We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really loved the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Ranked #33 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really loved the experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed in this property for three days while on a business trip to Shanghai. My room was on 29th Floor and was lucky to get a corner room which has two sides of the room as glass walls.

Really liked the decor of the room, the bed offered a very very comfortable sleep. Breakfast buffet had a lot of offer and food quality was very good. Visited the bar only once. The staff there were good, definitely knew what they are supposed to do. Overall, very good... would definitely recommend for a good stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    253
    51
    22
    10
See reviews for
66
101
44
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It was a very nice room. Spacious with a very nice shower. The bathroom was well laid out, with the shower stall and separate toilet stall.

The location seems to be convenient if you are traveling out of the Shanghai railway station. It is about 500m away from the railway station. You can see the hotel directly from the train station. The rail station has high speed trains going to Nanjing and Beijing. However, it takes a few transfers to get from Pudong Airport. The reason I stayed here is because my company operates out of the offices in the same building.

The gym area was a bit inconvenient to get to. You cannot use the same elevator as the rooms to get there. You need to go back down to the lobby and take another elevator to the fifth floor to get there. The pool and gym are in the same area. The gym is above, overlooking the pool, which is nice. The treadmills are placed such that it is looking at the pool. I dont remember what other machines they have.

The pool was very nice. It was warm and deep, starting off at about 3 feet and sinking to 7 feet. There is an attendant that is there but might not be there from time to time if it is empty. The pool was warm, similar to a shallow recreation pool. It might not be a good idea to do a large number of laps, but good for a relaxing swim. It seems to be about 25m long and about 10-15m wide.

They offer lockers and towels in the changing area. You can get a magnetic locker key from the front desk in the gym area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evildoughboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here a number of times on business.
On arrival, from the guys who greet you from the car to the reception staff, all are very polite and make you feel welcome.
Check in is (usually) quick and efficient.
Rooms are very spacious with excellent washrooms facilties (and a heated loo seat), however, one moan is, as with so many hotels, the air con. Whatever you set the temperature to, it does its own thing, normally too warm which can make for an uncomfortable nights sleep.
Only eaten breakfast there which is very good - so much choice and polite staff throughout.

The other moan is the location - whilst its near the Central train station, the surrounding restaurants are fast food - there are no good places to eat or drink close by - i recommend going down to XinTianDi where you can find allsorts (quite expensive though).

Overall, this is a very nice hotel and well worth the value.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - great to open the curtains, sit on the swivel chair and watch Shanghai go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshjacksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel. Stayed in a Club room - I get to stay in a lot of hotels, this has to be in my top 5 - a very nice room.

Positives:
Big room
Large shower cubicle
Large bath
Comfortable bed
Nice work area - with a permanent power supply (even when you turn off the main switch etc)
An electronic toilet bowl - a new experience - I recommend it !

Negatives:
The room was far too hot and wouldn't cool down - I think the temperature was controlled centrally - why have temp controls in the room then? I had the engineers twice to my room, the temp actually increased.
The Gym - the free weights only went up to 20kg (dumbbells) and no leg press machine - OK not everyone uses the hotel gym, I actually base a lot of my stays on the gym it has - I booked this hotel 'blind'.

Overall a very nice hotel and I'd recommend it to anyone.

OK, no the best review ever :o)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb1234bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The IC was a wonderful hotel experience and i highly recommend this hotel in Shanghai. The service, rooms, breakfast and overall experience was excellent. I could not find a single thing that i did not like about the hotel and would recommend this to other travelers. Although the location is not the Bund, it is located in a central area that was easily accessible by taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbol71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEastUK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!
Located directly opposite Shanghai Railway Station, this is a very well located hotel and close to downtown Shanghai.
Rooms superb, staff top class, breakfast very good.
I have to admit I got a fantastic deal on this hotel, but either way I cannot fault it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I almost always begin and end my trips to China at this hotel and have lost count of how many times I've stayed here. I use it primarily because it's only a couple minute walk over the elevated sidewalk to get to the Shanghai Rail Station which makes picking up the high speed trains or subway into other parts of Shanghai a breeze.
The hotel itself is great. Large, clean rooms. Good breakfast buffet in the morning, and a helpful, attentive staff. The gym is a bit disappointing though with only some cardio equipment. It's fine if all you want is a treadmill or stairmaster, but I like having at least some weights to throw around.
Biggest knock is that there really is nothing else around. Restaurant options nearby are few and mediocre at best. So as much as I like the hotel itself, I don't think I'd want to be here for and extended stay. Unless you don't mind having to constantly take taxis or the subway every time you want to go do something or get something to eat. But if you're just looking for a nice place to relax after flying in before heading off on the trains the next day, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing