We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shanghai Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Ranked #27 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shanghai Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

First time in Shanghai enjoying new civilization, history, and modernity. About what is and what is not include, everything is; anything you could imagine. However you could not find facebook, google, and some others social nets.
I thought going to the bank and/or looking for any ATM around would give me better rate; is not really true because I could get a rate of 601.57 at the hotel; which avoided me having to go out and look for places and mobility expenses. The Chinese meal was incredible and tasty, you will be amazed by the variety of foods and their people serving you, it was an unbelievable treat.
Going around stores, I found a barrier communicating with people, but after that you will not regret spend your money and time.

Cesar&Kathy

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cesar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding hotel services and facilities. We would be very much delighted to have you back at our hotel and wish you have a memorable stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    244
    47
    20
    9
See reviews for
62
95
43
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is such a beautiful hotel, food is really good, room are big and very modern. This hotel is at 10 minutes of the Bund, 15 from the French Concession. You are also at 5 min walk of the train station and the subway. The price I paid in July was really interesting too. It is central if you have some business meeting

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSERVANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Puxi. We have shared your compliments with our team. We would be very much delighted to have you back at our hotel and wish you have a memorable stay with us again. Please feel free to contact Reservations@icshanghaipuxi.com at anytime for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is a luxurious, dignified, discreet, and extremely well serviced hotel. The rooms and public spaces are very spacious and decorated in earth tones, dark golds, mostly very minimalist modern with the occasional splurge of traditional Chinese style. Really nice, and much appreciated after all the glitz of Shangri-La interiors. Upgraded without asking to a deluxe suite in the Intercontinental Club tower, a vast space with dining area for 6, nespresso machine, jacuzzi, study, living area and best of all, two top of the line Toto Washlet toilets. Bliss. Service extremely attentive and helpful. Happy hour in the club lounge made dinner unnecessary: good wines, excellent Japanese, Chinese, and western hot and cold canapés. Very yum, in a beautiful room. Club breakfast also very good, though I think the selection at the Ecco cafe in the other building is much wider. Late check out, no probs, car waiting as I walked out. Perfect, perfect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vivian1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Puxi. We have shared your compliments with our team and they feel very encouraging. We would be very much delighted to have you back at our hotel and wish you have a memorable stay with us again. Please feel free to contact Reservations@icshanghaipuxi.com at anytime for your future bookings. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Intercontinental Puxi is a great hotel! I got upgraded to a wonderful club room on my 6 day stay in May! The club room is huge and is equipped with a wonderful bathroom which includes a jacuzzi ! The service is very good with a sweet and responsive staff who speak English! That's a great relief in China for foreigners! It's not within walking distance to the main shopping street Nanjing Road but is a 10 minute taxi ride. The cleanliness of the hotel is very good and the buffet they serve in the club lounge is very good in terms of quality and choice! The only bad experience I had on this property is the mosquitoes in the coffee shop in the main building! The staff were also not inclined towards looking at it as a problem! They told us to expect it as there was so much flora and fauna around! That was an absurd excuse! So I guess if you are booking it's better to choose the club towers! If it's raining taxis can be a challenge to get! But overall it was a great experience for us!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the club tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Puxi. We have shared your compliments with our team and they feel very encouraging. Hotel will strengthen pest control during summer season. We would be very much delighted to have you back at our hotel and wish you have a memorable stay with us again. Please feel free to contact reservations@icshanghaipuxi.com at anytime for your future bookings. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable with nice coffee. Toilet has auto sensor so when u step in, toilet cover auto open up by itself, functions similar to those in japan.
Lounge on 2nd floor breakfast is a disappointment as for 5 dys the varieties are almost 90% same.

Hotel is located about 8 mins walk from line 1 hanzhong station that make traveling around shanghai convenient.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cooblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Puxi. We have shared your compliments with our team and they feel very encouraging. Now, we have updated breakfast menus in Club Lounge. We would be very much delighted to have you back at our hotel and wish you have a memorable stay with us again. Please feel free to contact Reservations@icshanghaipuxi.com at anytime for your future bookings. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been to Shangai on family trip for 3 nights.
The hotel is great, a beautiful and huge lobby welcome you when you arrive.
The executive rooms are fantastic with excellent bathroom and a lot of novelties to entertain your stay.
The location is not so good if you are traveling for tourism but you have a lot of taxis on the front door. Don't forget to get a business card from the concierge because taxi drivers do not speak English.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Puxi. We have shared your compliments with our team and they feel very encouraging. We would be very much delighted to have you back at our hotel and wish you have a memorable stay with us again. Please feel free to contact Reservations@icshanghaipuxi.com at anytime for your future bookings. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Enough have been said on the unusual setup of buildings. In addition, you can go from main building to executive building inside, on 3rd floor.

Also, Rita from executive Check-in counter is extremely helpful.

Overall, a great stay. Sure i will come back.

Y.F. MA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_Ma_YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Puxi. We have shared your compliments with our team and they feel very encouraging. We would be very much delighted to have you back at our hotel and wish you have a memorable stay with us again. Please feel free to contact reservations@icshanghaipuxi.com at anytime for your future bookings. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#19 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#13 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Puxi

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
Address: No.500 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Puxi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in two sleek glass buildings straddling a towering commercial structure in downtown Shanghai, InterContinental Shanghai Puxi is the first international luxury brand hotel in Shanghai’s Zhabei district, a fast emerging premier commercial and business area. With more than 3,125 square meters of state-of-the-art venues it has one of the most extensive allocations of facilities for conferences and social events in the west of Shanghai's Huangpu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Puxi Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing