We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best InterContinental Property in China”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #51 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Bali
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best InterContinental Property in China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

InterContinental Shanghai Expo is definately the best amongst all the InterContinental properties in China. The hotel creates a very comforting and cozy atmosphere for its guests. The facilities is definately first class! It has state of the art gym and pool. The massage treatment in the spa and the spa facilities was truly relaxing. The standard room size is normal, but it does have all the daily traveler necessities. The bathroom ammenities ''Agaria'' in the Club-floor rooms was a plus factor. The Club Lounge is extremely relaxing, with the upmost personalized service. I have also tried all the restaurants in the hotel and none of them was disappointing at all! The Chinese and Italian restaurant definately represents one of the world's finest in regards to culinary techniques. The hotel bar is a lovely place to have a glass of whiskey and a chat friends. The prices of the wines in the hotel is a little bit on the high side. Nevertheless, what is not to be missed, Sunday Brunch!!

Room Tip: Club Floor room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are pleased to hear that you did have great experience in the hotel. Thank you again for your recommendation and looking forward to treating you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    214
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
52
61
44
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Luckily I got upgraded to a corner suite and the views were absolutely fantastic! Lots of windows all around. A Club level room, and the complimentary breakfast (including made-to-order eggs) and the evening drinks and canapes were great. Super helpful staff goes above & beyond.

The room lights were tricky and I played a guessing game every day about which rocker switch did what, and I had to hit the switch just right before it would work. Same with the automatic curtains.

Do not drink the tap water. There is no signage and I just happened to flip through the room manual and saw the warning ........... on my 4th day in the hotel. I think I'd been using the bottled water provided! They provided at least 5 bottles every day.

Spa decor was superb in the entry and outer areas. Room ok. Shower door wouldn't stay closed and I had to hold it shut with my foot as I showered. I do not recommend the 30 minute neck and shoulder massage because you sit in a chair and the massage is through the terry cloth robe. Very weird. Also the pedicure was weird as they didn't soak the feet and remove dry skin. My toenails look good but my heels are still bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CopperTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you for staying in our hotel and taking time to share your great experience with us. We are very appreciated for your suggestion and recommendation. Hope you will come back soon! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

I loved nearly everything about the Intercontinental Shanghai Expo except for the service in the lounge re a dietary request that I communicated that was not heeded. As I was only staying one night and arrived with about half an hour of lounge access when I asked if there was anything I could eat I was told there was just cheese and that I should have let them know in advance if I had any requests and said that I had but this didn't make a difference. They also suggested that I not go there for breakfast as I would be better looked after downstairs, I followed this advice but it meant that my lounge experience in essence was non existent. On the Sunday night I then went to find a restaurant at 8:50 pm but the chinese restaurant was closing (it was a Sunday) and I was asked to go to the buffet. I ordered a meal in the nearly empty Italian restaurant after inspecting the buffet and deciding it wasn't for me. It was great. My room was wonderful and an upgrade as a Ambassador member. Despite the hiccup I will stay there again but just find out who the correct person to communicate with in advance in terns of special needs.

Room Tip: Views of the river and city are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We really appreciated for your suggestions that enable us to work on areas where we have room for improvement. We hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanciano, Italy
Level Contributor
245 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I have been here for my first time and I have to admit that is the best hotel I have ever stayed in Shanghai.
High luxury and comfort are the visit card of the Intercontinental Expo.
The rooms are excellent, spacious and fully equipped with: 42" TV with Bose surround system, king size bed very comfortable with a selection of pillows to choose from, spacious bathroom with double washbasin, shower and bathtub, wifi and cabled internet, mini bar, all you need in case you forget something such as: shaving kit, bathrobe, slippers, pyjamas,.....
The room I had has a nice view on Shanghi and on the river.
The hotel has also a fantastic pool, just watch the pictures on the Hotel web site.
The breakfast is varied and very good as well as the staff is always kind.
In some reviews some people are lamenting that staff is not speaking english very well and I have to admit that is true but I have also to highlight that compared to other chinese hotels the staff in the intercontinental is much better prepared and capable.
I finally highly suggest to book this hotel for your trip to Shanghai and I will definitively get back here.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anxanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments with us. We are very appreciated for your recommendation and our facilities makes you feel comfortable. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Excellent location if you are attending the Shanghai Expo. The hotel and rooms were very nice, the buffet selection at the level restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Room views on the river side was great. The gym facilities also were excellent. I was a bit disappointed that they didn't have a shuttle going the the EXpo during the Dentech show. Trying to get a taxi after the show was almost impossible.

Room Tip: The hotel is a bit isolated, no restaurants and no shopping. Not a place to stay if you want to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are pleased that you did enjoy your time in our hotel and really appreciate your great recognition. Thank you for your suggestion and we are currently looking into the possibility for a shuttle service for any big events around us in the Exhibition Center. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The Intercontinental Expo has the best best facilities in Shanghai. Great swimming pool, top gym, and beautiful spa. All very clean and with attentive staff. Also, there is a beautiful garden (with villas for rent, and a nice English pub) ideal for outdoor events, or simply for a walk far from the mad crowd of Shanghai. To top it all, superb views of Puxi and Pudong. The best hotel in Shanghai

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your comments with us. We are honored to have great recognition from you. Thanks again for your recommendation and sincerely welcome you to our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The location is a bit far from everything, but it is a fantastic hotel. The area around was built for the expo and now it looks like a desert city. There are no restaurants within a walking distance and the few that you can find are not very nice.
In any case you can have a great meal at the hotel as the food is very good. Same apply for the breakfast which is fantastic. The rooms are very spacey and if you have a river view room it is a great view. The equipment in the room is very good with a wide LCD a fantastic boose hi fi system and iPod dock s system.
The manager is very attentive to your requests.

Room Tip: Try to have a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Indeed the area around the hotel right now is not very busy yet, however with a short taxi ride of 5 minutes taxi you can reach the Mercedes the Benz Arena with multiple dining and entertainment options. Taking the taxi for 8-10 minutes will take you to the center of Lujiazui where the options for eating, drinking and shopping are endless. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#28 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#132 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing