offering the best of Peninsula traditions and a range of signature services and facilities, including Shanghai's largest guestrooms and the city's highest staff-to-guest ratio, The Peninsula also heralds the return of parent company, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, to Shanghai where it owned and operated four of the city's premier hotels in the 1920s to 1940s - The Kalee, The Astor House, The Palace and The Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing