We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, except for the Wi-Fi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #60 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent, except for the Wi-Fi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a truly wonderful business hotel, except for the very intermittent and weak Wi-Fi. The location is ideal if you have business in the expo area. However, if you are hoping to be near the central business restaurant district of the city, it is a bit off the beaten path.

If you stay here, be very sure to request a river view room. The views of the boat traffic on the river, the bridges, and the distant skyline are lovely.

The staff are very helpful. English speaking skills are adequate at best, but mostly barely sufficient for communicating. I did expect somewhat more for an international hotel with this reputation. The rooms are luxurious, the restaurants on property are excellent.

Did I mention the spotty, but free Wi-Fi was infuriating?

Room Tip: A Riverview is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirenrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you like our rooms with impressive views of Huangpu River and Nanpu Bridge. We do appreciate and value your feedback. Regarding the Wifi, we will pass your comments to our IT manager for improvement. Thanks again for your staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    213
    51
    14
    10
See reviews for
51
57
38
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is one fantastic hotel. They gave me a corner room with spectacular views of the river. The rooms were great. Internet was free with their club membership. Breakfast spread was excellent. Staff is very courteous. A bit on the expensive side, but located near some excellent development.

Room Tip: Request a corner room with a river view. Join their club membership, its free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAlhadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and tha you received great service. As you mentioned, we are located on the adjacent to the World Expo area. Rooms and suites feature impressive river view and ciry's skyline views. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Poor experience ... Cafe 1188 - service and food quality suspect.
I had a Fillet steak with Fat on either edge ... Fillet ??
Also Breakfast was poor ... at least the Western version of breakfast ... Insufficient service, lack of English experienced staff .. Bacon inedible ... Unless I guess you grab some early !!

I have contacted Hotel and expressed my disappointment and have been invited back ... but not sure that I want to experience the poor food quality and restaurant service again.
I have to attend another Expo soon ... But to get there it requires a taxi journey .. So the name 'Expo' as someone else commented is inappropriate!
Could not get a Taxi back .. no-one would stop !!
So I walked several miles back to hotel !!

Rooms are good and should be at the price ... Reception and concierge staff good ... But Restaurant 'Cafe 1188' questionable, it appears that most staff were inexperienced and had difficulty understanding English and were slow to respond ... Although I cannot comment on the Italian and Chinese Restaurant as I did not use!

Attached Bar was pleasant as were the staff

I've stayed in their Holiday Inn chain and received better service art a fraction of the cost !

Room Tip: Rooms are good and should be at the price ... Reception and concierge staff good ... But Restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petet_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are really sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all your comments and suggestions, especially about the issues with the restaurants for breakfast. This is very important to us to improve the service and the product that we offer to our guests. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

As I am staying for about 60 nights a year at hotels worldwide for the company I work for, this one is actually very good, as there are lots of 5* hotels in de Shanghai area. If you stay at this hotel, you need to book the Club room, the club has 2 levels, excellent service, and great views! You can see the city line as well as the Shanghai Expo Area and Mercedes Benz Arena. There is a german guy working at this club floor, and he is quite interesting. During check in, he came to welcome us and provide us from everything needed. He did this every morning during breakfast and every evening during the happy hours. In addition most of the ladies were great too, but its still the European, who knows how to serve their customers! If you stay at a club room, do not forget to ask for the corner room in order to have more great views during you stay! We have stayed here regarding the SIAL Shanghai Food show, and will definitely stay here again next year!

Room Tip: Ask for the Corner Club Room King Bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear devon d ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our club floor facility and service made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business. I was surprised at how far I was from everything. Not a convenient location.

Very nice views though, and nice room.

It was also more expensive than other hotels I've stayed at in Shanghai. But the room, the lobby, etc were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saratogamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mr.saratogamike,
Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Shanghai Expo. Our hotel is located in the middle of Pudong area in Shanghai. The bus station is not far, there are bus no.1049 and no.1048 which needs 2 mins walk from the hotel. Along with further improvements in the city's infrastructure, Expo area would become increasingly popular.
Thanks you for the good comments on our hotel room and view.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at InterContinental Shanghai Expo in the future.

Sincerely,
Assistant Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

To start off I really hated the misleading "EXPO" in the title of this hotel, almost all expose now are held in the Shanghai new international expo center which is a long ride by taxi, take 20 to 30 minutes and traffic is pretty bad, it is even more painful after a full day of walking and meeting at the expo and then you have to wait for a taxi and endure another 30 minutes of driving to the hotel. Unfortunately for me, I mistakenly thought the "Expo" in the hotel is due to its proximity to the actual expo cite. In Shanghai finding Taxi is challenging to say the least, finding a taxi willing to take you to this hotel was a major pain, It was especially hard to convince drivers to take us to this hotel as the location is very far from city center so most taxis did not want to go there. To make matters worse the hotel is far from any metro station, it is a minimum of a 20 minutes’ walk which is not good especially with the cold rainy weather of shanghai, or the crazy hot few weeks of summer. The hotel itself is a cold business hotel, The rooms look good, but they were designed with form over function IMO. I especially hated the cramped claustrophobic shower compartment and restroom compartment. We stayed in a none smoking floor but the smell of people smoking was choking us in our room, one of the other guests next room was definitely smoking in his room and it gets in the central AC, we tried to point it out to the receptionist as we saw our "smoking” neighbor several time as just walking by his room you can smell the smoke but they never bothered to do anything. Again the breakfast restaurant and varied selection looked good, but the service and the quality of the food was mediocre. Every day of the 5 days we stayed there we never sat at a table with full set of utensils, every day we had to flag some of the staff to get us the missing fork or spoon. And good luck trying to get a refill on the inconsistent coffee. One day the coffee was insanely bitter, one day they brought us the coffee lukewarm, another day it was watered-down like someone just added some hot water to a cup that had little coffee left in it. I think even if our suppliers was paying for the hotel I would rather pay to stay somewhere else. Definitely not coming back. The one positive note is the staff was professional and spoke adequate English but at a 5 stare hotel it is not really a plus, but the minimum expectation. The hotel should provide a shuttle service to the “New Expo” location or at the very least offer some transportation to the nearest metro station. And please get a decent manager with some experience to manage the breakfast staff.

Room Tip: make sure to check out the location before you book here. It is very inconvenient unless you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PharoMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoyo W, General Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear PharoMarc,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is located in the middle of Pudong area, 10 minutes away from Lujiazui trade zone and 20 minutes away from city center of Shanghai. We have the bus station next to our hotel with 2 minutes walk , there are bus no.1049 and no.1048.
We would like to apologize for the bad experience at our outlets as it is not the norm, nor indicate of the type of service we pride ourselves at our hotel.
If you would, please contact us at our hotel email via expo@ihg.com so that we can further assist you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience all the upgrades and transformation in the near future as we know we will definitely meet your expectation the next time!



Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is my second visit, stayed there for two days for a business conference.
Check in: Easy, quick and efficient staffs. Perfect check-in and check-out
Room: The rooms are really nice. Big and beautiful room. Fill glass windows overseeing the river.
Service: Never faced an issue during the stay whether in room or in the conference.
Food: Lot of choices. Really love the food. Excellent. Even they prepared some Indian food as we have few participants are from India
One issue: In the night I heard some horn sound from the ships sailing in the river.
Verdict: Excellent stay (bit expensive)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandramohan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoyo W, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Chandramohan K,
Thanks you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff.
Thanks again for staying with us.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Assistant Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#25 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#142 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing