We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lou & Rina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #48 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent a week in the hotel with a beautiful riverside view, you could not tire of watching the river traffic and the lights at night. We were treated as VIP's. The GM would stop and chat. All of the staff were most helpful and pleasent to talk to. The decor is modern but felt homely. And as for the food, be it cafe 1188, the Italian and Chinese restraunts were all superb. After a day of sightseeing, the foot spa and massage was most welcoming. overall it was a magnificient hotel to stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.You might have enjoyed the peaceful "city resort" feel of the hotel and tried all the highlights we have.
Sincerely invite you and your family to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Spend 4 days during business trip to Shanghai. With 200+ travel a year, service becomes very valuable, much more then a minibar or an extra amenity. Staff at hotel lounge bar was out of this world and showed genuine interest (rare for lounge bar) - restaurant at ground level has excellent selection of food for lunch, you can simply not try all, it is endless. Staff at reception counter helped me with an issues I had to get my Ipad connected to internet. They fixed it quick and again showed real interest. Whilst this hotel is not in the city center, it allows you to have a great view on Shanghai and allows you to relax more in the evening as one can get away from the action, if need be. try a room with view on the river and Shanghai bridge. Out of this world, especially at night. Highly recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a roonm with river view. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.We’re happy to hear that our facility and service can make you feel comfortable and satisfied. That’s all we would like to try our best to deliver to each guest. Very appreciated for your recognition and we sincerely welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at the IC Shanghai ExPo hotel attending a big conference and the hotel proved to be just the right place to hold large events. Large meeting rooms, large lobby, large lobby restaurant.
Besides that I stayed in one of the Club rooms giving me access to the Club lounge. The room was large enough with river and city view, nice bathroom and the Club lounge was nice with outdoor seating area. The offerings in the Club Lounge were delicious.
I only experienced the staff to be very pleasant and attentive despite taking care of a 400 man large conference event.
Make use of the Spa which is one of the best I have experienced in a regular business hotel.
Only downside is the situation of the hotel, but then again if you don't mind to walk a little and see different parts of Shanghai the bus depot or the metro are within 10-15 minutes walk. Otherwise, take a taxi which is very cheap, and get the concierge to give directions to the driver.
I wouldn't mind returning to this hotel again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We’re very appreciated for your comments. To create “great hotels guests love” is our mission and we strive to serve the best with our enthusiasm. Sincerely welcome you to our hotel again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed 10 here in April 2012 ans was treated like a VIP the whole time. The staff are all extremely helpful and attentive.They were very happy to write addresses for you in chinese to allow easy cominication with taxi drivers to get to various destinations. Rooms were all spotless and well appointed. We had a suite which was like a small luxury apartment. The Basillico restuarant is a fantastic place to eat and the food was spectacular. Staff at the Basillico restuarant , the Liquor Factory and the club lounge and The cafe were all excellent. I Highly recommend this hotel I would not hesitate to stay at this retuarant again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy that you are satisfied with the hotel facilities, our staff and service.Your recognition are truly valuable to us. That’s what we are trying to deliver to every guest with "Great Hotel Guests Love". We sincerely welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed 10 days here in April 2012 and I had the most wonderful experience. The staff were so very attentive, helpful and kind. I went to Basilico, The Liquor Factory and the cafe and the food was excellent and such a broad choice of food. I had a massage in the spa and didn't want to leave.
I highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princesswendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us and share your wonderful experience. What you mentioned Liquor Factory, Basilico Italian Restaurant and Spa InterContinental are the highlights of the hotel. We are glad that you like the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was here for business and stayed an extra day to visit Shanghai, and was pleasently surprised by the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, great bathroom, comfortable bed. I had room 1618 which was a corner room that overlooked the river and had a great view of downtown at night. It was the first time I even traveled to Asia and the staff, while had varying degrees of English proficiency, made me feel welcome.

The only question for me as a repeat would be the location. Its on the other side of the river where all the 'action' is and downtown; so you can enjoy the quiet of not always being the middle of everything while being a short drive away. As a minus you just can't walk out of the hotel and see anything meaningful (other than a Tony Romas, and a Bubba's Texas Grill - go figure :).

So great hotel experience, you might love or not the location!
Enjoy!

Room Tip: I had room 1618 which was a corner room that overlooked the river and had a great view of downtown a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vcuadra17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and we’re happy to get great comments from you. You might have enjoyed the peaceful "city resort" feel of the hotel and if you would like to go to the shopping centre, it is only 10 minutes drive to Lujiazui or Xintiandi. Glad that you like our hotel and we welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great new hotel with spacious rooms and professional service throughout the hotel. They just don't throw people at you, they actually help make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. If having exercise outlets are important to you, then look no further than IC Expo. I'm a Masters swimmer and finding a 25 meter pool on the road is almost impossible. This is the best pool I've found in Shanghai (or anywhere) for lap swimming. Workout area with treadmills, ellipticals, weight machines, etc. is impressive. They also offer Yoga, Pilates and other group workouts. Walking/jogging around the hotel is safe due to well designed sidewalks throughout the Expo area. Plus there's a Texas BBQ restaurant/bar across the street.

Room Tip: XX03-XX06 have great views or the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j0hns0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us. Very much appreciated for your high evaluation for our environment and facilities. Glad that you liked our gym and swimming pool and the hotel is built and designed on"Better City, Better Life" theme which promotes better well-being and quality of living for the guests. We sincerely welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Jing'An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road, Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#142 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £92 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing