We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Ranked #39 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Ningbo, China
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Easter break”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights during Easter. Hotel's location was good - not too far from Honqiao Railway Station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Was upgraded during check in as non smoking room requested was not available. Rooms tastefully decorated and amenities needed available. would be nice to provide bath salts like Marriott City Centre does. Breakfast okay - definitely something for everyone. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNYV13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    258
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
69
102
44
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel offers all the comfort and convenience. Starting from its grand lobby that really smells good. I love the spacious foo. And all the amenities. This hotel maybe quite a few years already but the have kept it clean and well maintained as I expect in all intercontinental hotels. Breakfast is lavish as always. You will have all the choices and English newspaper n the morning. A very good touch indeed. The only bummer are the front office people thT seems to be not well trained enough to handle guests requests at night. The morning shifts are good but the people they put on night shift needs a lot of training.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor it is much newer and smells better than the lower floor rooms. Views are much be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel itself is a good choice but you should be aware that staying at the club tower you will need to walk a lil to get to the main lobby. When it rains, it is not simple to cross through inside and you might get wet. If you can, stay at the main tower.

Room Tip: Choose the main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First glance of this exceptional property, was welcomed and got myslef fixated with their beautiful unique chandelier in their extremely grand expanse of a lobby. Only stayed a short one night, this Intercon is definitely grander than most of the same namesakes I have been to.

Smiles were a plenty, check in was brisk and pleasant by their very friendly Reception. Staffs are generally pleasant and acknowledges you whenever you are at the public area.
Concierge were efficient and very helpful, left a paper bag whilst I went up to get some stuffs, on my way back - the bag was efficiently passed to me without even having to ask. Anticipation of this sort is getting rare nowadays even with most luxury properties.

Rooms were very grand and spacious. Decor were pleasant and looks luxuriously appointed. It was comfortable and welcoming. The couches spans across the whole windows, even comfortable to be a small bed too. Also with a large ensuite bathroom and separate toilet cubicle, the toilet cubicle is fitted with automated sensors, very convenient and something quite rare!


Only gripe is the location is not near my intended areas, the jam in front of the main road can be excruciatingly long.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adcye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is my 2nd stay of the hotel. The hotel is actually a very nice one and can see that the owner has poured a lot of money on the hardware. You can find a much larger LCD TV and bath tube compare with other hotel. The hotel lobby is also very nice.

Just had some problem with the hotel, the hotel promised to upgrade me to suite the first time but eventually they can max they can do is a suite, after showing them the email and arguing for a while they finally upgrade to suite. The 2nd time they've already upgraded to suite without any pre-notice. However, there is absolutely no hot water even I open the tap for half an hour. I need to wait till the engineers to fix it at midnight!! finally they said there is absolutely no problem at all... but after that i feel the temp is way higher the i can accept. this is the only 5* hotel I couldn't bath at night...

Afterfall, the hotel has pretty nice breakfast (you need to dine a restaurant, not club lounge which has limited selections), the hotel also close to Shanghai station which is close nice.

Room Tip: the club room is big enough for most purpose, certainly a suite could be nice. club room is essenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joejoejoehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, arriving late, early in the morning. Took about 40 minutes from airport Hongqiao. The entrance to the hotel is very grand with water features dominating the whole foyer. The reception is directly to the right a bit hidden away. I was acknowledged for being a IHG Gold member and was given an upgrade to one of the corner suite in the main tower on the 30th Floor.

The room is amazing with floor to ceiling glass windows. The view is OK, I got the view of the back of the hotel. Big bed, a sofa, separate section for wardrobe and luggage area, big bath and shower, toilet is Japanese type with all the electrical controls, table and chair to work on, all the usual amenities in a 5 star hotel, room service was quick and food was good. The laundry service was good and fast. Turn down service is available too.

I didn't try the breakfast but had a look and saw that the varieties is quite good. I did tried the Business Centre located on the ground floor. The gym was not open for 24 hours a day as stated in the hotel handbook. A nice big gym nonetheless.

The hotel is located about 10 mins walk to the nearest underground station, think it's Line 2. There are some shops and restaurants near the hotel, a Mc Donalds and Starbucks across the road too. I think there is a department store but I didn't get a chance to look. Easy to get around, especially to the Bund and Nanjing Road (not walkable) so need to take taxi or the metro.

The concierge was very helpful and speak very good English. My only complaint was when I checked out very early (5.30am) I requested for a breakfast box to go. I got an apple, some croissants packed into a plastic container (squashed) and a bottle of sparkling water. I think this is the worst breakfast box I ever had from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Travelling by car, my gps sent me to the club tower (backside of the main building), but not a big trouble, as the staff handled my booking cey efficiently and arranged a golf cart to drive me to the main tower.
Arrived there, my luggages were handled by staff and directly drop in my room.
I was given a corner room, (huge) with a bathroom almost the size of the room herself.
Room was faultless, with huge confy bed, a desk, a couch, i appreciated the nespresso machine.
Bkfst plenty of choice, attentive staff.

I will for sure choose this hotel again on my next trip to Shangahi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing