We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for a great price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #31 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our first stop on our China trip was Shanghai. And we were glad we chose the Grand Central Hotel because it was well suited for our discovery of Shanghai.

We took the maglev train from the international airport to Shanghai and the subway line 2 to get to the hotel. If you take Exit 4 at East Nanjing road subway station, you walk in the right direction to the hotel which is about 200 meters.The maglev is an impressive showcase of how modern Shanghai and China are becoming.

Check-in went smooth, luggage was taken to the room very quickly. The service in the hotel is overall ok but doesn't stand out like in some other five star hotels.

Hotel is decorated in a very impressive way but it lacks refinement. Room was nice although views from the room were not too impressive.

The best part of the hotel was its location very close to East Nanjing road and in between People's square and the Bund which were about 10 minutes walking each. We loved being so close to all the action. And other Shanghai highlights could be easily reached either by taxi or by the nearby subway.

If you don't want to have breakfast in the hotel, the Blue Mocca Caffee a few minutes walking in the direction of People Square on a side street of East Nanjing road has nice breakfast options.

There is so much to see but our personal favorite was the Urban Planning Museum. My first thoughts were that this was going to be a boring museum but it turned out to be a great experience giving us a good overview of the past, present and future development of Shanghai.

The price we paid for the Grand Central was very reasonable. So if you are looking for a good hotel in a great location for a reasonble price, we can definitely recommend the Grand Central!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    330
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
156
248
49
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent value. The rooms are ridiculously cheap for what you get. I haven't stayed at any other hotel in shanghai, but it is comparable to 5 star hotels in Paris that are 6x the price. I decided on this hotel based on reviews from this site. I was prepared to accept poor English and low level of service as the cost of getting such a great deal. However, as soon as I arrived I was greeted warmly and in perfect English by the door staff and reception. Later, when I wanted to reserve a seat at a restaurant for a late dinner I called the concierge who promptly called back to let me know that the last seating had already passed but was quick to suggest another place which could still take us. We accepted and ended up having a fantastic Chinese meal in a beautiful setting which I would not have ever found on my own. He even had the manager of the restaurant check on us to make sure we were satisfied. Overall, this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at and when factoring in price and location it easily tops the list.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asian_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great location and right by Nanjing East Road Pedestrian Walkway. Close to subway station and a short walk to the Bund. Very luxurious and spacious room for the price. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Newish hotel located just of Nanjing Walking street and a 15-20 min stroll to The Bund with sizeable luxurious rooms, a great gym and indoor pool and staff who are friendly though not the best at English. In addition it's good value compared with other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fearsomepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a great relaxing stay, we upgraded to the business floor and it was so much worth!, breakfast and happy hour included! An extra luxurious room, with all the extras one loves. The lobby is a beatiful area, the ambiance is regal, you can sit and and have a good time. The location is centric, you can walk into the main comercial streets and the Bund. You can also take a taxi anywhere. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtangulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We just love this hotel. So much luxurious for such small money.
Perfect location near shopping street, bund, great restaurants, subway etc.
Great gym and swimming pool that we had for our self every morning. We would love to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkLotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel is just what you need to relax. Great rooms, full luxury, impeccable service, great food, cleanliness and politeness at all times. A fantastic design that has hints of art deco. Shanghai is a crazy place and this hotel makes a great sanctuary. Highly recommended. I've stayed in many top class hotels touring around the world and this ranks with the best of the city ones.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#35 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#40 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing