We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding...felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Ranked #47 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I relocated to Shanghai and stayed at the hotel for three weeks with my family before moving into our home. The hotel facilities and service were simple outstanding. I definetly suggest the Executive Tower. The breakfast and coktail hour food and beverage offerings were exceptional. Room service was able very accomodating when the children wanted some 'comfort' food
I was able to keep with my excercise habits, 25 meter indoor pool, great gym equipment.
The rooms are large and very well appointed. The staff at the Lounge were friedly and they provided us with great insights about Shanghai
They made our relocation into a new country a memorable one. Thank you

Room Tip: The corner suites are comfortable and very well appointed. Great bathroom and closet space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OGBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed in this property for three days while on a business trip to Shanghai. My room was on 29th Floor and was lucky to get a corner room which has two sides of the room as glass walls.

Really liked the decor of the room, the bed offered a very very comfortable sleep. Breakfast buffet had a lot of offer and food quality was very good. Visited the bar only once. The staff there were good, definitely knew what they are supposed to do. Overall, very good... would definitely recommend for a good stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zahid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It was a very nice room. Spacious with a very nice shower. The bathroom was well laid out, with the shower stall and separate toilet stall.

The location seems to be convenient if you are traveling out of the Shanghai railway station. It is about 500m away from the railway station. You can see the hotel directly from the train station. The rail station has high speed trains going to Nanjing and Beijing. However, it takes a few transfers to get from Pudong Airport. The reason I stayed here is because my company operates out of the offices in the same building.

The gym area was a bit inconvenient to get to. You cannot use the same elevator as the rooms to get there. You need to go back down to the lobby and take another elevator to the fifth floor to get there. The pool and gym are in the same area. The gym is above, overlooking the pool, which is nice. The treadmills are placed such that it is looking at the pool. I dont remember what other machines they have.

The pool was very nice. It was warm and deep, starting off at about 3 feet and sinking to 7 feet. There is an attendant that is there but might not be there from time to time if it is empty. The pool was warm, similar to a shallow recreation pool. It might not be a good idea to do a large number of laps, but good for a relaxing swim. It seems to be about 25m long and about 10-15m wide.

They offer lockers and towels in the changing area. You can get a magnetic locker key from the front desk in the gym area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evildoughboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here a number of times on business.
On arrival, from the guys who greet you from the car to the reception staff, all are very polite and make you feel welcome.
Check in is (usually) quick and efficient.
Rooms are very spacious with excellent washrooms facilties (and a heated loo seat), however, one moan is, as with so many hotels, the air con. Whatever you set the temperature to, it does its own thing, normally too warm which can make for an uncomfortable nights sleep.
Only eaten breakfast there which is very good - so much choice and polite staff throughout.

The other moan is the location - whilst its near the Central train station, the surrounding restaurants are fast food - there are no good places to eat or drink close by - i recommend going down to XinTianDi where you can find allsorts (quite expensive though).

Overall, this is a very nice hotel and well worth the value.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - great to open the curtains, sit on the swivel chair and watch Shanghai go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshjacksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel. Stayed in a Club room - I get to stay in a lot of hotels, this has to be in my top 5 - a very nice room.

Positives:
Big room
Large shower cubicle
Large bath
Comfortable bed
Nice work area - with a permanent power supply (even when you turn off the main switch etc)
An electronic toilet bowl - a new experience - I recommend it !

Negatives:
The room was far too hot and wouldn't cool down - I think the temperature was controlled centrally - why have temp controls in the room then? I had the engineers twice to my room, the temp actually increased.
The Gym - the free weights only went up to 20kg (dumbbells) and no leg press machine - OK not everyone uses the hotel gym, I actually base a lot of my stays on the gym it has - I booked this hotel 'blind'.

Overall a very nice hotel and I'd recommend it to anyone.

OK, no the best review ever :o)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb1234bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The IC was a wonderful hotel experience and i highly recommend this hotel in Shanghai. The service, rooms, breakfast and overall experience was excellent. I could not find a single thing that i did not like about the hotel and would recommend this to other travelers. Although the location is not the Bund, it is located in a central area that was easily accessible by taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbol71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!
Located directly opposite Shanghai Railway Station, this is a very well located hotel and close to downtown Shanghai.
Rooms superb, staff top class, breakfast very good.
I have to admit I got a fantastic deal on this hotel, but either way I cannot fault it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#143 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £104 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing