We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanghai in the spring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Shanghai
Ranked #12 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The most amazing hotel. The rooms have everything you could possibly want. Service immaculate. Beautiful leisure facilities including a huge swimming pool. The design of the hotel has been refurbished sympathetically, keeping all the Art Deco features.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Merle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Merle S,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you found our service to be so “immaculate”- I will be sure to share this kind feedback with the entire team.

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just back from a business trip to Shanghai where I stayed here. From arriving to leaving this place never failed to satisfy my requirements. The staff were superb never a miserable face always attentive from early breakfast to late night drink in the bar. The room was superbly laid out wonderful bathroom, dressing room and pillows to die for. The hotel is situated on The Bund and is the place to stay in Shanghai, I would not hesitate to recomend this hotel and will certainly stay here again. The view from Sir Elly's bar at night is superb and in my opinion better than my previous 'favourite' city scape that off Hong Kong viewed from The Intercontinental. Breakfast was good whilst not fantastic, ate @ Sir Ellys once and was more than happy. Used room service twice late at night, it was delivered within 20 minutes and was as good a quality as one could expect. One negative....The roof terrace was closed as it does not open until April which is a shame as other roof top bars were open

Room Tip: Stayed on Floor 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT2TODO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear GT2TODO,
Thank you for your very kind review of your experience at The Peninsula Shanghai. I am thrilled to read your kind words about your time with us. We are very proud of our team of true hospitality professionals who delight to taking care of each guest every day- it is gratifying to know you felt this. I apologize that Sir Elly’s Terrace was not open during your stay but shall re-open at the beginning of April and will remain so until October, I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you during this period. Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is amazing-very elegant and traditional, but with a suite full of all sorts of high tech items. Electronic window shades and curtains. Multiple different adjustments of the lighting. All controlled electronically. Even the bathtub.
There was a spacious walkin closet/makeup room.
We had included breakfast which had a reasonable selection of breads, yogurt, cereals then you order you eggs separate. If you have to pay extra, it would not be worth the $40 charge, but included, it was well worth it.
You can walk along the bund right out the front door.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Feistyrg,
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Peninsula Shanghai. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our technologically advance rooms, we are very proud of this proprietary system which our in-house development team created. We are fortunate to have a spectacular location right on The Bund, I am glad you found it to be convenient! I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We recently visited Shanghai for a girls long weekend. We decided to splash out and stay at The Peninsula - and we're thrilled we did. We booked into a Grand Deluxe River Room with twin beds and upon arrival were disappointed to be advised there were no twin bed rooms left. We really didn't want to have to share a bed! Our disappointment didn't last long as we were shown to our Grand Deluxe River Suite as a complimentary upgrade. They even delivered another bed so we still had our own beds - and we felt like rockstars in our suite! It was huge and had the most spectacular views over The Bund. We found the concierge to be exceptional. They went out of their way with restaurant reservations, shopping advice, transportation etc. We also enjoyed all the meals we experienced at the hotel and found the staff to be incredibly courteous and knowledgeable. We booked a hotel limousine airport transfer at the end of our stay at 5pm and were given complimentary late check-out which made all the difference. As a result of our experience, we are contemplating our next girls trip in Beijing so we can stay at The Peninsula there.

Room Tip: If you can stretch the budget, a river view room is well worth it. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Emily P,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is gratifying to know how much you enjoyed your time in Shanghai and at The Peninsula. While we appreciate the comments about our beautiful rooms it is truly wonderful to know how exceptional and accommodating you found our staff to be. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai soon. Please do let me know if I may be of assistance in coordinating your visit to The Peninsula Beijing (garethroberts@peninsula.com).

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

What else can I say but this hotel lives up to the name Peninsula. It is spotless with rooms that offer every amenity you can imagine. The location on the Bund is excellent. The buffet breakfast had some of the best croissants this side of Paris. The staff and service is what you would expect from this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cukidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear cukidio,
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience and in particular our fabulous croissants! I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Peninsula is a beautiful property by the Bund in Shanghai. The service is exceptional, the rooms beautiful and the amenities good. We had dinner at Sir Elly's and it was divine. This is a gorgeous restaurant and if you don't want to have a full dinner - at least have a drink with a beautiful view of the Bund. I would skip the Compass bar. It was smokey and the service was just ok. Nothing special - really just a piano bar. I absolutely loved the Salon de Ning, which is below the first floor. It is exotic, unique and wonderful. The high tea was pretty good in the lobby bar. I also had a spa appointment and I think it would be nice to have a quiet room to wait for the therapist, rather than in the hallway. We were first time visitors to Shanghai and what truly stood out the most for us was the concierge service. Sally was exceptional as was the male concierge (cannot remember the name), who arranged for flowers at a restaurant. The service makes this hotel exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear gourmetwashington,
Thank you for your kind review of The Peninsula Shanghai. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular your comments about our wonderful Concierge team. Sally and the rest of the Concierges are truly exceptional and are committed to providing our guests with the ultimate experience while in Shanghai. I appreciate your feedback about The Spa, we do in-fact have a beautiful relaxation room and I sincerely apologize that this was not explained to you in advance of your treatment, I shall address this with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is really on top of his game the rooms & the Spa are out of this world
and really step up compare to others in Shanghai (maybe the Park Hyatt is the only one that can compete) is rest is far away

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_SH, Manager at The Peninsula Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear hn c,
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Peninsula Shanghai. It is most humbling to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. We very much look forward to your return visit soon.

Best wishes,
Gareth Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#10 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,167 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,190 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Shanghai

Address: No. 32 Zhong Shan Dong Yi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#203 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £278 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Bund with spectacular views of the Bund, Huangpu River, Pudong and former British Consulate gardens, The Peninsula Shanghai perfectly blends with the historic architecture of its landmark neighbours. The Peninsula Shanghai, which opened in October 2009, is the first new building to be constructed on the historic Bund in over 60 years. Offering the best of Peninsula traditions and a range of signature services and facilities, including Shanghai's largest guestrooms and the city's highest staff-to-guest ratio, The Peninsula also heralds the return of parent company, The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, to Shanghai where it owned and operated four of the city's premier hotels in the 1920s to 1940s - The Kalee, The Astor House, The Palace and The Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing