We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Overrated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #31 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average Overrated Hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in the hotel for business trip for 12 nights. Overall, the hotel is has its good and bad. I have stayed in other hotels in Shanghai and this hotel pales greatly in comparison for the service and location. I will probably not stay here again.

Service needs major improvement! It is impossible to get any attention of service staff for coffee fills at breakfast time. Best way would be to walk to the coffee machine (meant for staff) and get the coffee directly. Don’t ask the concierge for umbrella when you saw it’s raining. They will curtly and rudely tell you that you have an umbrella in your room. Any urgent posting of letters should be avoid if you stay in the Intercon hotel. The same concierge will inform curtly (again!) on two different occasions that they do not provide such service, which is weird because I have stayed in other Intercon hotels and they do have such services. When I tried asking for the location of the postal office at the concierge (again!) on a different occasion, I was informed that the office is at the back door of the hotel. Do not be deceived as the office is about 15 mins again with many turns. And by the way, the concierge did not offer further directions nor a map. Suggest to ask the Service Manager directly and avoid the concierge at all cost! Also, there was a major international political conference held in the hotel for a week in my second week of stay and roads in the business district and surrounding the hotel were closed at certain timings especially towards the evening. I was there for two weeks and noted that the hotel did not inform the patrons about the conference and the road closures and attempt to provide appropriate advice which would be extremely useful when all the roads are closed. This was a missed opportunity for the hotel to value add to their patrons.

Location: Location is a blow as the hotel is not in a centralized location. Cabs are hard to call in the morning and hotel does not provide shuttle services to the business district. That is strange considering that the hotel is positioned as a business hotel but do not offer value added services.

Room: Rooms are great and they are spacious. The bed is comfortable and housekeeping did a great job. Only gripe is that the automated blinds spoils easily. Mine was stuck and spoilt twice in my 12 night stay. But the rest of the room facilities. The Bose sound system is fantastic.

Amenities: Hotel has a big indoor heated pool. Gym is big with the basic equipment. There is a bar housed in a separate colonial bungalow just outside of the hotel which is a charm. I love the concept and feel of the bar.

Food: Intercon hotel’s breakfast always carry a wide selection which is consistent for this hotel. Selection is intercontinental with change in menu daily. In addition, the dinner buffet is value for money with wide selection of fresh food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Huang Pu River view and preferably, view of the bridge. The Huangpu bridge light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACYSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you feel less than pleasant during your long stay in our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience that our Concierge staff brought to you and they should behave in good manners. We will pass your feedback and suggestion to the Front Office department, and if you have more details to tell, you can also send an email to ihg@expo.com. On the other hand, thank you very much for your recognition for our spacious guest room featuring impressive view of the Huangpu River and Nanpu Bridge. Thank you again for staying in our hotel and we do hope that you can come back again.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Tang
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    217
    57
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
64
44
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Arabia Saudita
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

No compromise. It is in line with the best tradition of the hotel chain. Very good location near the expo and to the places where you would like to spend your free evenings in Shanghai. I booked at the last minute and I could not get a room with a view over the Shanghai tower and the city Skyline. Make sure to ask for it when you come over. Rooms are very well equipped and the staff is always smiling and really helpful; something hard to find in the hotels of Shanghai. My work took me out everyday from morning to evening so I could not fully enjoyed the facilities but breakfast is really five star varying from continental to international to all different oriental styles. I will definitively make this my working base in Shanghai

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dinewithbrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We're pleased to hear that you feel great during your stay with us. As you mentioned, InterContinental Shanghai Expo is located adjacent to the Nanpu Bridge and Huangpu Bridge with impressive river view and city Skyline. Our Cafe 1188 is an all day dining restaurant, which offers worldwide flavors with local favorites. Thank you again for staying us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great property overlooking the river. Wonderful English pub in a separate building in a courtyard setting. Near the Expo. Paulaner German brew pub/restaurant within walking distance, but not much else.

I was shocked to pay 57 RMB for a cup of coffee (almost US$10) in the lobby lounge. People don't hang around the lobby lounge for that reason. They could sell a lot more coffee if they charged "starbucks" pricing of 30 RMB. Really nice Italian restaurant on the 3rd floor overlooking the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clintb1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you feel satisfied during your stay with us. The InterContinental Shanghai Expo, located adjacent to the Huangpu River and Nanpu Bridge, offers 384 contemporary guest rooms, suites and villas featuring impressive river view and a Mirror TV in bathroom. To speak of the villas, remodeled in a distillery of 1930’s, they are ideal for residence, meetings and events, where you can also explore The Liquor Factory, a British style bar with outdoor seating. Basilico is an must try Italian restaurant freatures authentic Italian delicacies with spectacular review view.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was my family gathering. Initially, they upgraded me to a Suite as I am a RA member. The room is a little bit small for me, cause' I have 10+ relatives to visit my room. The lounge manager , Amanda recommended me to upgrade to Diplomat Suite which have a large living room with a dinning table and a kitchen. I just need to pay extra 200 USD. The view of the room is fabulous. The room is facing Huangpu River and Nanpu bridge is on my right hand side. Definitely, I will revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: The club lounge view is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhythm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your review of this hotel. We're pleased to hear that you feel satisfied with the facilities, service, especially the views during your stay at InterContiental Shanghai Expo. As you mentioned, the hotel is located adjacent to the Huangpu River and Nanpu Bridge with impressive river views and city's skyline views. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Clearly one of the best hotels in Shanghai I've staid at. The location is very convenient if your are heading to the Shanghai exhibition halls. The views from the room are amazing, thx to the floor-to-ceiling windows.

Having tasty breakfast & coffee while watching dozens of ships passing by is certainly a cool touch to a business trip.

The staff is very friendly. The desk is comfortable for a few hours in-room working. The hotel's restaurants and breakfast area offer a vast choice of tasty food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiKuSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We're pleased to hear that your business trip sounded great during your stay with InterContinental Shanghai Expo. The hotel is located adjacent to the expo area with impressive views of Nanpu Bridge and Huangpu River. Thanks again for your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the third time I have stayed in this hotel for a trade exhibition at the nearby SIEC venue and again had another wonderful stay. I stayed in a club floor room and was lucky to have a corner room with a river view - fantastic views at night having a quiet drink in the room. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a lovely deep oversized tub - perfect for relaxing after a long hard day, with a separate shower cubicle. I loved the pillow top bed - one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Breakfast in the club lounge was plentiful and good quality and also there was free afternoon tea. I had a lot of dry cleaning and laundry and really appreciated the pick up in the morning and delivery the same day before 6pm - and prices were not so expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Carolina,

Thank you very much for your review of this hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you feel happy with the facilities, night view, pillows, breakfast, etc. We do appreciate your compilment and we will keep working better. Thanks a lot for your staying with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time in Shanghai so I really didn't know what area to go for so I decided to go with somewhere close to where I would be working and as I am a fan of Intercontinentals I decided on this. This one certainly didn't dissappoint with it's location, rooms, service and style. Good food and large selection for the breakfast buffet in the main restaurant as well as in the club which also has some stunning views, if the smog clears so you can see them that is!!! Rooms are modern and very comfortable and have everything you could need including free internet. The staff are also very helpful with the questions I had and steared me in the right direction for local points of interest. All in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthurkemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'm really pleased to hear that you feel more than satisfied with your stay including location, service, staff attitude, etc at InterContinental Shanghai Expo. We do appreciate your compliment for our hotel. Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#30 of 5,059 in Shanghai
769 reviews
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#43 of 5,059 in Shanghai
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#135 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing